Other Abs and Vsa light still on after changing faulty sensor - Civinfo
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 12:28 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Abs and Vsa light still on after changing faulty sensor

Had the AA man use diagnostic on my car and he said there was an open circuit. Below it what they sent to my email:

Patrol found the following fault code/s:System : ABS 1 - 88K / ABS 8.0 Status :11 - Wheel-speed sensor front right. Error Message : Open circuit/short circuit. not active.suspect offside wheel sensor fault ok to drive be aware no abs normal brakes only

I purchased the sensor from eBay for less than £20 and fitted it today. Old one was rusty and stuck so had to drill it out. However the lights are both still on. Iíve been out for a drive but they still havenít turned off. Iíve tried the obd pin 4 and 9 trick I saw online but that doesnít seem to work either.
Shefartypes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 12:30 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Could it be the other part that goes from wheel arch to abs module? Iíve seen a post about someone saying for them it happened to be the brake pedal sensor but would that not show a different fault code?
Shefartypes is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 12:43
 
Fkkirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25th August 2016
Posts: 629
Thanks: 84
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Funny enough I replaced my abs sensor last year drivers side front evem with a machine on it still didn't go out so took it to the garage turned out it was in fact the driver side REAR lol jesus.

Sent from my Robin using Tapatalk
Fkkirk is offline  
 
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 12:51 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Is it possible for the diagnostic to get it wrong its one of the other sensors?
Shefartypes is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 12:54
 
Fkkirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25th August 2016
Posts: 629
Thanks: 84
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Funny enough I got to never buy from eBay for car parts 🤣 so I did that was the sensor and it ended up wrong one different wheel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shefartypes View Post
Had the AA man use diagnostic on my car and he said there was an open circuit. Below it what they sent to my email:

Patrol found the following fault code/s:System : ABS 1 - 88K / ABS 8.0 Status :11 - Wheel-speed sensor front right. Error Message : Open circuit/short circuit. not active.suspect offside wheel sensor fault ok to drive be aware no abs normal brakes only

I purchased the sensor from eBay for less than £20 and fitted it today. Old one was rusty and stuck so had to drill it out. However the lights are both still on. Iíve been out for a drive but they still havenít turned off. Iíve tried the obd pin 4 and 9 trick I saw online but that doesnít seem to work either.
Sent from my Robin using Tapatalk
Fkkirk is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 13:00 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
The part number did say it was for the front right. I checked the number on coxmotorparts.
Shefartypes is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 13:11 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Part Number on the one I removed is 57450-SMG 8C281. Coxmotorparts said part was 57450-SMG-E01. When I check for part ending 8C281 the part that comes up is ending E01.
Shefartypes is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 13:37
Supporter
 
Skomaz's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 ctdi Sport
Join Date: 6th September 2014
Location: Sheffield GB
Posts: 540
Thanks: 1
Thanked 99 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've checkedand cleared them like this using the pin 43 and 9 trick...


To checkcodes


1. Short the #9and #4 pin on the DLC.


2. Turnignition switch to ON.


3. Count theflashes from the indicator light and then look up the code.


To reset


1. With theignition switch OFF


2. Short theSCS circuit to body ground (#4 and #9) pin using a paperclip


3. Press and hold thebrake pedal.


4. Turn theignition switch ON (II) while keeping the brake pedal pressed.


5. After theABS indicator goes off, release the brake.


6. After theABS indicator goes on, press and hold the brake pedal again.


7. After theABS indicator goes off, release the brake again.


8. After a fewseconds, the ABS indicator should blink twice and the DTC clear (If the ABSindicator stays on after it blinks twice, check the DTC again and have another go, because another problem may have arisen).


9. Turn theignition switch OFF.


10. Disconnectthe paperclip from the DLC.


The clearing ofthe lights on the dash only kicked in for me after a lock / unlock of the carand an engine restart (so I guess the system changes are cleared on start-up)


Hope this helps
Kremmen and Fkkirk like this.
Skomaz is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 13:56 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Mine the light flashes twice then comes back on. Then flashes again and stays on. Tried it a few times and does the same.
Shefartypes is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 14:18 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
The light does a long flash and short flash and keeps repeating like that. What would the code be for that?
Shefartypes is offline  
post #11 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 14:43
Supporter
 
scaramanga's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 white orchid 1.6 dtec
Join Date: 9th May 2011
Location: cumbria ENGLAND
Posts: 1,641
Thanks: 11
Thanked 136 Times in 135 Posts
iTrader: (1)
if you were not carefull when you drilled old 1 out you might have damaged the actuator ring the sensor picks up from
only real way is to read the codes
what area are you someone might have a code reader near by
scaramanga is offline  
post #12 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 14:50 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Iím in stalbans. Worse case I did damage the actuator ring, how much would that cost to fix and is it something I could do myself?
Shefartypes is offline  
post #13 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 15:00 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Where exactly does the ring go? Is it at the end of the sensor or does it go around it? When I drilled the old part out, I went about half way into the sensor and it stuck onto the drill bit and came out.
Shefartypes is offline  
post #14 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 16:32
Supporter
 
scaramanga's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 white orchid 1.6 dtec
Join Date: 9th May 2011
Location: cumbria ENGLAND
Posts: 1,641
Thanks: 11
Thanked 136 Times in 135 Posts
iTrader: (1)
should be ok then
the pick up ring is on the hub it spins with the wheel and the sensor picks up the notches to judge the wheel speed
scaramanga is offline  
post #15 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 17:04 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
It was pretty gunky when I took the old sensor out. When I cleaned it some bits came out like a rusty paste, similar to play dough consistency.
Shefartypes is offline  
post #16 of 30 (permalink) Old 11th May 2018, 23:52
Supporter
 
Skomaz's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 ctdi Sport
Join Date: 6th September 2014
Location: Sheffield GB
Posts: 540
Thanks: 1
Thanked 99 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shefartypes View Post
The light does a long flash and short flash and keeps repeating like that. What would the code be for that?
That sounds like code 11 which is right front short to ground or short to power

Long flashes are tens and short ones singles so one long and one short is 11

Was that the one you replaces? If so check the connector and make sure it's not damp or the cable damaged
Skomaz is offline  
post #17 of 30 (permalink) Old 12th May 2018, 07:13 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
I did check the new part before fitting and it didnít look damaged or damp. I did have my car washed a few hours earlier but that was before I even started replacing the cable. The wheel arch wasnít that wet either. What are the chances the part could be faulty? If not could the part be working and somehow the light still be on but just need the codes wiped by a diagnostic? Can the abs/vsa codes be wiped?
Shefartypes is offline  
Thanks to Shefartypes from:
post #18 of 30 (permalink) Old 12th May 2018, 07:43 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
The part I got is that definitely the correct part number, 57450SMGE01?
Shefartypes is offline  
post #19 of 30 (permalink) Old 12th May 2018, 09:18
Supporter
 
tibsy's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 es cosmic grey
Join Date: 17th May 2014
Location: beds ENGLAND
Posts: 131
Thanks: 18
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (1)
The actuator ring is in the wheel bearing, if it is damaged you will need a new bearing. This happened to me a few weeks ago (see my thread a bit lower down)http://www.civinfo.com/forum/wheels-...abs-light.html
tibsy is offline  
post #20 of 30 (permalink) Old 12th May 2018, 09:48 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
It is likely that some debri from drilling the sensor could have stayed in when I cleaned it but there was a lot of rusty gunk already in there. Iím sure I didnít drill into the ring. In your post thereís a mention of the brake pedal switch causing the issue which I have seen in a couple of other posts. Iím going to try changing the next as itís the easiest and most likely cheapest. How much would it cost part and labour at a garage to change the wheel bearing?
Shefartypes is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Bugs, faults and irritations (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vsa and Abs sensor location Shefartypes General Discussion (8G) 2 6th July 2017 15:13
Is there a way of checking if abs / vsa is faulty shootingstar40 Electronics (8G) 3 15th November 2013 10:00
Brakes Abs/vsa error. Abs sensor snapped off cv65user Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 9 2nd September 2013 12:26
VSA VSA & ABS After Changing Bump Stops Zcott Electronics (8G) 7 11th January 2013 21:43
Electrics abs and vsa sensor ekcivic2010 Electronics (8G) 4 24th November 2012 22:50

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome