Warnings Tyre pressure - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 6th March 2008, 08:20 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
gm1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th February 2008
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus CY
Posts: 325
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Lightbulb Tyre pressure

Is it possible to monitor tire pressure through Civic's Sat/Nav screen?
gm1980 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 6th March 2008, 09:00
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
no

feel like I ought to write more, but that's it, sorry!
TTDegs is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 6th March 2008, 15:42
 
Charles_Harding's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th August 2006
Location: S.E. London ENGLAND
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 113
Thanked 42 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It seems as though it could be done if Honda just let you.

I'm sure that one time when I was playing around with the Sat Nav it mentioned tyre pressures on the screen at one time.

I would think that it may be available on some other Honda vehicles.

......but not on the Civ

......yet!

"I've just learnt about his illness.
Let's hope that it is nothing trivial!"
Charles_Harding is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 6th March 2008, 16:24
Civic's got Big Booty !
 
csmcqueen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th January 2008
Location: Corby, Northants, UK GB
Posts: 184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (1)
That all depends on Honda putting the transmitters in the wheels.

I haven't had the thing long enough to check but would say if they were to go to the expense of fitting them to the wheels then they would definitely display them somewhere.
csmcqueen is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 6th March 2008, 18:17
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
There are some aftermarket kits available, but it will be on a seperate display then...



FWH is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 6th March 2008, 23:24
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles_Harding View Post
It seems as though it could be done if Honda just let you.

I'm sure that one time when I was playing around with the Sat Nav it mentioned tyre pressures on the screen at one time.
close Charles, but no I'm afraid

the screen in the sat nav is to allow you to change the default diameter of the wheels.
Which is used to keep the "you are here" marker moving even when you're in a tunnel with no GPS reception.

That's Tunnel though, not CHunnel mind
TTDegs is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 7th March 2008, 07:26
ASH
 
ASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th September 2007
Location: London GB
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
On Satnav screen, no.

If one tyre puressure is much lower than others, would VSA warning come on because it monitors each wheel rotation?
I tought that's how "indirect" tyre pressure monitor system worked, though now the "direct" method, with wheel trasmitter, seems to be more popular particularly in North America.
ASH is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 7th March 2008, 09:06
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Ash - I don't think the VSA kicks in unfortunately

I had a puncture a few months back, and the pressure dropped down to about 10psi - no warnings though.

Admitedly I noticed fairly quicky and wasn't doing high speeds at the time.
TTDegs is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Type R Tyre Pressure ? Munro Type-R 34 16th April 2008 13:31
Tyre Life Another tyre with a nail / Poor tyre wear, What should I do nelster Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 3 6th March 2008 09:46
Tyre Pressure Tyre pressure at dealers smb09_1999 Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 8 27th June 2007 06:55
Tyre Pressure Pressure wash warning allan40alt Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 10 30th January 2007 20:54
Oil CDTI Oil Pressure tonx90 Engines and Transmission (8G) 3 17th April 2006 15:58

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome