Electrics Clock Radio AC Display not working - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By wordy
  • 1 Post By Type r 81
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2013, 20:34 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 22nd September 2010
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 65
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Question Clock Radio AC Display not working

The Clock Radio AC display is not showing anything and just blank, it was dim and showing little then goes all blank however the radio still works fine?

Is this a problem with the headunit or is it the LCD screen display problem? Is there a quick easy fix to this?

Are there any guides on how to remove and replace this?
PeTa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2013, 20:48
Supporter
 
Join Date: 16th August 2013
Location: manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The official word from Honda on this is that the head unit is faulty.
DiagTech is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2013, 22:40 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 22nd September 2010
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 65
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiagTech View Post
The official word from Honda on this is that the head unit is faulty.
So the head unit needs replacing? Is the facia and headunit all the same for the 8th gen civic or is type R different?
PeTa is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 20th August 2013, 19:01 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 22nd September 2010
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 65
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeTa View Post
So the head unit needs replacing? Is the facia and headunit all the same for the 8th gen civic or is type R different?

The display works but just VERY VERY dim, would this be the backlight or would it be the connectors or power from the head unit?
Anybody have similar problem before?

Not sure if it is the display or the head unit to replace? Are all the head units the same for the 8th gen civic or is Type R different?
PeTa is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 20th August 2013, 23:11
Supporter
 
Join Date: 16th August 2013
Location: manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I think all the head units are the same. The displays are different though the type r is red on black and the standard is white on black.
DiagTech is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 21st August 2013, 14:34
JimJim
 
JimJim's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer SR Diesel
Join Date: 23rd August 2011
Location: Blyth, Northumberland ENGLAND
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
THis is a fault with the Civic and reported here many times and appears to be linked to the stereo unit in high temperatures. Mine does the same but only when the outside temp is over 18C but it reverts to normal when the temp cools. Not much use in summer and as lots seem to have this problem I assume it is a production fault that Honda don't want to acknowledge else they would have to repair. Hopefully the latest Civics won't have this problem. New display unit will be costly to replace and if it is the same model as taken out may not resolve the problem.
JimJim is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 25th August 2013, 09:27
 
Join Date: 17th September 2009
Location: Estonia EE
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ksuuk is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 14th September 2013, 15:09
 
wordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th September 2013
Location: UK GB
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
I fixed my radio clock display with no problem,At first i was only getting half of display the top segments was missing,I removed the display unit from dash opened up the unit and resoldered all the the joints on the top row of the ciruit board replaced unit and problem sortted now display is now fully working again had no problems since.
Was given to understand it would cost 400 to replace.
it cost me fifty pence for fine solder bit and half hour of my time.

Last edited by wordy; 14th September 2013 at 15:13. Reason: forgot to mention what it cost
wordy is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 14th September 2013, 15:56
 
wordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th September 2013
Location: UK GB
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
How to remove Clock Radio Display,

1/ Take the small cover from top of the speedo by lifting up and pulling towards you.
2/ Now remove the speedo unit by pulling towards you been careful not to scratch or damage the dash.
3/ once removed disconnect the wiring plug.
4/ Now remove the top cover in front of the radio clock display by lifting it up,be carefull not to scrath this panel.
5\ Now you will see 2x screws at the bottom of the clock display,Remove them.
6\ now taking great care pull the radio clock unit towards you.Once out unplug the the wire from back.

(If you have a panel removal kit it will better for you to remove)

Now you have the clock unit out remove the cover from the back to reveal circuit board.re-solder the joints using a fine solder bit.

Before replacing the unit plug wire back in turn ignition on and all been well it should work. .....if all is well replace unit. (Good Luck) to all who read this with the problem.
hun_gery likes this.
wordy is offline  
Thank You to wordy from 2 Users:
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 29th September 2013, 08:37
 
Join Date: 22nd April 2013
Location: UK GB
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Wordy - how do you remove actual display after 2 screws removed? seems to be very stubborn and will not come out?
twinky000 is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 20th May 2016, 11:56
 
Join Date: 20th May 2016
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I see this is a very old thread but I have the same problem. The display varies from fully working to looking like some sort of hieroglyphics or cling-on writing. I had the head unit replaced 5 weeks ago and it worked fine for a couple of weeks. At first pushing on the display fixed it temporarily, now that doesn't work either. So I take it from the thread that the head unit has a generic problem with poorly soldered joints, even a brand new developed the problem quickly.
I will attempt the re-soldering job. In the meantime can anyone that has done that report that it was a long standing fix and the problem did not come back ?
jowillia is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 1st July 2016, 18:41
 
Join Date: 1st July 2016
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Hello! I experienced the exact same problem with the radio display. I followed the instructions given above by wordy on September 14th and problem solved! The procedure to remove the display is excellently described and it is quite easy. Pay attention to pull it out uniformly and straight so as not to damage it. After resoldering the pcb the problem is gone. .
Farqui likes this.
Type r 81 is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 1st July 2016, 18:42
 
Join Date: 1st July 2016
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Many thanks wordy!
Type r 81 is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 7th July 2016, 11:47
 
Join Date: 4th August 2014
Location: Bracknell GB
Posts: 82
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I am having missing digits on the clock/radio display, giving the dash a firm whack brings back all the text, but this still annoys me. It seems worse in warm weather.

I swapped out my factory radio with an android one and thought the problem was fixed - only for the problem to return a few months later.

I'm thinking of trying this fix, how hard is it to re-solder the joints? I am a little clumsy and only have a cheap soldering iron. Is this something i should ask a more experienced friend with proper tools to do?
bluepurple is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 7th July 2016, 14:56
Supporter
 
xfiniti64's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13th May 2015
Location: Kaunas LT
Posts: 271
Thanks: 34
Thanked 39 Times in 18 Posts
iTrader: (0)
xfiniti64 is offline  
Thanks to xfiniti64 from:
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 8th July 2016, 18:37
 
Join Date: 1st July 2016
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Bluepurple, I understand the problem you are facing is the problem no 2 described in xfiniti's 64 excellent post! This was my case also, I have not experienced the first problem, the repair of which seems a bit hard for me to do..
To answer your question the soldering is not hard but you need to be good at it as the contacts are close to one another (you can see in the picture xfiniti attached). It will solve the problem definitely, it has on mine so far..If you don't feel confident ask some specialist to resolder it, it only takes half an hour.Removing the display is easy just follow the steps and remember to pull the display straight out, not by angle.
Good luck!
Type r 81 is offline  
Thanks to Type r 81 from:
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 15th August 2016, 20:03
 
greencar's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 iCDT 5 door, grey
Join Date: 4th July 2016
Location: london, uk
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks very much ..

Just done mine on a 06.. was very easy.. Now perfect display..
greencar is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 27th February 2017, 20:02
 
Jakey's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 5dr EX Galaxy Grey
Join Date: 12th February 2017
Location: Windsor, Berkshire ENGLAND
Posts: 209
Thanks: 7
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi all, anyone tried this fix on a SatNav version display?

mine seems very dim and im looking for a fix...just wondered if this is it?

Cheers
Jakey is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical Anybody have a non-working radio display? vynz Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 11th May 2013 17:31
Electrics Fading Clock/Radio Display WhistlerUK Electronics (8G) 15 12th October 2012 18:45
Electrics Radio, Aircon display blank radio not working Hotchy Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 4 14th April 2012 13:34
Head Unit Display iPod through clock/radio/cd deck screen on 06 non-navi? spottyelephant Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 15 21st January 2011 17:58
Computer Strange Radio/Clock Display problem civicman1 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 0 11th March 2008 20:12

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome