Phone Parrot 3200LS - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 9th June 2008, 13:33 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 19th May 2008
Location: Bristol, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 158
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to RabidManx
Parrot 3200LS

Getting a Parrot 3200LS installed later this week and cannot decide where is best to mount the control unit?

Anyone got any suggestions/pics?

Cheers

RabidManx
RabidManx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 46 (permalink) Old 9th June 2008, 21:36
Administrator
 
HappyMan's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Ford Kuga Titanium
Join Date: 16th August 2007
Location: Wrocław, Poland PL
Posts: 19,165
Thanks: 713
Thanked 1,059 Times in 761 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I would be interested in what you think of the 3200Ls as I am thinking of getting one. Any photo's would be gratefully received too.
HappyMan is offline  
post #3 of 46 (permalink) Old 9th June 2008, 22:36
Supporter
 
dave525's Avatar
 
Car: Skoda Octavia VRS
Join Date: 22nd November 2007
Location: Portishead GB
Posts: 551
Thanks: 31
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyMan View Post
I would be interested in what you think of the 3200Ls as I am thinking of getting one. Any photo's would be gratefully received too.
I had one in my last car, excellent bit of kit, well worth the money
dave525 is offline  
 
post #4 of 46 (permalink) Old 9th June 2008, 22:40
The Talented Mr. Robbieee
 
Robbieee's Avatar
 
Car: Ford Fiesta Zetec S
Join Date: 27th September 2007
Location: Glasvegas SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,295
Thanks: 105
Thanked 135 Times in 132 Posts
iTrader: (14)

Its an amazing bit of kit, havnt really played about with it much, heard u can put peoples pics up when they call! But i am well impressed with it. i had the 3100 which is just the same with a LCD display. Both really good Where mines is positioned is ideal. Thinking about changing it as i have just ordered a dension 100m + cradle...

Last edited by Robbieee; 9th June 2008 at 22:42.
Robbieee is offline  
post #5 of 46 (permalink) Old 9th June 2008, 22:41
Administrator
 
HappyMan's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Ford Kuga Titanium
Join Date: 16th August 2007
Location: Wrocław, Poland PL
Posts: 19,165
Thanks: 713
Thanked 1,059 Times in 761 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave525 View Post
I had one in my last car, excellent bit of kit, well worth the money
How is it wired in? what is in the box? Is there a microphone as I couldn't tell from the info on the parrot website?

Any help is greatly appreciated as I am new to all this

Thanks
HappyMan is offline  
post #6 of 46 (permalink) Old 9th June 2008, 22:42
Administrator
 
HappyMan's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Ford Kuga Titanium
Join Date: 16th August 2007
Location: Wrocław, Poland PL
Posts: 19,165
Thanks: 713
Thanked 1,059 Times in 761 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks Robbie, any help, comments would be greatly received. I will be getting it from the uk as it is a lot cheaper than here in poland
HappyMan is offline  
post #7 of 46 (permalink) Old 9th June 2008, 22:49
The Talented Mr. Robbieee
 
Robbieee's Avatar
 
Car: Ford Fiesta Zetec S
Join Date: 27th September 2007
Location: Glasvegas SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,295
Thanks: 105
Thanked 135 Times in 132 Posts
iTrader: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyMan View Post
Thanks Robbie, any help, comments would be greatly received. I will be getting it from the uk as it is a lot cheaper than here in poland
Hi HappyMan,

It was already installed when i got the car a few months ago. The microphone has been installed in the roof near the centre lights. If you are installing yourself, it shouldnt be too tricky just follow the wiki guide on here.

Robbie
Robbieee is offline  
post #8 of 46 (permalink) Old 9th June 2008, 22:56
Supporter
 
dave525's Avatar
 
Car: Skoda Octavia VRS
Join Date: 22nd November 2007
Location: Portishead GB
Posts: 551
Thanks: 31
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had mine installed for free from Halfords where I bought it the Microphone was wired through the front pillar, the sound quality is very good as it goes through the car speakers
dave525 is offline  
post #9 of 46 (permalink) Old 9th June 2008, 22:57
Administrator
 
HappyMan's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Ford Kuga Titanium
Join Date: 16th August 2007
Location: Wrocław, Poland PL
Posts: 19,165
Thanks: 713
Thanked 1,059 Times in 761 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbieee View Post
Hi HappyMan,

It was already installed when i got the car a few months ago. The microphone has been installed in the roof near the centre lights. If you are installing yourself, it shouldnt be too tricky just follow the wiki guide on here.

Robbie
i would get it installed by someone - i like my car too much!
HappyMan is offline  
post #10 of 46 (permalink) Old 10th June 2008, 03:47 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 19th May 2008
Location: Bristol, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 158
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to RabidManx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbieee View Post

Its an amazing bit of kit, havnt really played about with it much, heard u can put peoples pics up when they call! But i am well impressed with it. i had the 3100 which is just the same with a LCD display. Both really good Where mines is positioned is ideal. Thinking about changing it as i have just ordered a dension 100m + cradle...
Thanks Robbieee....thats pretty much where I was thinking of placing but had concerns about the glove box getting in the way!

Cheers

RM
RabidManx is offline  
post #11 of 46 (permalink) Old 10th June 2008, 03:48 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 19th May 2008
Location: Bristol, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 158
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to RabidManx
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave525 View Post
I had mine installed for free from Halfords where I bought it the Microphone was wired through the front pillar, the sound quality is very good as it goes through the car speakers
Thats exactly what I am doing...I am just waiting for them to tell me when I can have it fitted. (Just waiting for the lead to connect it to the head unit as apparently its non-standard.)
RabidManx is offline  
post #12 of 46 (permalink) Old 10th June 2008, 07:03
Administrator
 
HappyMan's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Ford Kuga Titanium
Join Date: 16th August 2007
Location: Wrocław, Poland PL
Posts: 19,165
Thanks: 713
Thanked 1,059 Times in 761 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Are you able to remove the Parrot 3200LS from the car when you are not there or not really?
HappyMan is offline  
post #13 of 46 (permalink) Old 10th June 2008, 07:44 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 19th May 2008
Location: Bristol, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 158
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to RabidManx
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyMan View Post
Are you able to remove the Parrot 3200LS from the car when you are not there or not really?
Not as far as I know....would be interested in finding out.
RabidManx is offline  
post #14 of 46 (permalink) Old 10th June 2008, 09:04
The Talented Mr. Robbieee
 
Robbieee's Avatar
 
Car: Ford Fiesta Zetec S
Join Date: 27th September 2007
Location: Glasvegas SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,295
Thanks: 105
Thanked 135 Times in 132 Posts
iTrader: (14)
TBH i wouldnt let anyone from halfords near my car. Most of the guys from the local halfords here were from my school and i wouldnt trust them with a peanut let alone a monkey wrench!!!
Robbieee is offline  
post #15 of 46 (permalink) Old 10th June 2008, 10:45
Supporter
 
dave525's Avatar
 
Car: Skoda Octavia VRS
Join Date: 22nd November 2007
Location: Portishead GB
Posts: 551
Thanks: 31
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyMan View Post
Are you able to remove the Parrot 3200LS from the car when you are not there or not really?
No, as its hard wired you can't remove it
dave525 is offline  
post #16 of 46 (permalink) Old 10th June 2008, 10:48
Supporter
 
dave525's Avatar
 
Car: Skoda Octavia VRS
Join Date: 22nd November 2007
Location: Portishead GB
Posts: 551
Thanks: 31
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbieee View Post
TBH i wouldnt let anyone from halfords near my car. Most of the guys from the local halfords here were from my school and i wouldnt trust them with a peanut let alone a monkey wrench!!!
The Halfords that I had mine done were excellent, I must admit that I was a bit wary at first but they were very proffesional in their work
dave525 is offline  
post #17 of 46 (permalink) Old 10th June 2008, 11:13
The Talented Mr. Robbieee
 
Robbieee's Avatar
 
Car: Ford Fiesta Zetec S
Join Date: 27th September 2007
Location: Glasvegas SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,295
Thanks: 105
Thanked 135 Times in 132 Posts
iTrader: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave525 View Post
No, as its hard wired you can't remove it
I was thinking about putting mine behind the silver shelf door. Work in progress!!
Robbieee is offline  
post #18 of 46 (permalink) Old 17th June 2008, 13:14 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 19th May 2008
Location: Bristol, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 158
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to RabidManx
I am now slightly worried.....just chatted to the Halfords dude and he has never fitted one in a Civic before and has no idea on taking out the stereo to fit the wires etc.

Should I get somebody else to fit it?
RabidManx is offline  
post #19 of 46 (permalink) Old 20th June 2008, 10:41 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 19th May 2008
Location: Bristol, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 158
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to RabidManx
Also just realised that the pic above has a mount...going to be interesting finding a mount point for it!

Have printed out the "How to"' from here to give to the man from Halfords...will see what he says!

Still a little nervous that he might damage something but I am guessing they cover any damage done?
RabidManx is offline  
post #20 of 46 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2008, 11:43 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 19th May 2008
Location: Bristol, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 158
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to RabidManx
Well Halfords chickened out....which to be honest after watching the guy poke at my dash with a screw driver I was glad about.

To be fair to the guy he printed out the instructions and had a look at the "how to" from here and started the job but after 10 mins he said that he was afraid to damage the car so gave it up. Got a full refund and suggested I try a car audio specialist.

I drove up to Uplands in Bristol and had a word with the guy, I ended up getting a 3100 installed in the storage area under the radio for a little more than halfords wanted but the Nick from the store did a brilliant job...Bristol Honda actually use him to do all their aftermarket installs.

You cannot see any wires etc with the solver door closed and the micrphone wire is hidden with the mic actually in the spot where the HFT one goes.

Will certainly be going back there if I need anything else done (speakers etc)
RabidManx is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phone Parrot PMK5800--anyone got one? bonzo Electronics (8G) 7 8th June 2008 13:07
alexandrine parrot jamo9017 Any non Civic chat here please! 12 16th April 2008 21:16
Phone Parrot 3200 Palindrome Electronics (8G) 4 26th January 2008 02:04
Phone Parrot and Connects2 basegreen Electronics (8G) 4 6th October 2007 16:53
Other Parrot CK3000 Sun Electronics (8G) 6 30th September 2007 10:23

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome