USB input screens - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 4th November 2008, 18:27 Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,772 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
USB input screens

Not actually from a Civ, but I guess that this is what they will look like:

IMG_2831.jpg

IMG_2832.jpg

IMG_2833.jpg
Pottsy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 4th November 2008, 18:34
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
From the new 09 accord i think?? or poss a shot from the new 09 civic??...
NH Dan is offline  
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 4th November 2008, 18:37 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,772 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
They are from the Accord, but I'm pretty sure it's the same system that the Civ is getting.
Pottsy is offline  
 
post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 4th November 2008, 20:06
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pottsy View Post
They are from the Accord, but I'm pretty sure it's the same system that the Civ is getting.
I've used the accord system a few times now for showroom demos etc and found it quite simple to use and pretty functional. I've also been using the New Jazz audio unit a fair bit for the same reasons and for a small car, it really is pretty damn good. Lets hope the Civic carries across the same functionality.
NH Dan is offline  
post #5 of 34 (permalink) Old 4th November 2008, 20:12
Supporter
 
St Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th October 2006
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,134
Thanks: 1
Thanked 55 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Looks very sensible and clear....
Can we say a "Well done" Honda or is that a tad over the top?
St Thomas is offline  
post #6 of 34 (permalink) Old 4th November 2008, 20:19 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,772 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
I don't think so! It is very good and easy to use. It's very responsive and clear too. And in the new Accord with the Premium sound thing, the quality is great!

Shame it missed the 06 Civic though...
Pottsy is offline  
post #7 of 34 (permalink) Old 4th November 2008, 20:20
Supporter
 
St Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th October 2006
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,134
Thanks: 1
Thanked 55 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Agree about the Civic....
St Thomas is offline  
post #8 of 34 (permalink) Old 5th November 2008, 11:31
 
Join Date: 21st October 2008
Location: Drama, Greece GR
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
That's from a navi screen, right?
I wonder how it'll look like in a non-navi dash...
Thanmos is offline  
post #9 of 34 (permalink) Old 5th November 2008, 12:26
 
Join Date: 11th March 2008
Posts: 122
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I want it !
Still hoping to be able to retrofit it on the 06MY
jj69 is offline  
post #10 of 34 (permalink) Old 5th November 2008, 17:42 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,772 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thanmos View Post
That's from a navi screen, right?
I wonder how it'll look like in a non-navi dash...
It is.

In the non navi it will have a line of text under the clock. Each press of display will give the folder name, track number and name, file data and so on.

On both cars a long press on the +/- on the steering wheel moves folders and a short press moves tracks.
Pottsy is offline  
post #11 of 34 (permalink) Old 5th November 2008, 18:47
 
Join Date: 21st October 2008
Location: Drama, Greece GR
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sounds neat, too...
Hope the 1.4 car will have it here in Greece...
Thanmos is offline  
post #12 of 34 (permalink) Old 5th November 2008, 20:35
 
Join Date: 21st October 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The 1,4 will have it.
Let's hope that one day Greece will stop being a third world country and the cars sold here will be available with navi systems, even the ones priced less than 30,000-40,000 Euros
Hondakias is offline  
post #13 of 34 (permalink) Old 6th November 2008, 18:34
 
teusxvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th November 2008
Location: Vercelli, IT IT
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (1)
can i post the image in the italian civic club site?
teusxvc is offline  
post #14 of 34 (permalink) Old 6th November 2008, 18:41 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,772 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Yes, attributed.
Pottsy is offline  
post #15 of 34 (permalink) Old 7th November 2008, 12:21
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,815
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
Looks good, a few years late though!
czechplastik is offline  
post #16 of 34 (permalink) Old 18th November 2008, 15:42
Supporter
 
Join Date: 19th April 2008
Location: Derbys ENGLAND
Posts: 64
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Any news on whether it will retro fit into a 2008 (easily)?

I am waiting with 's burning holes in pockets, but don't want to jump in the wrong direction!
scrofts007 is offline  
post #17 of 34 (permalink) Old 18th November 2008, 17:13
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I have a feeling it wont be as easy as just plugging it in, otherwise it would have been done a lot longer ago.
NH Dan is offline  
post #18 of 34 (permalink) Old 25th November 2008, 08:38
 
Join Date: 24th October 2008
Location: Huntingdon, uk ENGLAND
Posts: 95
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Here's hoping! Id like it in mine too
r1ckster2000 is offline  
post #19 of 34 (permalink) Old 25th November 2008, 09:08
Civic gone, not forgotten
 
alanwalne's Avatar
 
Car: Pug 4007, 308CC, Clio dci
Join Date: 11th June 2007
Location: Kent ENGLAND
Posts: 2,092
Thanks: 25
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Will the USB control control an ipod, or is it just for music on a USB stick?
alanwalne is offline  
post #20 of 34 (permalink) Old 25th November 2008, 12:47
 
Join Date: 11th March 2008
Posts: 122
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NH Dan View Post
I have a feeling it wont be as easy as just plugging it in, otherwise it would have been done a lot longer ago.
If it's the matter of pluging a cable (not an adapter) that would mean firmware upgrade for both satnav (display new source, and why not be able to follow the current track in the selection menu) and head unit (enable aux-in - just like on the sedan HU - and maybe USB host if it's available).
And their are plenty of solutions Honda could use to prevent us from doing this kind of upgrade

I think the real issue is a firmware upgrade ...
jj69 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > 2009 Civic (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to clean speedo and sat nav screens ChillTypeR Cleaning 8 5th October 2008 12:12
Cleaning dashboard plastic screens ChillTypeR Cleaning 8 4th September 2008 00:47
Silver My New Toy With DVD Screens! liamcalland Gallery (8G) 16 16th April 2007 01:02
Satnav LCD screens and Polaroid sunglasses Skaven252 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 19 14th March 2007 17:29
AUX in RCA input longjon Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 11th December 2006 12:13

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome