Faulty Deflation Warning - Civinfo
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 39 (permalink) Old 4th April 2018, 19:56 Thread Starter
 
electric's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 SR CVT
Join Date: 19th February 2008
Location: London GB
Posts: 429
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Angry Faulty Deflation Warning

On every journey over 20 miles my Deflation Warning Symbol comes on. It takes over most of the screen behind the steering wheel until I recalibrate.

When it first started coming on I exited motorways etc in a panic and checked all my tyres. However in every case my tyres were all at the same correct pressure so now I try to ignore it.

Today after driving 30 motorway miles, then parked for 45 minutes then driving 5 miles on came the deflation warning symbol. Later today after recalibrating the warning came on after just 10 miles. I checked the tyres after driving another 40 miles and all my tyre pressures were exactly the same as when I last checked yesterday. The message can only be removed after recalibrating which can only be done when stationary and the auto in P.

Does anyone else have this problem and been able to fix it? I'm told each wheel has a sensor one of which may be faulty with the fault only showing up because I recalibrated after fitting a new tyre.
electric is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 39 (permalink) Old 4th April 2018, 20:02
Grumpy Old Git ;)
 
Deathstar's Avatar
 
Car: 12 2.2 CR-V EX (The wifes)
Join Date: 3rd August 2009
Location: Lancashire SCOTLAND
Posts: 362
Thanks: 62
Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The wife had this issue on her CR-V, and it was resolved with a software update.
However Honda use a crude rotation count method, donut could be a faulty wheel speed sensor.
Unsure if the system had improved any, but does it advise you what tyre has "deflated"?

Thankfully my car actually measure the pressure in each tyre, and highlights the defective wheel, German engineering though.

Sent with the help of Tim Berners-Lee....
Deathstar is offline  
post #3 of 39 (permalink) Old 4th April 2018, 21:01
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
Car: 2018 Civic 1.0 SR Manual
Join Date: 7th October 2014
Location: Chorley, Lancs GB
Posts: 1,587
Thanks: 204
Thanked 137 Times in 132 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathstar View Post
German engineering though.
oh here we go
Haltamer likes this.
jamesmckelvie is offline  
 
post #4 of 39 (permalink) Old 4th April 2018, 21:49
Ex-Pat Geordie!
 
nturnb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic S Navi I-dtec
Join Date: 17th November 2013
Location: Irvine, Ayrshire GB
Posts: 2,125
Thanks: 119
Thanked 219 Times in 200 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesmckelvie View Post
oh here we go
Exactly, their cars only have indicators as an option. Dash Cam footage to prove it on many an occasion.
Kremmen, M8TJT and Haltamer like this.
nturnb is offline  
post #5 of 39 (permalink) Old 4th April 2018, 22:18 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
electric's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 SR CVT
Join Date: 19th February 2008
Location: London GB
Posts: 429
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathstar View Post
The wife had this issue on her CR-V, and it was resolved with a software update.
However Honda use a crude rotation count method, donut could be a faulty wheel speed sensor.
Unsure if the system had improved any, but does it advise you what tyre has "deflated"? .
Unfortunately there is no obvious way to know which wheel has the problem. As none of the wheels has a puncture it is only the warning message that says (wrongly) a tyre has deflated.
electric is offline  
post #6 of 39 (permalink) Old 4th April 2018, 22:23
Supporter
 
scotty44's Avatar
 
Car: 2018 Type R GT - Rallye Red
Join Date: 10th February 2018
Location: Stoke-on-trent ENGLAND
Posts: 61
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had A run over to Manchester today in the CTR , 100 mile round trip and had this come up twice ... not had time to check the pressure yet as only just walked in but for a car with less than 250 mile on the clock..not good
scotty44 is offline  
post #7 of 39 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 04:31
 
peniole's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26th September 2011
Location: Bonn DE
Posts: 351
Thanks: 15
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Make sure you start the recalibration with the engine off. Don't know why but apparently makes a difference. Had mine come up, tried to initiate while engine running, came back on after about 15 minutes. Second time engine off, seemed to do the trick.

I have the other system on the truck. Actually prefer the rotation count method. You don't have to pay and arm and a leg on a second set if you swap wheels. No need to worry about the tire shop damaging a sensor when fixing or replacing a tire.
peniole is offline  
post #8 of 39 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 13:27
Grumpy Old Git ;)
 
Deathstar's Avatar
 
Car: 12 2.2 CR-V EX (The wifes)
Join Date: 3rd August 2009
Location: Lancashire SCOTLAND
Posts: 362
Thanks: 62
Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by electric View Post
Unfortunately there is no obvious way to know which wheel has the problem. As none of the wheels has a puncture it is only the warning message that says (wrongly) a tyre has deflated.
Yes, exactly the same as the wife had on her old CR-V. I thought the may have improved the system my now. But obviously not.
As above, it was resolved with a software update, however it could have just been coincidence. We sold it a few months after.

No issues with the HR-V yet, but it's only got 3k on the clock in 7 months.
She prefers to drive mine when I'm working from home.

Sent with the help of Tim Berners-Lee....
Deathstar is offline  
post #9 of 39 (permalink) Old 7th April 2018, 16:06
I Hate tailgaters!
 
Red Dwarf's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 SR Lunar Silver
Join Date: 11th December 2011
Location: Blackpool, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 12
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
I'm sure you can deactivate it. Switch it off for a few days then reactivate.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Red Dwarf is offline  
post #10 of 39 (permalink) Old 7th April 2018, 22:07
I Hate tailgaters!
 
Red Dwarf's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 SR Lunar Silver
Join Date: 11th December 2011
Location: Blackpool, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 12
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage


Tyres must be cold at start of calibration.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Red Dwarf is offline  
post #11 of 39 (permalink) Old 7th April 2018, 22:36
Living the dream!
 
Join Date: 16th August 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 8,527
Thanks: 908
Thanked 1,198 Times in 1,017 Posts
iTrader: (137)
Had fk2 chuck this up around 10 times in a week and then it settled down and never did it again, just check pressures reset a few times and it will sort itself out
RickHondaR is offline  
post #12 of 39 (permalink) Old 8th April 2018, 20:12
 
TomPoyntz's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 Civic Sport Plus
Join Date: 10th October 2011
Location: Stroud, Uk GB
Posts: 205
Thanks: 56
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickHondaR View Post
Had fk2 chuck this up around 10 times in a week and then it settled down and never did it again, just check pressures reset a few times and it will sort itself out
My fk2 did the same. I've not had any issues though with the 1.5 sport plus (touch wood).

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
TomPoyntz is offline  
post #13 of 39 (permalink) Old 9th April 2018, 16:04 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
electric's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 SR CVT
Join Date: 19th February 2008
Location: London GB
Posts: 429
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by peniole View Post
Make sure you start the recalibration with the engine off. Don't know why but apparently makes a difference. Had mine come up, tried to initiate while engine running, came back on after about 15 minutes. Second time engine off, seemed to do the trick. .
On the Civic the option to calibrate is greyed out until the engine is running (or key is in position 2)
electric is offline  
post #14 of 39 (permalink) Old 9th April 2018, 16:05 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
electric's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 SR CVT
Join Date: 19th February 2008
Location: London GB
Posts: 429
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Dwarf View Post
I'm sure you can deactivate it. Switch it off for a few days then reactivate.
I have no option to switch it off.
electric is offline  
post #15 of 39 (permalink) Old 9th April 2018, 16:11 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
electric's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 SR CVT
Join Date: 19th February 2008
Location: London GB
Posts: 429
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Car is booked in to my dealer for a Software Update.

They want it for a whole day. They say the original specification coded in the software is too small a tyre variation. The software update increases the pressure variation by 300% what it is now.

This fixes what has become a common problem with Civics.
electric is offline  
post #16 of 39 (permalink) Old 9th April 2018, 16:11
Earth Dreams :)
 
Higgo8's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 CTR GT
Join Date: 17th April 2017
Location: Stoke-on-Trent ENGLAND
Posts: 890
Thanks: 3
Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Had this on the CRV.. but it was actually proven to be right N/S/F tyre was 5 psi less than the others... I check the tyre pressures, oil, screen wash, brake fluid etc etc every week just to be on the safe side..
Anyway, with the CRV - had when I amended the tyre valve issue and knew all the tyre pressures were spot on, I had to do a reset a couple of times to stop it pinging up. All was well after that.

FK8 CTR - not had that problem with that yet..
Higgo8 is offline  
post #17 of 39 (permalink) Old 9th April 2018, 16:28
 
peniole's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26th September 2011
Location: Bonn DE
Posts: 351
Thanks: 15
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by electric View Post
On the Civic the option to calibrate is greyed out until the engine is running (or key is in position 2)
Correct, start it in position 2 with the engine off. Then turn on engine and drive off.

With the engine running it always came back in my experience.

Any other info on this whole day update? Particularly, GPS accuracy? Keep us updated. Thanks.
peniole is offline  
post #18 of 39 (permalink) Old 19th April 2018, 17:04 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
electric's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 SR CVT
Join Date: 19th February 2008
Location: London GB
Posts: 429
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had the software update done while I waited. It only took an hour from arrival to leaving. So far the deflation warner has not appeared again.

I'm told it will still work but it will not raise the alarm until there is more difference between one tyre and the rest. It seems the garage can choose what parameters it wants to set.
electric is offline  
post #19 of 39 (permalink) Old 13th July 2018, 18:43
 
Car: 2016 sr grey
Join Date: 13th July 2018
Location: Cumbria, uk
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi.
Does anyone know how accurate this system should be? When i got the car the warning was on and after inflating a couple of tyres and recalibrating had no more warnings. I checked the tyre pressures a few days ago to find that they were all 6psi down (but no warning). Is this normal?
paullatk is offline  
post #20 of 39 (permalink) Old 13th July 2018, 18:53
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 1,749
Thanks: 45
Thanked 238 Times in 217 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by paullatk View Post
Hi.
Does anyone know how accurate this system should be? When i got the car the warning was on and after inflating a couple of tyres and recalibrating had no more warnings. I checked the tyre pressures a few days ago to find that they were all 6psi down (but no warning). Is this normal?
6PSI Down seems a lot, did you fill them when hot?

If the tyres all deflate equally, there will be no warning as it bases the warning on the difference between individual tyres; If one deflates it will warn you, but if they all equally empty, there will be no warning.
Haltamer is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 10th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2017 - ) > Bugs, faults and irritations (10G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Other Tyre deflation warning g-a-c Electronics (8G) 8 17th May 2016 22:53
Tyre Pressure Deflation warning alert - help ?? 9G Facelift telescope40 Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 5 17th February 2016 13:04
Warnings Deflation Warning Light petes Electronics (8G) 5 2nd April 2014 16:17
Electrics Tyre deflation warning light Delberthot Bugs, faults and irritations (9G) 7 10th December 2013 11:16
Tyre Pressure Tyre Deflation Warning System Whiteshark Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 16 22nd August 2009 16:11

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome