Civinfo

6.jpg

Help Rules Search Clothing Stickers Surveys Wiki Forum
Go Back   Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic > Electronics

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 23rd April 2012, 11:48   #1 (permalink)
Supporter
 
WreckerL's Avatar
 
 
Car: 56 2.2 EX 18" Storms
Join Date: 15th March 2010
Location: Bittaford, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 84
Thanks given: 11
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Can used keys be reprogrammed for another car?

Hi guys,

I know there have been many posts/threads about flip keys but I am assuming they deal with converting your existing key(s).

Since I only got one key for my car I was wondering if I got a used key and a new key blank if I can get it programmed to my car. If so can a car locksmith do this or is it in the preserve of the Honda dealer network?

Many thanks.
WreckerL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2012, 11:52   #2 (permalink)
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 11,972
Thanks given: 1,155
Thanked 2,287 Times in 1,988 Posts
iTrader: (73)
Eco display
Honda will do this but IIRC it's not cheap.
Unsure if a locksmith can do the reprogram.
Syx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2012, 12:03   #3 (permalink)
...............Daedalus
 
mpn_daedalus's Avatar
 
 
Car: CW Type R No. 460
Join Date: 5th August 2010
Location: Norfolk, UK GB
Posts: 3,688
Thanks given: 236
Thanked 442 Times in 410 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syx View Post
Honda will do this but IIRC it's not cheap.
Unsure if a locksmith can do the reprogram.
+1

Will cost around 100 from Honda I think.

Doubt a locksmith would be able to do it but it wouldn't hurt to ask around.

Sent from my Sony Xperia S using Tapatalk 2
mpn_daedalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2012, 18:44   #4 (permalink)
Supporter
 
coolice's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,470
Thanks given: 656
Thanked 140 Times in 133 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Hey.

Yes, you can. Just make sure the key electronics you buy have the same part number.

I just had Avonvale Honda program in my flip key. Brought the inner electronics off ebay, moved transponder, got flip key cut ready and left it on my pc desk for ages ready to program
With 4th service last week, I finally enquired about getting it reprogrammed for my car, 30 later its working great! All total led, new flip key, electronics, cutting and programming about 50-60.

As mentioned on the forum, Honda will need all your keys when programming, I've now got 3 keys.

Ian

Last edited by coolice; 23rd April 2012 at 18:47.
coolice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:06   #5 (permalink)
Civinfo Wind Up Merchant
 
Scotty182's Avatar
 
 
Car: 56' 2.2, 5 door, 195bhp
Join Date: 24th July 2010
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,411
Thanks given: 24
Thanked 224 Times in 205 Posts
iTrader: (4)
So if i buy a USED civic key of ebay the transponder can be recoded to my car?
i have no spare, ordered a flip key shell and a used key from ebay, will it work once recoded? (obviously i'd get the flip key cut to my key)
Scotty182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:16   #6 (permalink)
無限 Unlimited
 
Laney's Avatar
 
 
Car: 59 Mugenised CTR
Join Date: 14th April 2010
Location: London..ish GB
Posts: 3,394
Thanks given: 349
Thanked 496 Times in 463 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syx View Post
Honda will do this but IIRC it's not cheap.
Unsure if a locksmith can do the reprogram.
A locksmith could do it if they had the right software, a mate of a mate's cats other halfs uncle is a car locksmith who reprogrammed a key for my old ford and can do all other makes.
Laney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:22   #7 (permalink)
Civinfo Wind Up Merchant
 
Scotty182's Avatar
 
 
Car: 56' 2.2, 5 door, 195bhp
Join Date: 24th July 2010
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,411
Thanks given: 24
Thanked 224 Times in 205 Posts
iTrader: (4)
There's a pretty high tech locksmith place near me (massive building all the gear etc) so can they code a USED key to my key you think ?

And is there anything else i need?
Scotty182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:34   #8 (permalink)
無限 Unlimited
 
Laney's Avatar
 
 
Car: 59 Mugenised CTR
Join Date: 14th April 2010
Location: London..ish GB
Posts: 3,394
Thanks given: 349
Thanked 496 Times in 463 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotty182 View Post
There's a pretty high tech locksmith place near me (massive building all the gear etc) so can they code a USED key to my key you think ?

And is there anything else i need?
Pretty sure you cannot reprogram a used key, you'd have to buy a blank.

I have seen on eBay some blank two button keys for the civic for around 35.

Valeo is the maker of the electronics inside the fob, just check inside your existing key to ensure you have the right frequency and that it's compatible.

The locksmith can either copy the details from your original key or from the car itself iirc.
Laney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:37   #9 (permalink)
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 11,972
Thanks given: 1,155
Thanked 2,287 Times in 1,988 Posts
iTrader: (73)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laney View Post
Pretty sure you cannot reprogram a used key, you'd have to buy a blank.

I have seen on eBay some blank two button keys for the civic for around 35.

Valeo is the maker of the electronics inside the fob, just check inside your existing key to ensure you have the right frequency and that it's compatible.

The locksmith can either copy the details from your original key or from the car itself iirc.
I would have thought you can reprogram a used key as it is possible for your existing one to become de-synced with the car and then reprogrammed to fix it.

Best way to find out Scotty would be to go and ask!
Syx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:38   #10 (permalink)
Civinfo Wind Up Merchant
 
Scotty182's Avatar
 
 
Car: 56' 2.2, 5 door, 195bhp
Join Date: 24th July 2010
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,411
Thanks given: 24
Thanked 224 Times in 205 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Cheers lads, i'll give them a ring at lunch and get back to you with what they say

- im a bit anoyed as i've put a high bid on a key on ebay (used) hahaha never miiiiiiiind
Scotty182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:42   #11 (permalink)
Supporter
 
coolice's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,470
Thanks given: 656
Thanked 140 Times in 133 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laney View Post
Pretty sure you cannot reprogram a used key, you'd have to buy a blank.

I have seen on eBay some blank two button keys for the civic for around 35.

Valeo is the maker of the electronics inside the fob, just check inside your existing key to ensure you have the right frequency and that it's compatible.

The locksmith can either copy the details from your original key or from the car itself iirc.
Hey buddy.

Mine was a used key from ebay which got reprogrammed by Honda last week, the only requirement as you say is that the correct Valeo innards are purchased to work with our cars. I threw away the key part and kept the Valeo innards to get programmed to my car.
Buying a used key is no different to a new one in theory, as a new one still has to be programmed to work with your car.

The garage will need all your car keys, I mentioned this to them and they didn't think it was necassary. However when I went to pick the car up, the 3rd key I had in my pocket then didn't work, so all 3 had to be coded back into the car.
Cloning a key might only require one key as the master and a transponer chip.

You can't reuse an already cut key though, but all we're interested in is the electronics from within to modify (move transponder) then pop in a flip key shell and re program.

Ian

Last edited by coolice; 25th April 2012 at 11:46.
coolice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:45   #12 (permalink)
Civinfo Wind Up Merchant
 
Scotty182's Avatar
 
 
Car: 56' 2.2, 5 door, 195bhp
Join Date: 24th July 2010
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,411
Thanks given: 24
Thanked 224 Times in 205 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Coolice, i will be taking the innards of the used key and putting them into a flip key casing blank, so you're saying they CAN reprogramme a USED key innards to work with my car ?

cheers
Scotty182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:52   #13 (permalink)
Supporter
 
coolice's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,470
Thanks given: 656
Thanked 140 Times in 133 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotty182 View Post
Coolice, i will be taking the innards of the used key and putting them into a flip key casing blank, so you're saying they CAN reprogramme a USED key innards to work with my car ?

cheers
Hey buddy.

Yes, that is exactly what I did. I brought a used key from ebay, making sure the Valeo electronic part had the same part code as my other key fobs. I moved the transponder as normal, left key on pc desk for over a year and finally had it reprogrammed to car last week. Works great. If the ebay auction is still view able on ebay I'll link to it.

Programming to car cost me 30.

Just double check Valeo part number matches your current keys.

Ian

Last edited by coolice; 25th April 2012 at 11:54.
coolice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:52   #14 (permalink)
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 11,972
Thanks given: 1,155
Thanked 2,287 Times in 1,988 Posts
iTrader: (73)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scotty182 View Post
Coolice, i will be taking the innards of the used key and putting them into a flip key casing blank, so you're saying they CAN reprogramme a USED key innards to work with my car ?

cheers
Yes.
Syx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:56   #15 (permalink)
Civinfo Wind Up Merchant
 
Scotty182's Avatar
 
 
Car: 56' 2.2, 5 door, 195bhp
Join Date: 24th July 2010
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,411
Thanks given: 24
Thanked 224 Times in 205 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syx View Post
Yes.
Now see, THAT is how i like my answers in a morning

Cheers fella
Scotty182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks to Scotty182 from:
Old 25th April 2012, 11:59   #16 (permalink)
無限 Unlimited
 
Laney's Avatar
 
 
Car: 59 Mugenised CTR
Join Date: 14th April 2010
Location: London..ish GB
Posts: 3,394
Thanks given: 349
Thanked 496 Times in 463 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Syx View Post
I would have thought you can reprogram a used key as it is possible for your existing one to become de-synced with the car and then reprogrammed to fix it.

Best way to find out Scotty would be to go and ask!
totally agree with the logic, should be just reprogrammable firmware of some sort.

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolice View Post
Hey buddy.

Mine was a used key from ebay which got reprogrammed by Honda last week, the only requirement as you say is that the correct Valeo innards are purchased to work with our cars. Cloning a key might only require one key as the master and a transponer chip.

You can't reuse an already cut key though, but all we're interested in is the electronics from within to modify (move transponder) then pop in a flip key shell and re program.

Ian
Thats fair enough I was just going by what I remember from the Ford key I had done for a 1997 ford, clearly it's different for Honda keys, tech maybe moved on?

I too only had one key with the civic when I bought it so went to honda for a spare to be made. They didn't need to keep hold of the key at all, as of course I still needed to drive the car, they must have the exact details of my car on some database somewhere.
Laney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 12:10   #17 (permalink)
Supporter
 
coolice's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,470
Thanks given: 656
Thanked 140 Times in 133 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Hey.

Turns out I brought the 2nd hand key back in 2008 and it took me over 3 years to get it programmed lol.

The garage had my key code card, but it turns out you need to tell the car how many keys there are, which I'd already read on here somewhere.

Ian
coolice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 12:13   #18 (permalink)
Civinfo Wind Up Merchant
 
Scotty182's Avatar
 
 
Car: 56' 2.2, 5 door, 195bhp
Join Date: 24th July 2010
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,411
Thanks given: 24
Thanked 224 Times in 205 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolice View Post
Hey.

Turns out I brought the 2nd hand key back in 2008 and it took me over 3 years to get it programmed lol.

The garage had my key code card, but it turns out you need to tell the car how many keys there are, which I'd already read on here somewhere.

Ian
Cheers matey

I'll give them a ring on lunch!

The auction i've bid on doesn't have the valeo number just the same key as ive got (by looks and description) what's the chances of it being the same ?
Scotty182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 13:05   #19 (permalink)
Supporter
 
coolice's Avatar
 
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,470
Thanks given: 656
Thanked 140 Times in 133 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Hey.

I'd see if they'd open it up for you, then snap and send a picture of the part code on the Valeo innards. Better to check than pay over the odds if its wrong.
Its probably the correct one, but best ask than be disappointed.

Ian
coolice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 13:56   #20 (permalink)
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 11,972
Thanks given: 1,155
Thanked 2,287 Times in 1,988 Posts
iTrader: (73)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolice View Post
Hey.

I'd see if they'd open it up for you, then snap and send a picture of the part code on the Valeo innards. Better to check than pay over the odds if its wrong.
Its probably the correct one, but best ask than be disappointed.

Ian
+1
I've just seen another auction where the seller has done exactly that so shouldn't be difficult to do.
Syx is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic > Electronics

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads for: Can used keys be reprogrammed for another car?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many keys? Ash_uk Type-R 10 7th October 2011 22:07
Keys CTDI General Discussion 3 23rd February 2011 13:56
Extra keys dj25000 Gordons Honda 2 7th June 2010 08:55
Alarm keys t8adc Electronics 15 19th June 2008 20:54
How many keys do you have? Naresh General Discussion 26 3rd November 2007 22:48


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:27.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
vB.Sponsors
Site owned by Jayne Potts. See also Jaginfo Jaguar XF Forum

Hosting by Vidahost

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92