Brakes Stoptech 328mm Pot fitted - Civinfo

 4Likes
  • 2 Post By musegroove
  • 1 Post By Farqui
  • 1 Post By Alanok
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 20:01 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 25th August 2014
Location: Poole GB
Posts: 589
Thanks: 76
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Stoptech 328mm Pot fitted

So I had my tyres done at F1 Autocentre and at the same I asked about fitting my brakes in, they said they don't really do aftermarket brakes but because they done one before they will do it. So today was the day I had them done, however the Tech person who did it was his first time


So all went ok, fitted in, he told me it will take 100k miles to properly wear in and they will feel like crap right now so take it easy. And yeah It don't feel good, the brake pedal is very soft, it seems bit better after driving but still feels like chit. It's like a push bike, where you push the brakes in and its soft but not much friction. Is this normal or should they feel great once installed? Never had any brake kit installed before so I'm curious lol


Also when I brake and come to a stop, I hear a clunk

Last edited by ufoblue; 16th February 2017 at 20:16.
ufoblue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 20:27
250bhp.... finally :)
 
musegroove's Avatar
 
Car: 08 CTR, Milano Red
Join Date: 2nd September 2014
Location: manchester GB
Posts: 3,061
Thanks: 127
Thanked 291 Times in 273 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Usually you need to wash and scrub the disc surface to get rid of the anti-rust coating otherwise they feel BAD.

Take it easy for the first 1-200 miles until they start to bed.

Have you got steel braided lines as they make a big difference.
ufoblue and Jamesoxborrow like this.
musegroove is online now  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 20:59 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 25th August 2014
Location: Poole GB
Posts: 589
Thanks: 76
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by musegroove View Post
Usually you need to wash and scrub the disc surface to get rid of the anti-rust coating otherwise they feel BAD.

Take it easy for the first 1-200 miles until they start to bed.

Have you got steel braided lines as they make a big difference.

Do you mean Front Braided Hoses?

Looks like I'm gonna have to drive like a old pensioner now
ufoblue is offline  
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 21:05
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 14,745
Thanks: 5,711
Thanked 3,716 Times in 3,425 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
I thought the BBK bedding in technique was brutal and quick?

100k miles sounds excessive
Farqui is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 21:11 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 25th August 2014
Location: Poole GB
Posts: 589
Thanks: 76
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farqui View Post
I thought the BBK bedding in technique was brutal and quick?

100k miles sounds excessive
lol I think he might of said that to cover himself I reckon 10k is more realistic?


Well I cant even drive fast now or normal as the brakes feel beepppppp




I guess I gotta break her in. My car names ''Wonder'' btw
ufoblue is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 21:13
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 14,745
Thanks: 5,711
Thanked 3,716 Times in 3,425 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Farqui is offline  
Thanks to Farqui from:
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 21:25
250bhp.... finally :)
 
musegroove's Avatar
 
Car: 08 CTR, Milano Red
Join Date: 2nd September 2014
Location: manchester GB
Posts: 3,061
Thanks: 127
Thanked 291 Times in 273 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Full braided lines or just front is fine. Stoptech usually come with them.

They also plaster alllll over the instructions to scrub the discs in several instances as they can ruin the pads.
musegroove is online now  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 21:34 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 25th August 2014
Location: Poole GB
Posts: 589
Thanks: 76
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by musegroove View Post
Full braided lines or just front is fine. Stoptech usually come with them.

They also plaster alllll over the instructions to scrub the discs in several instances as they can ruin the pads.


hehe I did see him read the manual while doing it, which was good. So hopefully he scrubbed them


I'm going to Asda in a bit so road is quiet, Will do some stops to bed them in


Have you got these brakes on your Civic then?
ufoblue is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 21:40 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 25th August 2014
Location: Poole GB
Posts: 589
Thanks: 76
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ufoblue is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 23:30
Clutch pedal guru
 
hondacivicnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th April 2011
Location: Doncaster, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 3,890
Thanks: 279
Thanked 720 Times in 576 Posts
iTrader: (1)
When I bedded in my ATR brakes, it involved a lot of heavy stops at around 40mph. Brakes still feel great 70 thousand miles later
hondacivicnut is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 16th February 2017, 23:54 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 25th August 2014
Location: Poole GB
Posts: 589
Thanks: 76
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hondacivicnut View Post
When I bedded in my ATR brakes, it involved a lot of heavy stops at around 40mph. Brakes still feel great 70 thousand miles later
Sounds good to me. I just went out for a drive and done some stops at 50 mph

How long did it take before you felt the brakes go strong?
ufoblue is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 17th February 2017, 09:11
Clutch pedal guru
 
hondacivicnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th April 2011
Location: Doncaster, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 3,890
Thanks: 279
Thanked 720 Times in 576 Posts
iTrader: (1)
After they'd cooled sufficiently just from driving normally again.
hondacivicnut is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 21st February 2017, 22:42 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 25th August 2014
Location: Poole GB
Posts: 589
Thanks: 76
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Well I went back to f1 centre. They put my car on the brake machine, they heard that tiny clunk noise when you come to a hard stop, and said it's the brake pad, there's a tiny bit of movement on dead stop, not much but a little bit and for me to contact the manufacture as it could be a bad batch brake pad

What do you lot think?
ufoblue is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 22nd February 2017, 19:40
Supporter
 
Typersam1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26th April 2013
Location: Bristol ENGLAND
Posts: 1,551
Thanks: 45
Thanked 137 Times in 129 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Seems strange....you should go to another garage and get a second opinion and see what they say via dodgy lads or dodgy fitting...not that it's either but if you have doubts about what it is that could be a solution mate (although I know it's a pain in the ass)
Typersam1 is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 22nd February 2017, 20:52
Supporter
 
veehexx's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 CTR FK2
Join Date: 28th October 2015
Location: midlands, uk GB
Posts: 1,281
Thanks: 29
Thanked 162 Times in 140 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
you mention soft pedal with no feeling - i'd be concerned over air in the system. try this: engine off, pump the brake pedal a few times to remove all the vacuum from master cylinder, and then press pedal reasonably hard & hold that pressure. Should be maybe 2" of pedal movement. Does the pedal stay where it is, or slowly sink to the floor? If it sinks, then you've likely got air in the brake lines still, which is obviously bad.
apparently dot5 fluid can make the feeling in the pedal a bit vague; did you stay with dot4 or upgrade to 5? I've never driven on dot5 so not sure how noticable it is, it's just something i've read online.

With brembo's as standard on the '15CTR, they inspire confidence. Brake feel when new was as per any brake change on a car; softer than normal to start with but beds in noticeably after 50miles, and takes a few 100's to feel good.
veehexx is offline  
post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 23rd February 2017, 02:34 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 25th August 2014
Location: Poole GB
Posts: 589
Thanks: 76
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The sponge feeling was when I drove it back home after they was installed, now it feels normal. I gotta wear them in now. But that noise clunk is there on dead stop. These stoptech brake pads are secured by pins that go over the top I think. The bridge bolts are tight and secure so apart from that, there's no other way to secure the brake pads? The pin is secure and bridge bolts seem tight


So is it possible the brake pads could be defect/ bad batch as they state?

I will go to another Garage and get a 2nd opinion

Last edited by ufoblue; 23rd February 2017 at 02:36.
ufoblue is offline  
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 23rd February 2017, 14:41
Supporter
 
Alanok's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Alabaster Silver
Join Date: 30th March 2009
Location: Darlington, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,533
Thanks: 124
Thanked 224 Times in 204 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Send a message via MSN to Alanok
Brake pads have been fitted without shims.
ufoblue likes this.
Alanok is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 23rd February 2017, 20:41 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 25th August 2014
Location: Poole GB
Posts: 589
Thanks: 76
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alanok View Post
Brake pads have been fitted without shims.
Coming to think of it, you could be right.

I'm guessing these stoptech brake kit didn't come with shims? As it don't mention it in the manual

I'm gonna ring them tomorrow and ask them if they fitted the shims in
ufoblue is offline  
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 23rd February 2017, 20:54 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 25th August 2014
Location: Poole GB
Posts: 589
Thanks: 76
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
What shims would be compatible with the stoptech brake pads. Would the original Honda ones do it?
ufoblue is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 24th February 2017, 11:00
 
weegaz22's Avatar
 
Car: 57 plate CTR GT
Join Date: 28th January 2017
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 112
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufoblue View Post
What shims would be compatible with the stoptech brake pads. Would the original Honda ones do it?
I doubt it as the calipers, carriers and pads are completely different, I'm not familiar with the stoptech kit but if its "pins" that hold the pads in there is usually a bridge shim that sits under the pins and pushes on the pads itself, could be these have been bent enough through a bad install so as not to put pressure on pads....or they have been left off...or maybe the kit doesn't come with it if its a "race" kit as noise isn't as much of concern on a track setup, but TBH with a £1000+ bbk i'd be expecting it to come with shims lol.

take the wheel off and get some pics posted from different angles, maybe someone on here will notice an issue with the install...
weegaz22 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stoptech 328mm Discs lufc_lad ABP Motorsport 10 31st December 2015 14:57
Stoptech 328mm bbk pad replacement? Dave84 Type-R 24 2nd June 2014 17:41
Brakes Stoptech BBK 328mm brake pads devil84 Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes 9 17th April 2013 00:17
Brakes Stoptech mini four pot brakes Horizon Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes 3 5th November 2010 22:46

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome