Technical Hardwiring Sat Nav - Civinfo

 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Farqui
  • 1 Post By Kremmen
  • 1 Post By Kremmen
  • 1 Post By chrizzlephaa
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 12:19 Thread Starter
 
Surge's Avatar
 
Car: 2005 2.2L CDTI Sport
Join Date: 6th August 2016
Location: Oxford/Warwick/Cardiff ENGLAND
Posts: 239
Thanks: 5
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Hardwiring Sat Nav

I'm going to wire my sat nav into the dash so that the cable is nice and tidy in the cabin.

I have already figured out how to wire it in principal, I just need to scotchlock onto an ignition live and ground under the dash.

I'm going to run the wire under the triangular top piece of the dash, and was thinking of tapping into the wires in the back of the stereo.
Does anybody know if there is an easy way to do this without stripping all the dash to get to the back of the radio?

Would it be possible to just remove the top piece and fish the wires out somewhere in the footwell and plug them in elsewhere?
Surge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 12:47
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 14,775
Thanks: 5,711
Thanked 3,716 Times in 3,425 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Don't break into any wiring, use the Option Connector instead (Hobbyist section).

It's a much neater solution and allows for quick removal later if necessary.
Kremmen likes this.
Farqui is online now  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 13:16 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Surge's Avatar
 
Car: 2005 2.2L CDTI Sport
Join Date: 6th August 2016
Location: Oxford/Warwick/Cardiff ENGLAND
Posts: 239
Thanks: 5
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farqui View Post
Don't break into any wiring, use the Option Connector instead (Hobbyist section).

It's a much neater solution and allows for quick removal later if necessary.
I will be leaving a cigarette lighter down under the triangular piece of dash, so it should be very quick should I ever need to remove it. Is it possible to feed down to the option connector without dash removal?
Surge is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 13:34
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 14,775
Thanks: 5,711
Thanked 3,716 Times in 3,425 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Not sure, though I suspect someone will be along shortly who has.

In the meantime, take a look at this/similar threads http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/378...ml#post1197075
Farqui is online now  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 13:45
 
Join Date: 24th January 2017
Posts: 62
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
could use a fuse tap, and tap into the fuse box,

or just connect into the cig lighter
Cuprajake is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 14:33 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Surge's Avatar
 
Car: 2005 2.2L CDTI Sport
Join Date: 6th August 2016
Location: Oxford/Warwick/Cardiff ENGLAND
Posts: 239
Thanks: 5
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I know how I am going to wire it - I am going to put a cigarette lighter usb charger away under the dash, and just power the charger off ignition live and ground from the stereo.

My question was more about if there is a way to not remove the entire dash to do this
Surge is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 18:23
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 18,056
Thanks: 776
Thanked 1,517 Times in 1,247 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The best way is to get an option connector, as advised.

Then, as you say, wire in a power socket, which is exactly what I've done.
Farqui likes this.
Kremmen is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 19:45 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Surge's Avatar
 
Car: 2005 2.2L CDTI Sport
Join Date: 6th August 2016
Location: Oxford/Warwick/Cardiff ENGLAND
Posts: 239
Thanks: 5
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Are there any risks piggybacking the power from the head unit? As I don't have the option connector I would be reluctant to use it if possible to wire elsewhere - unless I can get the wires down to the footwell without removing the dash.
Surge is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 19:53
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 14,775
Thanks: 5,711
Thanked 3,716 Times in 3,425 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
What do you mean by taking the dash out, the full dash? Or just the radio/HU?

If the HU is out, then I don't think you will have any trouble running a cable to the footwells. Actually the center console will also be out, so you'll definitely have access to the footwells.
Farqui is online now  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 21:05
Lithium Flower
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 6,814
Thanks: 91
Thanked 966 Times in 857 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
you can easily get the wires down from the roof to the footwell.
My How to install a dashcam will show you this.
Grayfox is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 21:07
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 14,775
Thanks: 5,711
Thanked 3,716 Times in 3,425 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Foxy, he doesn't want to fix his satnav at the top of the windscreen. Instead, on top of the dashboard, in the middle.
Farqui is online now  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 18th February 2017, 05:33
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 18,056
Thanks: 776
Thanked 1,517 Times in 1,247 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
For £6 I would always wait and get an option connector.

Having done all 3 methods it's definately the best and safest.

1) Piggyback
2) Normal spade connector in option connector slot
3) Option connector

You can do it without removing the lower panel but you need to be a fit contorsionist and work upside down.
Farqui likes this.
Kremmen is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 18th February 2017, 15:47
Supporter
 
chrizzlephaa's Avatar
 
Car: '07 FK3
Join Date: 24th October 2015
Location: Newark, UK GB
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Personally, id use a piggyback fuse and run the cable up behind the dash to where the triangular trim is. You could also use the option connector and run the wire the same way. That's just me. I don't trust scotch locks as far as I could throw them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Farqui likes this.
chrizzlephaa is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to fit OEM sat nav to non sat nav models Matt416 Type-R 4 5th October 2016 09:33
Add-on nav buy sat nav version or normal and buy double din sat nav marklola Electronics 6 15th April 2016 11:18
Head Unit Sat nav radio to a non sat nav car Drejc Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE 3 4th December 2014 11:50

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome