Satnav Satnav screen when radio removed? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 8th October 2013, 13:39 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
law000's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 EX NHB
Join Date: 5th September 2013
Location: Crawley ENGLAND
Posts: 825
Thanks: 123
Thanked 180 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Satnav screen when radio removed?

Ok, I am looking to buy a Honda Civic, and the ones I have seen in my area are mainly EX's, but..

I like installing an aftermarket radio into the cars I have to allow for USB flash drive play back. I have a 16gb drive that is loaded with music and I want an intuitive menu browsing system that I'm sure the xcarlink can not provide.
I have been reading on this forum that removing the satnav radio from the car will render the display useless.

Can the display be used for another video input WITHOUT using the original radio? ie can I still install a reverse camera or maybe add aftermarket video output to this screen?
law000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 8th October 2013, 13:56 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
law000's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 EX NHB
Join Date: 5th September 2013
Location: Crawley ENGLAND
Posts: 825
Thanks: 123
Thanked 180 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Or alternatively,

Can I attach an iPod using xcarlink, and then output the iPod screen to the display while using the standard HU? Therefore keeping both original unit with satnav and having the ipod display come up on the satnav screen?
law000 is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 8th October 2013, 19:17
Supporter
 
MrBozo's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 EX, NHB
Join Date: 10th May 2010
Location: West Lothian SCOTLAND
Posts: 4,511
Thanks: 1,145
Thanked 486 Times in 441 Posts
iTrader: (262)
Quote:
Originally Posted by law000 View Post
Or alternatively,

Can I attach an iPod using xcarlink, and then output the iPod screen to the display while using the standard HU? Therefore keeping both original unit with satnav and having the ipod display come up on the satnav screen?
You can do this but the iPod needs to be jailbroken. You would also need a video cable from Bog and a video box like I make. See my example here...
MrBozo is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 8th October 2013, 23:12 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
law000's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 EX NHB
Join Date: 5th September 2013
Location: Crawley ENGLAND
Posts: 825
Thanks: 123
Thanked 180 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Can you still use the ipod to output music and use the sat nav at the same time?
In terms of connections to the screen, is it possible to feed say a reverse camera directly to the screen without using the standard HU at all?
law000 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 8th October 2013, 23:30
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by law000 View Post
Can you still use the ipod to output music and use the sat nav at the same time?
In terms of connections to the screen, is it possible to feed say a reverse camera directly to the screen without using the standard HU at all?
Yes to first question

No to second because even though the Navigation hardware/DVD drive is separate in the glovebox (and the video in/reversing cam connection is to this), the sat Nav is controlled and mated with the HU.... One can't work without the other.
Bog is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 9th October 2013, 10:28 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
law000's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 EX NHB
Join Date: 5th September 2013
Location: Crawley ENGLAND
Posts: 825
Thanks: 123
Thanked 180 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Damn that sucks. I was hoping to make the screen still have a use after removing the HU.
I have never used an ipod connection in a car, does the track information etc still show on the ipod screen so it can be used as the visual display for track listing etc?
law000 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 9th October 2013, 10:40
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Just reading your first post, if you are getting a MY09 or newer they already cater for USB flash playback.
Kremmen is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 9th October 2013, 10:50 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
law000's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 EX NHB
Join Date: 5th September 2013
Location: Crawley ENGLAND
Posts: 825
Thanks: 123
Thanked 180 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (1)
The ones I am looking at are before 2009. Is it possible to retrofit a newer radio in with usb capability? Do the 09 models show track and folder listing on the sat nav screen for easy navigation of multiple folders on the usb stick?
law000 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 9th October 2013, 11:18
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by law000 View Post
The ones I am looking at are before 2009. Is it possible to retrofit a newer radio in with usb capability? Do the 09 models show track and folder listing on the sat nav screen for easy navigation of multiple folders on the usb stick?
I doubt you could retrofit as they are embedded into the CanBus. It does allow full track listing though.
Kremmen is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 9th October 2013, 12:48 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
law000's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 EX NHB
Join Date: 5th September 2013
Location: Crawley ENGLAND
Posts: 825
Thanks: 123
Thanked 180 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Ok I'm thinking that just replacing the HU with aftermarket is probably the most convenient way for all the functions I want. I can always get a sat nav unit if I want to keep that function. I just didn't want a dead screen sitting in the dash but I think it's unavoidable
law000 is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 15th October 2013, 22:54
 
Join Date: 25th September 2013
Location: Mansfield GB
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
hi,
Just to let you know I ordered the kit to fit an aftermarket head unit into my civic with sat nav and It wont work. It brings all the smaller screen to mixed letters and things still work but you cant see heater temps or where its blowing. So save your money stick with factory. there is other things you can buy depending what your actually after ?

Daz
daz364 is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 08:12 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
law000's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 EX NHB
Join Date: 5th September 2013
Location: Crawley ENGLAND
Posts: 825
Thanks: 123
Thanked 180 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Yeah I just found out that the kit won't work with sat nav. I'm thinking may have to buy the xcarlink and an ipod :-s
law000 is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 5th June 2017, 11:18
 
Cyfer's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 Type S, Deep bronze
Join Date: 20th November 2007
Location: Venezia IT
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Hi all.
Any news on that? I'm in the same situation. I've got a 2007 Type S with i-Pilot, but I would like to upgrade the system to something newer.
Is there a way, in 2017, to install a 2 din unit but keep the function of the mini display (mainly clock and AC) and maybe use the sat nav monitor as a second display (in this case, I will search for a dual zone 2 din to take advantage of the second monitor)?
Cyfer is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 7th June 2017, 13:42
 
Cyfer's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 Type S, Deep bronze
Join Date: 20th November 2007
Location: Venezia IT
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
No one?
It seems I will have to be the Guinea pig on this matter... -_-
Cyfer is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 7th June 2017, 20:33
Supporter
 
xfiniti64's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13th May 2015
Location: Kaunas LT
Posts: 271
Thanks: 34
Thanked 39 Times in 18 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Wll is it 2 options.
1. You can make aux, and use any phone , tablet. If interest go to how to.
2. You can tray, put display from non sat nav version, it use same pins, same mounting points.
xfiniti64 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics HELP! Not working-Central locking,radio,satnav & a/c screen snowboundzero Electronics (8G) 19 8th November 2015 21:17
All characters visible on radio screen Odinokij_Kot This is How To ... (Guides Only) (8G) 7 7th January 2014 15:14
Satnav Satnav screen auto-on gadgetgaz Electronics (8G) 8 17th January 2012 07:14
Head Unit radio screen ante00 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 18th May 2007 14:32

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome