USB Aux in - how to use - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 14th May 2012, 20:33 Thread Starter
 
Car: 2009 1.8 ES, Nighthawk Black
Join Date: 13th May 2009
Location: South Manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
USB Aux in - how to use

Hi,
First things first, the radio part and changing between folders, i know how to do.

The problem is the port itself.
I have a USB stick that's barely bigger than a USB connector, but it wont actually fit on the USB Aux in.

Is some sort of adapter cable needed?

Thanks.
boomam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 14th May 2012, 20:47
Supporter
 
upopup's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th July 2008
Location: Lincoln ENGLAND
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi, My 2011 civic came with a short fly lead adaptor, this must be available from Honda!
good luck........
upopup is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 14th May 2012, 20:58 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2009 1.8 ES, Nighthawk Black
Join Date: 13th May 2009
Location: South Manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks.
I just asked the seller (my old man) apparently there was a cable and he's gonna dig it out for me. lol.
boomam is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 14th May 2012, 21:07
Supporter
 
LincsPoacher's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 2.2 EX GT Milano Red
Join Date: 20th December 2011
Location: Lincolnshire IE
Posts: 1,132
Thanks: 81
Thanked 149 Times in 140 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomam View Post
Thanks.
I just asked the seller (my old man) apparently there was a cable and he's gonna dig it out for me. lol.

Good job because a new one would cost an arm and leg.
LincsPoacher is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 14th May 2012, 21:42
LOUD NOISES!!!
 
gadgetman68's Avatar
 
Car: 60 FN2 M200
Join Date: 5th February 2009
Location: Derbyshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,369
Thanks: 990
Thanked 765 Times in 624 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Just to clarify, the USB and Aux in are two different things and have their own selection on the head unit.

USB connection does come with an adaptor lead (sounds like the OP has this now). This will connect to a USB drive and you will be able to view and select folders from the head unit.

The Aux In is basically a 3.5 mm Jack and will just play what's plugged into it with no option to alter from the head unit (apart from volume).
gadgetman68 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 15th May 2012, 09:15 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2009 1.8 ES, Nighthawk Black
Join Date: 13th May 2009
Location: South Manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thats if he manages to find it....how much does it cost from Honda?
boomam is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 15th May 2012, 17:01
Supporter
 
LincsPoacher's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 2.2 EX GT Milano Red
Join Date: 20th December 2011
Location: Lincolnshire IE
Posts: 1,132
Thanks: 81
Thanked 149 Times in 140 Posts
iTrader: (3)
LincsPoacher is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 15th May 2012, 17:23
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 850 Times in 675 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Why did he remove it from the car?
Bog is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 16th May 2012, 12:57
Supporter
 
-Mick-'s Avatar
 
Car: '59 MR CTR GT
Join Date: 10th October 2011
Location: Washington ENGLAND
Posts: 231
Thanks: 19
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
Why did he remove it from the car?
Feckin hell, probably for the fear of it being nicked with them costing that much to replace!

Surely you can buy these things from a 3rd party supplier for cheaper than 60 odd quid???

Glad mine wasn't missing when I bought the car!
-Mick- is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 16th May 2012, 12:59
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Mick- View Post
Surely you can buy these things from a 3rd party supplier for cheaper than 60 odd quid???
I would have thought the same - need someone with one to confirm what the connections are at each end etc.
Syx is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 16th May 2012, 14:09
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 850 Times in 675 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Already looked .... It's a proper oem plug.... No one supplies anything like it
Bog is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 16th May 2012, 15:30
Supporter
 
LincsPoacher's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 2.2 EX GT Milano Red
Join Date: 20th December 2011
Location: Lincolnshire IE
Posts: 1,132
Thanks: 81
Thanked 149 Times in 140 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
Already looked .... It's a proper oem plug.... No one supplies anything like it
Guess they have you by the short and curlies then.


LincsPoacher is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 16th May 2012, 15:32
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
Already looked .... It's a proper oem plug.... No one supplies anything like it
Quote:
Originally Posted by LincsPoacher View Post
Guess they have you by the short and curlies then.


Time to get creative? Trace the pinouts and make your own...
Syx is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 17th May 2012, 22:06 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2009 1.8 ES, Nighthawk Black
Join Date: 13th May 2009
Location: South Manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Update, got the cable! All good.
boomam is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 10th May 2013, 18:14
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Has anybody of you ever thought about cutting or drilling the non-standard USB plug out of its plastic cover and replace it by an ordinary USB cable by just using a bit of glue to fill the gab between the new plug and the hole?
To hide the clue you may add a little bit of black silicone around the new plug after the clue is completely dry.

I mean, there must be some place under this non-standard USB plug where, on its other end, it is connected to the car.

If that other end is an ordinary USB (can somebody confirm this, please?), it should be quite easy to replace it.
If you do it very carefully, you should even be able to keep the cover above the plug intact.
Centauri39 is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 13th May 2013, 14:56
Supporter
 
discus's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTR, Milano red
Join Date: 6th July 2007
Location: Northants ENGLAND
Posts: 1,677
Thanks: 22
Thanked 240 Times in 228 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Here's the USB wiring diagram if you want to give it a try. You will need to identify the wiring, probably need the Honda cable to do it though:

Leads Direct - USB Wiring
discus is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th May 2013, 19:13
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'm not in a hurry to try myself atm.
My car isn't old enough for this to do and the adapter cable still working.

But I think I'll try if time has come...

I assume, all it takes to find out the wiring is a continuity tester.
If you know the purpose of each of the 4 pins of your thumbdrive, you can go backwards deeper and deeper into the car's wiring to find a place where to connect an ordinary USB cable.

I don't remember where, but I've seen a picture of an ordinary USB port once.
Must have been somewhere behind the handbrake after the armrest was removed.
Centauri39 is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th May 2013, 22:13
 
Join Date: 15th May 2008
Location: England GB
Posts: 141
Thanks: 11
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi Guys I have one of these up for grabs for a squid. If anyone is interested PM me.

Cheers
Loz

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
wazhalo31 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > 2009 Civic (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome