Alarm key intermittant - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th December 2013, 14:58 Thread Starter
I-Vtec... Do you?
 
Dwyer9's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 1.8 Type S-GT, Red
Join Date: 4th September 2010
Location: Bristol, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,728
Thanks: 133
Thanked 100 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Send a message via Yahoo to Dwyer9
key intermittant

Hi All

Ive been recently been having problems with my key fob, it works 8-9 times out of 10 but sometimes it takes a few button pressing episodes to activate or deactivate the alarm and lock and unlock i think you get the picture,

i went to my local key cutter to ask about a new battery he said to try reprogramming it as its infared the signal can break down he advised that *** should re programe there key every 2-3 years so im going to try do this if possible by the car owner i know some car keys need a proper auto electrician or dealer to do it so does anyone have any info on this? and i think ill do the battery at the same time to be safe, ive tried my spare key a few times and had no issues as of yet

if anyone has any info on programing the key or experianced the same i look forward to hearing from you

Thanks
Jay
Dwyer9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th December 2013, 15:59
No Smoke no poke
 
wardy2602's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Polished metal Type-S
Join Date: 29th November 2009
Location: stoke-on-trent, uk ENGLAND
Posts: 3,589
Thanks: 699
Thanked 870 Times in 733 Posts
iTrader: (46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwyer9 View Post
Hi All

Ive been recently been having problems with my key fob, it works 8-9 times out of 10 but sometimes it takes a few button pressing episodes to activate or deactivate the alarm and lock and unlock i think you get the picture,

i went to my local key cutter to ask about a new battery he said to try reprogramming it as its infared the signal can break down he advised that *** should re programe there key every 2-3 years so im going to try do this if possible by the car owner i know some car keys need a proper auto electrician or dealer to do it so does anyone have any info on this? and i think ill do the battery at the same time to be safe, ive tried my spare key a few times and had no issues as of yet

if anyone has any info on programing the key or experianced the same i look forward to hearing from you

Thanks
Jay
Just change the battery fella they are less than a quid and I bet it resolves it anyways
When the battery is running low there the signal will be weaker.
wardy2602 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th December 2013, 16:00
SHOCKD
 
JackW's Avatar
 
Car: BMW 116i 2.0
Join Date: 4th November 2012
Location: Newcastle, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 4,351
Thanks: 208
Thanked 669 Times in 632 Posts
iTrader: (11)
I had the same thing mate... Replaced the battery in the key and it worked fine...

I'd try that before anything else you can pick them up from watch shops like Timsons for like a quid
JackW is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th December 2013, 16:15
Supporter
 
cosmicma's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th August 2013
Location: bolton uk ENGLAND
Posts: 1,191
Thanks: 62
Thanked 196 Times in 186 Posts
iTrader: (4)
i think your key cutter has got the bit about the fob being infra red wrong the remote is RF mine works from within the house through a brick wall i don't know of any infra red remote that can penetrate a brick wall

as others have already said above it'l be your battery just get a new one
cosmicma is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th December 2013, 18:36 Thread Starter
I-Vtec... Do you?
** Thread starter **
 
Dwyer9's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 1.8 Type S-GT, Red
Join Date: 4th September 2010
Location: Bristol, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,728
Thanks: 133
Thanked 100 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Send a message via Yahoo to Dwyer9
Ok guys will I be able to change battery without having to recode to car


Sent from my iPhone
Dwyer9 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th December 2013, 18:54
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwyer9 View Post
Ok guys will I be able to change battery without having to recode to car


Sent from my iPhone
Yes.
x5252x is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th December 2013, 19:08
No Smoke no poke
 
wardy2602's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Polished metal Type-S
Join Date: 29th November 2009
Location: stoke-on-trent, uk ENGLAND
Posts: 3,589
Thanks: 699
Thanked 870 Times in 733 Posts
iTrader: (46)
key

Yeh its a doddle fella
the battery you need is CR1616 3V CELL BATTERY

Quick link to a ye old faithful auction site
CR1616 1616 3V VOLT ENERGIZER LITHIUM CELL BATTERY | eBay

You could by a cheaper one but personally wouldn't

If you need any more help mate give us a shout
wardy2602 is offline  
Thanks to wardy2602 from:
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th December 2013, 20:21 Thread Starter
I-Vtec... Do you?
** Thread starter **
 
Dwyer9's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 1.8 Type S-GT, Red
Join Date: 4th September 2010
Location: Bristol, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,728
Thanks: 133
Thanked 100 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Send a message via Yahoo to Dwyer9
Quote:
Originally Posted by wardy2602 View Post
Yeh its a doddle fella
the battery you need is CR1616 3V CELL BATTERY

Quick link to a ye old faithful auction site
CR1616 1616 3V VOLT ENERGIZER LITHIUM CELL BATTERY | eBay

You could by a cheaper one but personally wouldn't

If you need any more help mate give us a shout

Top man thanks



Sent from my iPhone
Dwyer9 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 17th February 2014, 21:34
Supporter
 
silverbawz's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 FR 150 ACT
Join Date: 11th November 2010
Location: inverclyde SCOTLAND
Posts: 307
Thanks: 20
Thanked 74 Times in 73 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Been having the same problem's with my keyfob.
Did replacement battery solve the problem.
silverbawz is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 18th February 2014, 22:54
Supporter
 
tomtank62's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 1.8i Navi, White
Join Date: 21st December 2006
Location: Harrogate. North Yorks ENGLAND
Posts: 283
Thanks: 13
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverbawz View Post
Been having the same problem's with my keyfob.
Did replacement battery solve the problem.
Hi, I had the following problems.
Would come to the car and the fob wouldn't unlock or lock the car. No red light on the fob. Press it 10 or 20 times and it would suddenly work ok. No problems for a few days, then the same problem would happen. This happened for a few weeks until I changed the battery in the fob, no more problems since.
Funny thing was that the spare wouldn't work. The battery in the spare, which has never been taken out of the drawer, went flat before the one used every day.
tomtank62 is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 18th February 2014, 23:08
No Smoke no poke
 
wardy2602's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Polished metal Type-S
Join Date: 29th November 2009
Location: stoke-on-trent, uk ENGLAND
Posts: 3,589
Thanks: 699
Thanked 870 Times in 733 Posts
iTrader: (46)
Funny old things batteries mate, sometimes though it can be a dry joint on the board for one of the buttons my locksmith says that's more common than changing the battery!!

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
wardy2602 is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 18th February 2014, 23:39
Supporter
 
Craigieboy902's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16th October 2012
Location: Dundee SCOTLAND
Posts: 996
Thanks: 140
Thanked 180 Times in 171 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Time for a new battery aswell me thinks.
Craigieboy902 is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 19th February 2014, 22:40
Supporter
 
silverbawz's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 FR 150 ACT
Join Date: 11th November 2010
Location: inverclyde SCOTLAND
Posts: 307
Thanks: 20
Thanked 74 Times in 73 Posts
iTrader: (2)
New duracell battery fitted tonight seem's fine now hopefully that be end of the problem.
silverbawz is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Lane change indicator intermittant julioarca Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 8 25th July 2011 14:57

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome