2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

Clicking (Not squeaking) Clutch pedal when warm, but not cold

Transmission 
2K views 5 replies 2 participants last post by  FergyCiv 
#1 ·
Hey folks,

I'm new to owning my FN2 Type R. Less than two weeks. Ever since I bought it, i've been having a clicking clutch pedal, which seems to only click when the car is warmed up. First thing in the morning, on the way to work, the car is a joy to drive because my clutch pedal behaves itself with no clicking or anything....then in the evening time, on the return journey home, the clutch pedal clicks with every depress all the way home again. If i push the clutch pedal REALLY SLOWLY I get a single click. If i push the pedal faster, then it's more of a creaking noise. In each case, it's not just a noise, but also a corresponding vibration through the pedal, and into my foot. It's driving me mad.

To try and better illustrate my issue, I've made a couple of private youtube videos so that perhaps hopefully, someone can give me some ideas as to what it might be and how to fix it.

EDIT: I cannot put the links to these videos here until I've posted 5 times! As soon as I've done this, I will post them up.

I'm suspicious that it might be the CMC itself, as I've gone through an exercise of first removing the big spring from the pedal box on the car now (2 mins to remove and then 5hrs to reinstate! - after I figured out the trick to refitting it!). The noise remained. I then unlinked the Clutch Master Cylinder push rod from where it connects mechanically on to the pedal box, as briefly illustrated in the second video. The noise was not there with only the pedal box being manipulated. So it only happens with the CMC connected.