Electrics Fading Clock/Radio Display - Civinfo
Civinfo

22.jpg

Help Rules Search Clothing Stickers Surveys Wiki Forum
Go Back   Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic > Electronics

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 2nd November 2011, 09:55   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Doncaster, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Fading Clock/Radio Display

Hello everyone

So the clock/radio display has started to fade slightly, kind of like when you push down on a calculator display. After driving for a while it goes back to normal. I'm not sure whether this is because of the cold weather or for some other reason.

Does anyone have any ideas what could be causing this and how it could be fixed?
WhistlerUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 2nd November 2011, 10:31   #2 (permalink)
Supporter
 
ash_rage's Avatar
 
 
Car: Golf GTD
Join Date: 14th January 2010
Location: London and Essex ENGLAND
Posts: 6,438
Thanks given: 708
Thanked 564 Times in 470 Posts
iTrader: (21)
Battery?
ash_rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2011, 21:22   #3 (permalink)
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Doncaster, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'm getting it serviced soon so I'll have the battery checked out then. Unfortunately more of the sections of the letters and number are fading and getting worse. Could it be anything else incase it's not the battery?
WhistlerUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2011, 21:26   #4 (permalink)
Supporter
 
ash_rage's Avatar
 
 
Car: Golf GTD
Join Date: 14th January 2010
Location: London and Essex ENGLAND
Posts: 6,438
Thanks given: 708
Thanked 564 Times in 470 Posts
iTrader: (21)
If its just that display then I say its a problem local to it and not the battery.
ash_rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2011, 21:46   #5 (permalink)
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Doncaster, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yeah it's only that display, is it easy to access and remove the unit? I've found a cheap replacement on eBay but not sure whether to take it to the dealer first
WhistlerUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2011, 21:52   #6 (permalink)
Supporter
 
ash_rage's Avatar
 
 
Car: Golf GTD
Join Date: 14th January 2010
Location: London and Essex ENGLAND
Posts: 6,438
Thanks given: 708
Thanked 564 Times in 470 Posts
iTrader: (21)
Not sure never took that part out.

Your car no longer in warranty?
ash_rage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011, 08:24   #7 (permalink)
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Doncaster, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Unfortunately not

I'll have a look around to see if it is an easy job to remove or not.

Thanks for your help though!

Last edited by WhistlerUK; 4th November 2011 at 08:27.
WhistlerUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011, 13:30   #8 (permalink)
 
 
Join Date: 27th October 2009
Location: leicester, uk GB
Posts: 670
Thanks given: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (1)
i get that in in the cold winter mornings its dim to start, then brightens itself up after a while, but only in very cold mornings
rborhara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011, 13:37   #9 (permalink)
Supporter
 
Jack The Lad.'s Avatar
 
 
Join Date: 28th August 2007
Location: ENGLAND ENGLAND
Posts: 4,442
Thanks given: 21
Thanked 274 Times in 266 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hasn't anyone noticed that the Satnav screen is a little dim first thing.
After a minute or two, it's all fine.
Jack The Lad. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011, 16:39   #10 (permalink)
 
Mattyde's Avatar
 
Car: 60 2.2 Si, Black
Join Date: 10th March 2010
Location: Bournemouth,UK GB
Posts: 3
Thanks given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi, I have the same issue, and if im correct the LCD display is being fed electronically via small contacts to the screen, which over time oxidise, all they prob need is a good clean and some WD40, im gonna see how easy it is to get into, and see for myself
Mattyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2011, 21:03   #11 (permalink)
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Doncaster, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyde View Post
Hi, I have the same issue, and if im correct the LCD display is being fed electronically via small contacts to the screen, which over time oxidise, all they prob need is a good clean and some WD40, im gonna see how easy it is to get into, and see for myself
Yeah I'm going to try the same thing, can't hurt to test the connections before looking to replace the unit.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to remove the radio display? I've looked all over but can't find any 'how to' guides to it.
WhistlerUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2012, 18:24   #12 (permalink)
 
Car: 2007 2.2 EXECUTIVE NAVI
Join Date: 22nd March 2012
Location: SLOVAKIA SK
Posts: 6
Thanks given: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
i have a satnav display.. but the system will be the same. First of all you have to put down the "roof" from digital speedometer... then you have to try pull speedometer direction to you.. you have to put down "roof" of the radio also (under that diplay). There is a two screws, that you need to put out. Thats it.. Just a pull display carefully to you...
teslo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2012, 23:23   #13 (permalink)
Supporter
 
 
Join Date: 19th August 2012
Location: wirral GB
Posts: 34
Thanks given: 6
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi, I also have this problem. Did anyone get the fix for it?
killatomato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2012, 20:23   #14 (permalink)
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Doncaster, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I did try to take the display out but thought I would break something by doing so. I don't know if there is some sort of wiki to show how to take it out and replace it
WhistlerUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2012, 21:19   #15 (permalink)
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 12,549
Thanks given: 1,201
Thanked 2,441 Times in 2,118 Posts
iTrader: (81)
Eco display
I couldn't figure out how to get the clock out either, and I've had pretty much everything else out of the dash!
Syx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2012, 17:45   #16 (permalink)
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Doncaster, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syx View Post
I couldn't figure out how to get the clock out either, and I've had pretty much everything else out of the dash!
Yeah I've checked your mods and thought you'd have an idea
WhistlerUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic > Electronics

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads for: Fading Clock/Radio Display
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit Display iPod through clock/radio/cd deck screen on 06 non-navi? spottyelephant Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE 15 21st January 2011 16:58
Impulse clock/heat/vent display adapter bob bloomfield Classifieds archive 1 20th July 2010 16:36
Electrics Radio, Clock, HFT all dead after service on 1.8EX Strontium Electronics 12 29th November 2008 13:27
Computer Strange Radio/Clock Display problem civicman1 Bugs, faults and irritations 0 11th March 2008 19:12
Head Unit radio and clock TechnoTools Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE 1 20th April 2007 01:50


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:51.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vB.Sponsors
See also Jaginfo Jaguar XF Forum

Hosting by Vidahost

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95