Satnav Backing up the satnav DVD-ROM - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 9th September 2006, 21:45 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 9th September 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Backing up the satnav DVD-ROM

Has anyone backed up the satnav DVD-ROM?

I thought it would be a good idea to make a backup copy of the provided disc, I don't want it to get corrupted in any way and have to pay (I'm guessing) £100 or more for another.

I discovered when I put the disc into my PC that Honda use a Dual Layer DVD. What I could not discern was if the disk is a DVD-R or DVD+R. I'm guessing -R as +R is not an industry supported format.

Does anyone know?
Skinhead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 9th September 2006, 23:20
12th June 2006 1.8EX
 
WoolyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th May 2006
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Welcome Skinhead, look at this http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=142764 it talks of Alpine Smart Map Pro but it is the same DVD player unit so the same answer should apply.
WoolyCiv is offline  
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 07:57 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th September 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So it looks like DL DVD-R is the solution.

I've ordered some, should get them in a couple of days, I'll let the forum know how I get on.

Cheers!
Skinhead is offline  
 
post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 08:50
 
AubreyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th August 2006
Posts: 463
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Are you able just to copy the disc to your hard drive?
AubreyS is offline  
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 08:59 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th September 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I haven't tried to back up to my HD, but don't see why I shouldn't. However unless I can copy on to a media that the DVD reader in the car will accept, there isn't that much point on having it on my HD.

I wonder if the DVD-ROM did get corrupted, would it be covered in the 3 year warranty?
Skinhead is offline  
post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 09:40
 
Join Date: 4th July 2006
Posts: 336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinhead
I haven't tried to back up to my HD, but don't see why I shouldn't. However unless I can copy on to a media that the DVD reader in the car will accept, there isn't that much point on having it on my HD.

I wonder if the DVD-ROM did get corrupted, would it be covered in the 3 year warranty?
I can't see it getting 'corrupted', but maybe damaged or stolen.

Ian
Parky is offline  
post #7 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 10:30 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th September 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
DVDs aren't as resilient as we would hope. Consider that the DVD-ROM will be left in the car all the time, in winter and in summer, it is quite possible that the variations in temperature will take their toll on the disc.
Skinhead is offline  
post #8 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 11:14
 
Join Date: 4th July 2006
Posts: 336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinhead
DVDs aren't as resilient as we would hope. Consider that the DVD-ROM will be left in the car all the time, in winter and in summer, it is quite possible that the variations in temperature will take their toll on the disc.
Exactly it will be damaged, but not corrupted.

Corrupted by definition means the data on the disc has been changed in some way, but in this case that is not possible as the disc does not get written to or changed.

It can be damaged making it unreadable, but that is not the same as 'corrupted', which implies that the disc will be written to causing carruption to the data.

Ian
Parky is offline  
post #9 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 11:22
Cad
estranged
 
Cad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th June 2006
Location: Upstairs GB
Posts: 391
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinhead
So it looks like DL DVD-R is the solution.

I've ordered some, should get them in a couple of days, I'll let the forum know how I get on.

Cheers!
I've ordered a 5-pack too. Let's hope I can get a working copy out of one of them!
Cad is offline  
post #10 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 12:45 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 9th September 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinhead
DVDs aren't as resilient as we would hope. Consider that the DVD-ROM will be left in the car all the time, in winter and in summer, it is quite possible that the variations in temperature will take their toll on the disc.
Exactly it will be damaged, but not corrupted.

Corrupted by definition means the data on the disc has been changed in some way, but in this case that is not possible as the disc does not get written to or changed.

It can be damaged making it unreadable, but that is not the same as 'corrupted', which implies that the disc will be written to causing carruption to the data.

Ian
Okay, strictly speaking you are correct. To me "damaged" would imply that it had been taken out of the drive and been scratched through carelessness etc. Which would mean Honda would not be obliged to replace the disc. It implies a wilful act. But no matter, I just want to be able to have a backup copy. (When I searched for this software from Navteq, it costs £250!)
Skinhead is offline  
post #11 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 23:07
Supporter
 
Fedorov's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 Diesel, Sporty Blue
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Anyone know when a 2006 edition of the SatNav DVD is due for release, they mentioned "Autumn"....
Fedorov is offline  
post #12 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 23:12
 
Join Date: 16th June 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
it dosn`t matter if its a +R or -R thats just for the compatability with the writing drive, once written and finalised the discs will work in any drive
civicsport is offline  
post #13 of 40 (permalink) Old 10th September 2006, 23:34
12th June 2006 1.8EX
 
WoolyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th May 2006
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by civicsport
it dosn`t matter if its a +R or -R thats just for the compatability with the writing drive, once written and finalised the discs will work in any drive
I would agree with you but these guys (http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=142764) seem to have had a problem playing back the +R's on the Alpine drive.
WoolyCiv is offline  
post #14 of 40 (permalink) Old 11th September 2006, 13:04
Supporter
 
Maldax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th June 2006
Location: Reading, Berks GB
Posts: 1,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Maldax
I was hoping on backing mine up as soon as I get it! How much data is on the drive? does it need to be DL?
Maldax is offline  
post #15 of 40 (permalink) Old 11th September 2006, 13:49
Cad
estranged
 
Cad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th June 2006
Location: Upstairs GB
Posts: 391
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have the DVD files backed up onto my HD, and the size is reported as 7.35GB.
Cad is offline  
post #16 of 40 (permalink) Old 12th September 2006, 13:32
Cad
estranged
 
Cad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th June 2006
Location: Upstairs GB
Posts: 391
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Performed a DVD backup today, and all is well.

I've tested the copy on a short trip, and it all seems in order. I'll keep the original in the car for a short while, in case of any failures, but then it'll go into my cabinet.

I used the following kit:

Nero 7 Premium - DVD copy at safe (slowest) setting. I chose to keep the image rather than delete it.
NEC 4571A DVD Recorder.
Verbatim DVD-R 4x Dual Layer (Nero chose to burn it at 6x for some reason).

Image copy time was around 10 minutes, and the burn time was about 24 minutes.

Edit: Forgot to add that the blank DVD wouldn't initialise when I tried to copy the image to my LiteOn SOHW-1633S burner (apparently it can only burn +R discs). Luckily I had the NEC fitted too.
Cad is offline  
post #17 of 40 (permalink) Old 12th September 2006, 13:54
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
nice one

always handy to have a backup - or at very least, know of someone who knows how to
TTDegs is offline  
post #18 of 40 (permalink) Old 12th September 2006, 14:39
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
Anyone buying the 2006 edition?
basegreen is offline  
post #19 of 40 (permalink) Old 12th September 2006, 14:40
Cad
estranged
 
Cad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th June 2006
Location: Upstairs GB
Posts: 391
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I will... if there's a significant improvement in the POI and map data.
Cad is offline  
post #20 of 40 (permalink) Old 12th September 2006, 16:29
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by basegreen
Anyone buying the 2006 edition?
purely out of interest, obviously
TTDegs is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satnav Another Bug with SatNav waran Electronics (8G) 23 20th August 2007 16:21
Add-on nav Which combi SatNav? prawncracker Electronics (8G) 12 7th June 2007 11:24
Who's Backing Civinfo? Honcho Any non Civic chat here please! 41 11th November 2006 04:36
Satnav satnav DUNCAN Electronics (8G) 34 7th August 2006 08:55
Satnav satnav DUNCAN Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 2 2nd July 2006 23:23

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome