Electrics Just bough a Civic but the dash display is playing up - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2013, 23:45 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2013
Location: St helens ENGLAND
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Just bough a Civic but the dash display is playing up

Hi

Just bought this:-



But seem to have a problem with the dash display for the radio

My dad has a 57 plate and has a problem also.

Mine is some of the display is dull and some bright when you first start it then when pressing button for heater or put the stereo on it comes back on.

My dads sometimes is very faint and then comes back on normal for a month or so then does the same thing again,

Anyone else have the same problem?
civicdodd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2013, 06:37
Supporter
 
civicnewbie's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 Aygo
Join Date: 18th December 2011
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,159
Thanks: 332
Thanked 847 Times in 734 Posts
iTrader: (12)
There is a brightness button on the dash, left hand of the gauges, you can turn it all the way down at night so it does not glare, if you forget to turn it back up then it looks as though your dash has disappeared in the daytime.
Nt sure if it has an autho setting and the default is too low.
Could be this ?
civicnewbie is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2013, 09:35
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The LCD panel is faulty.

Thre is a fix for it somewhere on the forum.
Grayfox is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2013, 19:47 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2013
Location: St helens ENGLAND
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I thought so but alot of people have the same problem so must be a common fault. any replaced one of these as it looks abit of a ball ache to remove.
civicdodd is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 4th October 2013, 02:18
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
It is costly to replace.

Few of the pins that power the LCD come loose from the PCB due to dry solder joints.

Resoldering these fixes it.
Grayfox is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 25th October 2013, 16:17
JimJim
 
JimJim's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer SR Diesel
Join Date: 23rd August 2011
Location: Blyth, Northumberland ENGLAND
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Welcome to the club as lots of us all round the world have the same problem which can apparently be fixed by resoldering the LCD pins see http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...t-problem.html not done this myself yet as my problem only occurs with outside temp of 18C or more and does not happen in winter so I am sceptical of the resoldering. There is another fix which I came across but cannot now find which is to replace some electronics in the head unit thet regulate its temperature. Looks techy but sounds more feasible given unit temp thing. If anyone can find it please let us know meanwhile I will keep looking but there is lots and lots of these queries on the site
JimJim is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 25th October 2013, 16:42
JimJim
 
JimJim's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer SR Diesel
Join Date: 23rd August 2011
Location: Blyth, Northumberland ENGLAND
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Found the techy repair which looks easy but I doubt my capabilities of soldering and not making a mess but if you want to try then it is at http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/999...Fclock+display
Good luck, if I really get annoyed with mine (only in summer) I may attempt this but somehow soldering the LCD pins looks a lot easier.
JimJim is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedo Dash info display? AM1NUL Electronics (8G) 11 14th April 2013 17:32
Electrics where did my dash display go phil99 Electronics (8G) 6 1st June 2010 14:27
Electrics No Dash Display !!! levitronix Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 14 10th July 2008 17:28
REV display on upper dash mgdoffshore Was it you? 7 31st March 2007 22:46
Built in CD Playing MP3s on an EX can the display be changed? galeth Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 1st November 2006 00:43

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome