Parking "Muting the radio" questions - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 14th April 2008, 23:47 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 17th February 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
"Muting the radio" questions

Hi, I was wondering if there is a way to mute the radio when putting the reverse gear and when the park distance control activates?
Even at moderate volume it's quite hard for me to hear the beep...
Turning down the volume everytime is somehwat anoying.

A more general question, does the music (CD) also pause when a mute signal comes in, e.g. HFT, or does it just turn off the sound??

In combination with this, as I have absolutely no clue about electronics, I would like to know, how the muting works? Is this a constant signal, thus signal start, the muting starts and when the signal ends, the muting does the same, or is it just an impulse to mute and another to unmute?


P.S. Turning the radio completely off is no alternative as I don't like the resume time of MP3 CDs when the radio was turned off.
DynoFK2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 15th April 2008, 17:34
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
No mute function, you have to turn the volume down.
Unless you "hack" into the electronics and do something clever...



FWH is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 15th April 2008, 17:42 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 17th February 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
No, not by the original installation. I wondered to put a cable, lets say from the rear lights or from the speaker or something to the mute pin on the radio, just like doing this with an HFT.
Or would there be problems due to different voltages?
DynoFK2 is offline  
 
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 16th April 2008, 09:18
p64
Ezermester
 
p64's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2007
Location: MS SI
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
OEM HFT does stop the CD. It has been writen a lot about using the HFT mute pin, but I don't know if it works on non-sat HUs.

Andrej
p64 is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 16th April 2008, 11:11
Supporter
 
spile's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th January 2007
Location: Midlands
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Just hit the off button - it is quicker than turning down the voolume.
spile is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 16th April 2008, 12:23 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 17th February 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spile View Post
Just hit the off button - it is quicker than turning down the voolume.
My answer to this: Please read the P.S. message at my first post
DynoFK2 is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 16th April 2008, 20:58
p64
Ezermester
 
p64's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2007
Location: MS SI
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It does the same when resuming after a phonecall. Too long...

LP
p64 is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 16th April 2008, 21:09 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 17th February 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Concerning resume after phone calls, this is not good.
But when putting the reverse gear, I usually don't do this when I want to continue driving, so it doesn't really matter. But in these modern times, needing to push a button (or turning down the volume) to better hear the sound of the PDC is no acceptable situation IMHO
It sure is feasible without any effort, but it bothers me nevertheless. Particularly because I feel distracted by it from the "driving procedure". Backing up with the Civic is in my eyes some sort of game play... The huge C-pillar does easily swallow a motorcycle or even a car. So I want the PDC directly at full presence with no distraction by music or pushing a button or turning a wheel.
DynoFK2 is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 16th April 2008, 21:29
Supporter
 
Nemesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th March 2008
Location: Wearside, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 155
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So another question... Do the beeps from the sensors come from only one speaker? My current car uses the stereo speakers and if the sensor at the back left picks up something, the back left speaker bleeps (while reducing the stereo volume ) if it's in the middle, both speakers bleep etc.
Nemesis is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 16th April 2008, 21:34
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemesis View Post
So another question... Do the beeps from the sensors come from only one speaker? My current car uses the stereo speakers and if the sensor at the back left picks up something, the back left speaker bleeps (while reducing the stereo volume ) if it's in the middle, both speakers bleep etc.
Just one speaker.



FWH is offline  
post #11 of 27 (permalink) Old 16th April 2008, 21:41
Supporter
 
Nemesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th March 2008
Location: Wearside, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 155
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Boo!
Nemesis is offline  
post #12 of 27 (permalink) Old 16th April 2008, 22:54
Supporter
 
davidj241's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th July 2007
Location: St.Neots, Cambridgeshire ENGLAND
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Reversing Sensors

Does anyone know where the speaker for the reversing sensor is situated - I too have found the volume to low, and was wondering if it is possible to move it to a more prominent position. - My car boot is crammed full of tools and equipment ( after all it is a work car ) at the moment and I haven't had the opportunity to search for it.
davidj241 is offline  
post #13 of 27 (permalink) Old 17th April 2008, 12:39
Supporter
 
spile's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th January 2007
Location: Midlands
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DynoFK2 View Post
My answer to this: Please read the P.S. message at my first post
ooops - memo to self...
"Read posts more carefully before replying"
spile is offline  
post #14 of 27 (permalink) Old 18th April 2008, 07:03
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
A mute button that just puts a CD on hold would be a good facility.

I just keep pressing the steering wheel volume button until it's very low.
Kremmen is offline  
post #15 of 27 (permalink) Old 18th April 2008, 08:01
Supporter
 
Nemesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th March 2008
Location: Wearside, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 155
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
A mute button that just puts a CD on hold would be a good facility.

I just keep pressing the steering wheel volume button until it's very low.
Have you tried pressing the Vol Up & Vol Down buttons together - that's how I can pause/mute my current car stereo???
Nemesis is offline  
post #16 of 27 (permalink) Old 18th April 2008, 08:50
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemesis View Post
Have you tried pressing the Vol Up & Vol Down buttons together - that's how I can pause/mute my current car stereo???
It is a rocker switch kind of thing - so you cant.



FWH is offline  
post #17 of 27 (permalink) Old 22nd April 2008, 12:59
Supporter
 
spile's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th January 2007
Location: Midlands
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
A mute button that just puts a CD on hold would be a good facility.
That is what the off button does.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
I just keep pressing the steering wheel volume button until it's very low.
Easier to hit OFF.
spile is offline  
post #18 of 27 (permalink) Old 22nd April 2008, 17:33 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 17th February 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spile View Post
That is what the off button does.
Not really... It does this and more Because just putting the CD on hold would not require that much time to restart playback as it takes when turning the radio off
DynoFK2 is offline  
post #19 of 27 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 07:19
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spile View Post
That is what the off button does.



Easier to hit OFF.
Don't think so, that is the point of the original post, hitting the Off button means that a .mp3 CD then needs to rescan the CD, which can take up to 30 secs to start playing again, which is what we want to avoid.

Radio or normal .cda CD is quite quick at resuming normal play.

Enhancement for Civic with voice recognition - "Shut Up" & "Carry On"
Kremmen is offline  
post #20 of 27 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 09:51
Supporter
 
spile's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th January 2007
Location: Midlands
Posts: 308
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It works for me, a music CD re engages after around 10 secs and an MP3 (full) takes around 20sec.
VMMV
spile is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phone Blackberry 8300 "Curve" %$'[email protected]^ pairing with Bluetooth BlacknBlue Electronics (8G) 8 7th August 2009 11:45
Radio Radio "news"feature James K Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 0 18th March 2008 10:25
Phone pairing sony t68i ok, but voice says "no phone found"? psykik Electronics (8G) 5 29th November 2007 14:00
Tyre Choice Warning! "Fake" tyres being sold (including Goodyear F1) Pottsy Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 16 5th October 2007 11:43
Satnav "No DVD Disc Installed. Please Check System." Error message BobTheLoveGoat Electronics (8G) 2 30th March 2007 20:28

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome