Speedo inaccurate speedo - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 17:43 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
TheLegMan's Avatar
 
Car: FN2 CTR
Join Date: 12th December 2012
Location: Angola AN
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 150
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (2)
inaccurate speedo

I think My speedo is inacurate. the car is standard apart from pipercross and crazy scoopin.

I'm getting the following speeds at top RPM in each gear:


1st - 40mph
2nd - 62mph
3rd - 82mph
4th - 112-119mph
5th & 6th- not sure

Any advice? How do i solve this issue.
TheLegMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 18:07
 
amit0612's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 i-vtec Royal Blue
Join Date: 17th August 2013
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 92
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
amit0612 is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 18:08 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
TheLegMan's Avatar
 
Car: FN2 CTR
Join Date: 12th December 2012
Location: Angola AN
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 150
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (2)
cheers, does it actually work? can i be used on the CTR?
TheLegMan is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 18:16
 
amit0612's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 i-vtec Royal Blue
Join Date: 17th August 2013
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 92
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
I've not done it myself
amit0612 is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 18:18
SHOCKD
 
JackW's Avatar
 
Car: BMW 116i 2.0
Join Date: 4th November 2012
Location: Newcastle, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 4,351
Thanks: 208
Thanked 669 Times in 632 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Hold on. How were you measuring this?
JackW is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 18:23
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
The best thing to do is get a GPS and check against that.
The speedo will over-read your speed by a small %age, which is by design.
Syx is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 18:27
My VTEC doesn't VTEC
 
Gatesy's Avatar
 
Car: 2008, 1.8 EX, i-shift
Join Date: 1st October 2012
Location: Bishops Stortford, UK GB
Posts: 1,109
Thanks: 213
Thanked 257 Times in 201 Posts
iTrader: (4)
+1 to what Sam said, measure it against a satnav/GPS

Not knowing the usuals in a TypeR but those figures do seem quite low as my 1.8 matches the 1st and 2nd figures and does 91mph in 3rd
Gatesy is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 18:48
 
amit0612's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 i-vtec Royal Blue
Join Date: 17th August 2013
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 92
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
i think it over reads by roughly 6-7% in my 1.8 from my crude calculation
amit0612 is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 19:52
aka Colin
 
pigdog's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR GT, Black
Join Date: 19th April 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland ENGLAND
Posts: 10,854
Thanks: 922
Thanked 1,494 Times in 1,388 Posts
iTrader: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by amit0612 View Post
i think it over reads by roughly 6-7% in my 1.8 from my crude calculation
Sounds about right. As above stick your sat nav in the car, pop onto the motorway and click on cruise control and see how far out it is.
pigdog is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 20:27 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
TheLegMan's Avatar
 
Car: FN2 CTR
Join Date: 12th December 2012
Location: Angola AN
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 150
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (2)
These are the speeds when i hit the limiter at peak revs.

I had my satnav on yesterday and was getting 75mph on the satnav with 82mph on the speedo.
TheLegMan is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 20:48
Banned
 
Aqib's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd November 2011
Location: Glasgow, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 7,705
Thanks: 296
Thanked 1,378 Times in 1,315 Posts
iTrader: (26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLegMan View Post
These are the speeds when i hit the limiter at peak revs.

I had my satnav on yesterday and was getting 75mph on the satnav with 82mph on the speedo.
On private roads I hope
Aqib is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 31st October 2013, 22:10
 
-TypeS_GT^'s Avatar
 
Car: 2011 CTS GT 2.2~SILVER#
Join Date: 21st June 2013
Location: North London, UK GB
Posts: 147
Thanks: 30
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLegMan View Post
These are the speeds when i hit the limiter at peak revs.

I had my satnav on yesterday and was getting 75mph on the satnav with 82mph on the speedo.
Wow! That's a huge difference.

Mine is only 2mph out. I have a 2011 2.2.

I know this because I use the M25 daily..it has an average speed section of 50... GPS reads 50 but only when speedo shows 52
-TypeS_GT^ is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 1st November 2013, 10:18 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
TheLegMan's Avatar
 
Car: FN2 CTR
Join Date: 12th December 2012
Location: Angola AN
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 150
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqib View Post
On private roads I hope
yeah, on private roads in mexico.
TheLegMan is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 1st November 2013, 11:01
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLegMan View Post
These are the speeds when i hit the limiter at peak revs.

I had my satnav on yesterday and was getting 75mph on the satnav with 82mph on the speedo.
That's 9%; which I wouldn't be that worried about at those speeds. Mine is not too different.
Syx is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 8th November 2013, 13:28
Supporter
 
Slimer's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Type-R, FN2, Black
Join Date: 18th August 2011
Location: Northants, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 272
Thanks: 15
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
i have always gotten those sort of differences with gps speeds compared to speedo, on every car. those speeds at top revs look about right for ctr, maybe 1mph different than mine used to be before i remapped
Slimer is offline  
post #16 of 24 (permalink) Old 8th November 2013, 13:50
無限 Unlimited
 
Laney's Avatar
 
Car: 59 Mugenised CTR
Join Date: 14th April 2010
Location: London..ish GB
Posts: 3,740
Thanks: 387
Thanked 533 Times in 496 Posts
iTrader: (13)
What you can do is buy the dash command app with a OBDII wifi dongle which reads the VSS at the true speed direct from the car, not the speedo, you'll be surprised at how fast you're actually going sometimes.

iirc when I'm doing 54mph on the dash it's actually 50mph, as you go faster the gap gets bigger.
Laney is offline  
post #17 of 24 (permalink) Old 8th November 2013, 13:51
Boost Time...
 
jonno66's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR NHB
Join Date: 5th March 2010
Location: Gloucester GB
Posts: 989
Thanks: 145
Thanked 203 Times in 189 Posts
iTrader: (12)
Send a message via AIM to jonno66
Plan to do mine again tomorrow now the charger is fitted, prior to that I was between 4-5 mph difference between the speedo and sat nav.
jonno66 is offline  
post #18 of 24 (permalink) Old 8th November 2013, 17:19
Or Ryan
 
ca9phoenix's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Milano Type R,
Join Date: 4th July 2013
Location: Newcastle-Under-Lyme UK ENGLAND
Posts: 160
Thanks: 12
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
My fn2 at 80 speedo speed is doing 77 satnav speed so that's a bit odd to be reading that high.
ca9phoenix is offline  
post #19 of 24 (permalink) Old 8th November 2013, 17:49
Supporter
 
robbobaggins's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR GT MILANO RED
Join Date: 20th July 2011
Location: West Yorkshire ENGLAND
Posts: 3,484
Thanks: 497
Thanked 751 Times in 687 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca9phoenix View Post
My fn2 at 80 speedo speed is doing 77 satnav speed so that's a bit odd to be reading that high.
Mines also 3mph out
robbobaggins is offline  
post #20 of 24 (permalink) Old 8th November 2013, 18:29
SHOCKD
 
JackW's Avatar
 
Car: BMW 116i 2.0
Join Date: 4th November 2012
Location: Newcastle, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 4,351
Thanks: 208
Thanked 669 Times in 632 Posts
iTrader: (11)
I used an app after reading this and it was the worst thing in the world im not even going to post the results..

Like 10% out from app to dash speed.
JackW is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedo vs. GPS Mattyy General Discussion (8G) 31 3rd April 2013 22:09
Speedo Speedo Out Percy16 Electronics (8G) 7 28th January 2013 01:30
Speedo Shrew84 General Discussion (8G) 15 30th August 2012 23:45
Speedo If your speedo goes off . . . . . RobPP Electronics (8G) 3 30th December 2011 17:01
Speedo Speedo Windlepoons Electronics (8G) 17 16th September 2009 18:17

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome