Electrics Where to pass a wire from the engine bay to cabin? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 7th November 2014, 17:41 Thread Starter
 
xavier2007's Avatar
 
Car: Civic 1.8 i-vtec
Join Date: 27th August 2013
Location: Portugal PT
Posts: 206
Thanks: 15
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Where to pass a wire from the engine bay to cabin?

Hi all,
Need to get a 12v wire from the engine bay to inside the cabin in my 1.8.
Anyone know a fast simple way without drill a whole in the engine bay?

I know there are some wholes to pass the car wires but it seems that it needs to many trouble and things to take out like the wipers cover, strut cover, etc... and I'm afraid of breaking something...

thanks in advance
xavier2007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 7th November 2014, 22:56
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Look at my V3 triton how to in my sig.

It shows how i done it.
Grayfox is offline  
Thanks to Grayfox from:
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 8th November 2014, 00:14 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
xavier2007's Avatar
 
Car: Civic 1.8 i-vtec
Join Date: 27th August 2013
Location: Portugal PT
Posts: 206
Thanks: 15
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (0)
thanks, I think that will work...
so that grommet it's easy to puncture with the wires right? the wires I need to pass are very thin so perhaps don't have the strength to do it but... I will put some tape at the tip has you did so it can cross it...
can I do the other way around, I mean stick it from the cabin side through to the engine side?
xavier2007 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 8th November 2014, 01:01
Supporter
 
Join Date: 11th February 2014
Location: London, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Why don't you use the option connector in the fuse box?
CYPER is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 8th November 2014, 05:57
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by xavier2007 View Post
thanks, I think that will work...
so that grommet it's easy to puncture with the wires right? the wires I need to pass are very thin so perhaps don't have the strength to do it but... I will put some tape at the tip has you did so it can cross it...
can I do the other way around, I mean stick it from the cabin side through to the engine side?
If you get a stiff rod you can tape the wires to it and push the rod through
But if you just need a +12v battery power, look at the thread Tapping the option connector.
Grayfox is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 8th November 2014, 16:16 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
xavier2007's Avatar
 
Car: Civic 1.8 i-vtec
Join Date: 27th August 2013
Location: Portugal PT
Posts: 206
Thanks: 15
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (0)
just have a look at it, and couldnt do anything cause my civic is left steering wheel and doesn t have that grommit like yours. it has a stif pass to ac gas pipes and that grommit is difeferent cause its on the side that has all the wires from battery , ecm, fuse box and its a plastic rectangle cover very dificult to reach cause intake, throttle body and brake and clutch oil reservoir are in the way...
will take a better look later...
I don t want a 12v power, I want a wire connected to the ecm wire that connects to the vtec solenoide or to the solenoid vtec it self, with a led that turns on whenever in vtec eco cam mode.
already have it working for some days but with the wire from outside the car.
now want to put it nicely on the dash but with the wire hidden.
my cousin works in that area he will work it out and it will be nicely done.
xavier2007 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 11th November 2014, 11:52
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The chassis is the same.
The hole will be in the same location.
Grayfox is offline  
Thanks to Grayfox from:
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 11th November 2014, 22:25 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
xavier2007's Avatar
 
Car: Civic 1.8 i-vtec
Join Date: 27th August 2013
Location: Portugal PT
Posts: 206
Thanks: 15
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayfox View Post
The chassis is the same.
The hole will be in the same location.
ok, gonna check it tomorrow
xavier2007 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's this wire doing in the engine bay? Chord_Freak General Discussion (8G) 5 12th May 2014 12:31
Other wire from cabin to engine bay robm255 Electronics (8G) 5 10th September 2013 09:01
Electrics Wires from cabin to engine bay. Grayfox Electronics (8G) 2 28th December 2012 09:44
Other Cable Route From Engine Bay to Cabin jonathan.dixon Electronics (8G) 2 5th August 2008 21:30
Electrics Passing wires from engine bay to cabin? Naresh Electronics (8G) 9 5th November 2007 10:34

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome