Satnav Satnav display on EX question - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 19th February 2008, 22:59 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
RobSp8's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 EX Galaxy grey
Join Date: 12th February 2008
Location: Bridgend, UK GB
Posts: 144
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Satnav display on EX question

Hi all. Recently bought a Civic EX. While impressed with the sat nav obviously don't need it all the time (I know the way to work, thanks). So, as an experiment, didn't press the ENT button to show the map when the Sat Nav started up the other day. After a while the screen turned itself off. "Excellent!" I thought, until the windows started to fog up. Couldn't tell what mode, etc I had the heater/AC on cos the information is on the Sat Nav screen, which was off. I had to bring up the Sat Nav to be sure of what I was doing with the heater controls. My question is- can you get the screen to come on & display something other than the Sat Nav map, the radio information for example? Thanks to anyone who can help.
RobSp8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 19th February 2008, 23:15
mac
 
Join Date: 25th September 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yeah just press Audio instead of the ENT button to get to the radio/cd screen.
I think you do the same with Climate.
mac is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 19th February 2008, 23:31 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
RobSp8's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 EX Galaxy grey
Join Date: 12th February 2008
Location: Bridgend, UK GB
Posts: 144
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac View Post
Yeah just press Audio instead of the ENT button to get to the radio/cd screen.
I think you do the same with Climate.
Thanks. I ws hoping there would be a way to set it to just display that when the key is turned without having to press anything.
RobSp8 is offline  
 
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 07:15
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
On the other side though - if you just press the 'Auto' button it shouldn't fog up in the first place
Kremmen is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 09:12
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
How do you get rid of the annoying press enter to confirm acceptance, surely you can get round this??? (There was a thread I though but can't now find it.)

Tom
Unknownsoldier is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 09:28
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
There have been a few threads around this and not for want of trying this has not been achieved yet - unfortunately
Kremmen is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 09:29
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It is annoying though isn't it!, I hate it, I really do, I'm not a moron and I don't think I have be reminded everytime I drive not to take my eyes of the road, the glovebox and boot don't come with similar warnings.

ATB,
Tom
Unknownsoldier is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 09:40
 
Join Date: 7th December 2007
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
it is annoying but is it really that much of a pain? on the grand scheme of things i dont think its worth the time spent to find out if its possible to bipass

i find it more of a pain when passengers sit in the front and start pushing the buttons assuming they know exactly what each button does, but alas they dont and annoy me (they are now banned from touching the dash)
jaydh is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 09:45
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydh View Post
it is annoying but is it really that much of a pain? on the grand scheme of things i dont think its worth the time spent to find out if its possible to bipass

i find it more of a pain when passengers sit in the front and start pushing the buttons assuming they know exactly what each button does, but alas they dont and annoy me (they are now banned from touching the dash)
By that poit though no one would ever have climbed everest or discovered America (fair enough on the second one, you may have a point ), but surely, because it's there is enough reason!!??

Tom
Unknownsoldier is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 09:48
 
Join Date: 7th December 2007
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
for the point of proving to honda the europeans arnt stupid, its worth it true

although i was recently in an american civic coupe with satnav, and i dont remember the warning screen when starting the car...i think they put the feature on the wrong continent
jaydh is offline  
post #11 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 09:54
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It because they don't expect the owners to read....... oooooh bit too far, lol

Tom
Unknownsoldier is offline  
post #12 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 13:35 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
RobSp8's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 EX Galaxy grey
Join Date: 12th February 2008
Location: Bridgend, UK GB
Posts: 144
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
On the other side though - if you just press the 'Auto' button it shouldn't fog up in the first place
True. Does the climate control drain more power/use more fuel? I always found with my '03 Type S that with the cc set to auto I seemed to use more petrol? Thanks for all the responses guys.
RobSp8 is offline  
post #13 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 13:45
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I haven't noticed much difference with it on or off, I still get about 39mpg although the trip computer insists it's more like 44mpg.
Kremmen is offline  
post #14 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 15:32
 
Join Date: 19th March 2007
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire
Posts: 148
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The "Press Enter" screen is required by law, so there is no way around it.

It is basically you taking responsibility for using the Sat Nav while driving etc as that screen states you should only operate it whilst parked!

It does pee me off though having to do it each time!
liamcalland is offline  
post #15 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 21:38
Supporter
 
Bob H's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th October 2007
Location: Jersey GB
Posts: 873
Thanks: 32
Thanked 85 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by liamcalland View Post
The "Press Enter" screen is required by law, so there is no way around it.

It is basically you taking responsibility for using the Sat Nav while driving etc as that screen states you should only operate it whilst parked!

It does pee me off though having to do it each time!

Guess we can blame our American cousins for this, what with all the litigation etc Honda need to cover themselves... Remember the case of someone suing a microwave oven manufacturer? The user used the oven for drying off her cat which subsequently died! She successfully sued as there was no warning of drying pets in the owners handbook!!!

Cheers,


Bob...
Bob H is offline  
post #16 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 21:51
Supporter
 
Jack The Lad.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2007
Location: ENGLAND ENGLAND
Posts: 4,441
Thanks: 21
Thanked 274 Times in 266 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Gordon Bennett, is the world going mad, or am I just becoming a grumpy old f-rt.
Does anyone remember the film -- "Its a mad mad mad mad world".
It certainly is.

Think I will sue the breeder who sold us our Westie, as they didn't inform me he needed a haircut twice a year.

Last edited by Jack The Lad.; 20th February 2008 at 21:54.
Jack The Lad. is offline  
post #17 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 22:06
Supporter
 
Bob H's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th October 2007
Location: Jersey GB
Posts: 873
Thanks: 32
Thanked 85 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack The Lad. View Post
Gordon Bennett, is the world going mad, or am I just becoming a grumpy old f-rt.
Does anyone remember the film -- "Its a mad mad mad mad world".
It certainly is.

Think I will sue the breeder who sold us our Westie, as they didn't inform me he needed a haircut twice a year.
JTL,

Going off the original post here but if you think its a mad world take a look at this The man who sued his dry-cleaner for $65,500,000…(do pants cost that much?) My Little Corner for Thoughts and Rants think you are right..

Cheers,


Bob...
Bob H is offline  
post #18 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th February 2008, 22:24
Supporter
 
Jack The Lad.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2007
Location: ENGLAND ENGLAND
Posts: 4,441
Thanks: 21
Thanked 274 Times in 266 Posts
iTrader: (0)
My screen freezes when I click on your link Bob. ??
Remind me to sue my ISP.
Jack The Lad. is offline  
post #19 of 30 (permalink) Old 21st February 2008, 10:13 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
RobSp8's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 EX Galaxy grey
Join Date: 12th February 2008
Location: Bridgend, UK GB
Posts: 144
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
I haven't noticed much difference with it on or off, I still get about 39mpg although the trip computer insists it's more like 44mpg.
44mpg? I'm lucky if mine reads more than 36mpg for any length of time. Although I'm sure my driving style has more than a little to do with that
RobSp8 is offline  
post #20 of 30 (permalink) Old 21st February 2008, 13:19
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Correct

My daily journey at the stupid times of day before you lot are awake takes in 95% of dual carriageways and motorways. I hardly stop or even get below 50mph on my way into the workhouse.

My journey home is not too bad on most days either.

In every car I've had since doing this journey I've always managed to beat the manufacturers figures by about 4 or 5mpg. Not with the Civic though, always under what they reckon.

I reckon the trip comp is sniffing the exhaust fumes too much !
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://www.civinfo.com/forum/electronics-8g/11749-satnav-display-ex-question.html
Posted By For Type Date
Untitled document This thread Refback 23rd February 2008 23:43

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satnav Carputer - satnav display 'frame' Fatia_Negra Electronics (8G) 6 7th February 2008 07:33
Add-on nav Satnav question rikkiola Electronics (8G) 3 4th October 2007 10:08
Speedo Display true speed (Satnav models only) Pottsy Electronics (8G) 0 16th July 2007 16:21
Add-on nav Not another satnav question TimV-W Electronics (8G) 16 15th June 2007 20:03
Satnav Question regarding your satnav manual? CivPilot Electronics (8G) 3 22nd May 2006 11:29

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome