Satnav v 3.22 Improvements - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 105 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2008, 07:21 Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
v 3.22 Improvements

I've had v 3.22 loaded for 24hrs and I have already noticed some improvements over my old 3.05:

I may be dreaming some of these but I've not noticed them before.
  • At roundabouts, in routing mode, when the split screen appears, it now shows an overlay of the actual road layout, your suggested route/exit and it further overlays and updates your position whilst navigating the roundabout. 3.0x, it just showed a white direction arrow on blue background.
  • All turnings, motorway direction splits (double arrows) and exits now have a continually updated mileage countdown graphic in addition to the reducing bar scale of previous.
  • When you further examine an item in the Traffic Event List it now shows the detail differently (on a white background) which is easier to take in when driving (text to speech here would be a nice enhancement for the future though).
  • When changing the map scale it now shows a TMC indicator bar to show at what scale it will be considered out of bounds.
  • (not sure whether this one is new) The top and lower popup text about where you are and where the next direction change is, is now in a Windows Vista style see-through overlay, I thought it was a solid graphic before?
  • (another not sure) When I set the routing to home it showed me a shortest route that was shorter than the fastest route. I'm sure both fastest and shortest were the same route before. I'll test this properly at the weekend, not holding my breath on this one though.
  • The map looks slightly different but I can't put my finger on it yet.
Any more I haven't spotted yet?
Kremmen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 105 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2008, 13:00
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
This thread is useless without pics!

I'm still on 3.02(?), but...
  • roundabouts - I get the overhead view of the roundabout, showing all the exits and the one to take. It doesn't change the pic as I drive round (that I've noticed!), but I do get the 'next exit' voice
  • exit countdown - not sure what you mean there sorry!
  • Traffic Event List - I keep on meaning to look at that - but never get round to it...
  • TMC out of bounds - that's a nice one
  • vista pop-ups. No, sorry, mine are translucent too
  • updated routing - def worth holding your breath for!
  • Don't - or you'll leave a smudge
TTDegs is offline  
post #3 of 105 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2008, 13:19 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thought you might say that

I don't use the routing part very much so I don't take a great deal of notice. I did say some of it might be dreamland.

Taking piccies is a tad difficult when in motion so this will need someone else who has a passenger.

On the roundabout scenario, I was sure my previous version used a pre-drawn blue/white graphic of how the entry and exit looked and used a popup of the nearest one it had to show where the exit was in relation to the entry? This new version uses an actual portion of the NavTeq map and overlays your route onto the actual road structure and has a little red chevron follow you round.

Exit countdown:

----------
| 0.5 mile |
----------

----------
| 0.4 mile |
----------

etc

------------
| 250 yards |
------------

etc

Never noticed that on my previous version.

On the routing front, I've just been down the carpark and plotted a few destinations around the country and in the majority of cases the shortest route is now shorter than the fastest route

I will know for sure whether it's changed when I test at the weekend because I know the shortest route from Chez Krem to the mother-in-laws is circa 104 miles. The old version reckoned it was 127 miles and kept me on the motorways as much as possible throughout.
TomTom got it right and took me cross country.

I could have sworn that the top graphic that appears from time to time to inform of the next turning point used to obliterate that part of the map - but again I'm probably dreaming again.

I'll take some piccies of what I can with the car stationary.
Kremmen is offline  
 
post #4 of 105 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2008, 14:23
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Nice one Krem

I will do likewise - though it could be a while as I'm working from home at the mo, and the nearest roundabout is a ways away
TTDegs is offline  
post #5 of 105 (permalink) Old 3rd April 2008, 23:58
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
here are my shots from 3.02

apols for the rubbish quality - first chance I got was when it was dark, and despite pulling over to take them (obviously), my phone was struggling

But what we can see is (if you squint!)
countdown distance to the roundabout - changed from 300 yards to 100 yards.
The pic of the roundabout itself.
The translucent upper and lower 'bars'.

What I couldn't get a pic of was that whilst driving round the roundabout, I didn't get the red dot thing. (though this may have been becuase I confused it when parking in a smallish space to take the pic - back and fore to squeeze in.

When I took the left turn after the roundabout, the red dot did appear on the righthand side map.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Photo-0084.jpg (11.9 KB, 233 views)
File Type: jpg Photo-0085.jpg (13.5 KB, 126 views)
File Type: jpg Photo-0087.jpg (13.3 KB, 108 views)
TTDegs is offline  
post #6 of 105 (permalink) Old 4th April 2008, 00:35
Foglight Covers FORSALE
 
gray52's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd November 2006
Location: East Anglia EUROPEANUNION
Posts: 3,170
Thanks: 67
Thanked 130 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader: (60)
also ive noticed more road names are shown when you are driving.
gray52 is offline  
post #7 of 105 (permalink) Old 4th April 2008, 07:13 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks TT, you have confirmed a few of my suspicions.

1) The "Albany Road' does indeed cover the map, the new setup uses the same style of see-through graphic (ala Vista Aero) that you currently see at the bottom for this so you can still see where your going.

2) Your roundabout overlay is a perfect circle as you would expect from a pre-drawn graphic. It now uses the actual NavTeq map overlay so you see the actual layout of the roundabout beit round, oval or whatever.

Here are a few poor quality phone camera ones I took this morning, I will do a better job tomorrow if need be (answers on a postcard) :

1) Is the new TMC header when you change scale
2) What is the asterix for ? Was it there before ?
3) The new Traffic Event List detail screen.

Quote:
also ive noticed more road names are shown when you are driving.
Not noticed that one yet but I usually tool around at the ½mile scale so I don't get many road names anyway.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image001.jpg (38.5 KB, 130 views)
File Type: jpg Image002.jpg (62.4 KB, 132 views)
File Type: jpg Image003.jpg (56.2 KB, 139 views)

Last edited by Kremmen; 4th April 2008 at 07:18.
Kremmen is offline  
post #8 of 105 (permalink) Old 4th April 2008, 07:59
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Nice one Kremmen!
TTDegs is offline  
post #9 of 105 (permalink) Old 4th April 2008, 19:30 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Might have spotted a downside, or I've not installed properly:

On the 3.05, when TMC identified a problem the road in question got a red shadow line for the length of the problem on the appropriate side of the road.

I am now only getting a warning triangle at the start of the problem with no red shadow bars/roads.

Anyone confirm this ?
Kremmen is offline  
post #10 of 105 (permalink) Old 4th April 2008, 20:19
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
no shadow on 3.02... (that I've ever noticed anyway)
TTDegs is offline  
post #11 of 105 (permalink) Old 4th April 2008, 20:59
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Kremmen - the red shadow only appears (3.06) when the TMC event includes data that in the format "blockage between x and y" so some just don't do it. You also need to be zoomed in quite close. Would be a shame if it has gone though, it was useful.
Pottsy is offline  
post #12 of 105 (permalink) Old 4th April 2008, 21:50 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I was on the M25 today and as usual for a Friday it was chocka. The jam was from J12 to J16.

I had the warning triangle at J12 but that was it, no lines. I did try zooming right in. The Traffic Event List had the jam correctly identified.

Either they've stopped it (it did look messy with it) or my firmware isn't compatible now ?

The only thing I didn't try was to plot my route and see if the actual light blue route turned red.
Kremmen is offline  
post #13 of 105 (permalink) Old 4th April 2008, 22:41 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Just been out and reverted back to v 3.05 and the road side bars are back

Fortunately managed to trap a local jam near Heathrow along the A4. So have they deliberately removed them ?

I relied on that display quite a lot as it informed me where to join the M25.

My Firmware version is now back to 1.56F from the newer 2.01
Kremmen is offline  
post #14 of 105 (permalink) Old 4th April 2008, 22:58
Foglight Covers FORSALE
 
gray52's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd November 2006
Location: East Anglia EUROPEANUNION
Posts: 3,170
Thanks: 67
Thanked 130 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader: (60)
i wil check mine in the morning, but i did find the line on the road abit hard to see when the road is also in red.
gray52 is offline  
post #15 of 105 (permalink) Old 4th April 2008, 23:07 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Another oddity :

On the 3.05 disc I am getting just a few Traffic Events listed nationwide, which I would expect at this time of night.

The 3.22 is producing about 60 events, nationwide with most of them having that asterix that I posted earlier. Some of the events are quite close to me so I can easily compare. I wonder what the asterix signifies and why are the 2 versions producing different event results ?

After each installation the system is rebooting and the TMC then has it's 30 second delay before it catches a station so it's not as if it's remembering any.

I reckon 3.22 has an issue with TMC, everything else seems to be working fine.

I will reload 3.22 tomorrow as I want to know if the fast/shortest routing has been sorted, then I need to make a decision which version to run with.
Kremmen is offline  
post #16 of 105 (permalink) Old 5th April 2008, 00:11
 
oldmanchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16th February 2008
Location: Bexleyheath ENGLAND
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've just picked up the sat nav dvd disks that were missing when I collected my Type R 3 weeks ago and they are version 3.23!!

As no one on here has mentioned that 3.22 is due to be replaced in the near future should I question the dealer?
oldmanchris is offline  
post #17 of 105 (permalink) Old 5th April 2008, 00:34
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
There was a menion of 3.23 being available outside UK...

but that's it so far!

so, sounds like you got a result

Can you compare it to Kremen's 3.22 results for us (please!)
TTDegs is offline  
post #18 of 105 (permalink) Old 5th April 2008, 00:47
 
oldmanchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16th February 2008
Location: Bexleyheath ENGLAND
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'll have a look if I get time later today. It will take a bit of time as this is the first time I have seen the civic sat nav in action and I have no knowledge of previous versions.
oldmanchris is offline  
post #19 of 105 (permalink) Old 5th April 2008, 00:48
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
interestingly just did a google for any info on 3.23

no real hits, but a couple of familiar names on a thread in pocketgpsworld!

you both probably know who you are
TTDegs is offline  
post #20 of 105 (permalink) Old 5th April 2008, 00:48
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldmanchris View Post
I'll have a look if I get time later today. It will take a bit of time as this is the first time I have seen the civic sat nav in action and I have no knowledge of previous versions.
cheers Chris
TTDegs is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Styling improvements gapos Greece 17111 Today 08:13
HUK Improvements for the next model year Pottsy Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 256 6th January 2014 23:05
I-Shift improvements SPQRCivic Wiki Article Discussion 0 28th March 2008 14:54
Other Civic Improvements ALoureiro Gallery (8G) 7 14th October 2007 13:06
HUK Customer suggested improvements being fed back to HUK (split posts) Topcat Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 18 18th June 2007 12:18

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome