TMC TMC always red - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 8th February 2014, 22:19 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 8th January 2014
Location: bideford ENGLAND
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (1)
TMC always red

As title, the little TMC indicator is always red, never seen it green.
Is it because I don't live in the city or is it faulty?
sat nav works ok.
any advice?
niteram is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 9th February 2014, 00:32
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
What does the manual say.
Grayfox is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 9th February 2014, 07:00
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
There are a few threads here regarding getting into the SatNav diagnostics section. Once there you can watch the system rotate round the radio stations frequencies trying to pick up a valid TMC 'provider'.

It's either not finding a 'provider' or it is but that station is not transmitting.
Kremmen is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 9th February 2014, 11:32 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 8th January 2014
Location: bideford ENGLAND
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (1)
tried the diagnostics, looks to be out of range of signal. will have to see how it goes on a journey back to civilization
niteram is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 9th February 2014, 14:48
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Surprising as quite a few FM stations are enrolled into the scheme.

TBH I only use the built in traffic as a backup now. I'm running a Garmin 2597LMT linked to their SmartLink service that comes in via my mobile. That traffic updates every 2 minutes compared to the built in 15 minutes and covers considerably more roads.

AFAIK Inrix provide the Garmin traffic and you can get a free mobile app to see how good it is.
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome