AC/Heater 2.2 Diesel 2010 CDTi Heater not Working—Could it be the compressor? - Civinfo
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Stuart Henry Wilson

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 9th November 2018, 17:38 Thread Starter
Supporter

2.2 Diesel 2010 CDTi Heater not Working—Could it be the compressor?

Hi all,

A few weeks back I bought a 2010 CDTi for £1000. I think it was involved in an accident at the passenger side as the passenger window does not work and the mirror adjustment is pretty wonky but the main issue is that the heating system does not work at all.

I've spent the past few weeks (slowly) troubleshooting and trying different things and I now think that the AC compressor is gubbed (I saw a post from September that mentions shimming or replacing it but I can't post any links just yet).

I'm not a mechanic, and this is the first time I've ever tried to do something to a car other than drive it, but here's what I've tried so far:
  1. I tested the fuses (7 and 36) and they work ok
  2. I replaced the AC relay in the bonnet fuse box but it didn't help—I can hear it clicking on, though
  3. I tested the blower motor resistor and it seemed fine—I replaced it anyway but it didn't help

The heating IS doing something. There's definitely a fan kicking in somewhere when I turn it on, just not the main blower motor at the left side of the clutch. You can hear it, though (I tried to record a video but it didn't pick up the subtle sound). Having read around on this forum a bit, I get the impression that the AC compressor (I think) is supposed to start turning whenever I turn the heating on (or is it just when I have the AC temp low?). This isn't happening. The main fans at the grill are turning when the engine is on and, when I drive it for a bit, hot air does come through the vents but it's very weak.