Voice recog Hands Free wrong first time - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 14:18 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
parsnip's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2008
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 92
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hands Free wrong first time

I'm having the problem with the EX hands free where everytime if you say something like 'Dial <name>' then the first time the car is on it will reply with something like '2 5 7' and get it comletely wrong...

I thought i remembered seeing someone mention it here before but i can't find it.
Does anyone else have these problems? and is there a solution?
parsnip is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 14:41
 
tomo2001's Avatar
 
Car: 2011 Ford Focus Titanium X
Join Date: 25th May 2008
Location: Sheffield GB
Posts: 607
Thanks: 1
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It's your Sheffield twang!! LOL
tomo2001 is offline  
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 14:47 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
parsnip's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2008
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 92
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomo2001 View Post
It's your Sheffield twang!! LOL
yeah it probably doesnt understand me, im from even further north originally than sheff!
but it always strangely seems to start with a 2 whatever the wrong number is
parsnip is offline  
 
post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 15:05
 
3rd Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th July 2006
Location: Tewkesbury GB
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The voice recognition on my EX never worked other that with greatest difficulty, although the phone part was probably better than the controls part. I NEVER mastered the controls part and really didn't miss it (though resented having paid for something I couldn't make work), however there is no way round the phone part (other than to receive calls only).

It was rather better (though slow) in recognising stored names and numbers.

In general the Honda voice recognition just didn't ever work for me.

My replacement BMW does work rather better (well a lot better actually), though I still find I don't use the voice control - probably out of habit.
3rd Honda is offline  
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 15:15
Supporter
 
Join Date: 13th May 2008
Location: Suffolk - UK GB
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
I've found that if I just say "call" it then asks for the name or number to call - this seems to work better than saying it together
RobP is offline  
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 15:17
BJJ IS NOT JUST FOR XMAS
 
illegalhunter's Avatar
 
Car: DS3
Join Date: 10th May 2007
Location: On the mat choking people SCOTLAND
Posts: 4,720
Thanks: 9
Thanked 137 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader: (2)
You need to speak with marbles in your mouth for it to work.
illegalhunter is offline  
post #7 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 15:21 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
parsnip's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2008
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 92
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobP View Post
I've found that if I just say "call" it then asks for the name or number to call - this seems to work better than saying it together
I'll try that later, its strange how it works perfectly well everytime after the first wrong time
parsnip is offline  
post #8 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 18:06
 
Join Date: 24th May 2008
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobP View Post
I've found that if I just say "call" it then asks for the name or number to call - this seems to work better than saying it together


That's what I do RobP!

Regards parsnips problem, it may be you are in the wrong menu when making the command and therefore it doesn't recognise what you are requesting and will only repeat back to you the available commands in that particular menu. This has happened to me on several occasions. Pressing the cancel or back button once (or even more than once if required) takes you back to a previous menu.
blader is offline  
post #9 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 19:05
 
AubreyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th August 2006
Posts: 463
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Mine does the same or comes up with something like... #341. Its useless, it can't even get "redial" right most of the time. Its really no more than a gimmick. I don't think Honda spent enough time developing it. The one that my friend has in his new Mondeo is much better and rarely makes a mistake.

Last edited by AubreyS; 18th July 2008 at 20:53.
AubreyS is offline  
post #10 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 19:12
 
Join Date: 21st April 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK GB
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
You need to speak loudly, but then it works fine most of the time.

On the forum are some threads about microphone tweaks. The simplest mod is to cut out a square of neoprene with inside that a square hole for the microphone. This acts as a seal between the plastic housing containing the microphone and the plastic cover over this housing. This closes the gap between the two bits of plastic and prevents ambient car noises from the roof area to get in.
Nexxo is offline  
post #11 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 20:20 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
parsnip's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2008
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 92
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blader View Post
it may be you are in the wrong menu when making the command and therefore it doesn't recognise what you are requesting and will only repeat back to you the available commands in that particular menu.
It shouldnt affect it when using voice recognition for phone as that button is only for the phone voice recog where as it's a different button for the other voice recog commands such as aircon etc..

I tried this earlier...

got in the car, in a car park, spoke loud and clearly and said 'call'

the car responded 'Star zero, say call or dial....'
i pressed cancel
i repeated it in exactly the same voice
and it correctly responded 'please say a name to dial..'

i even have the microphone mods so it's definitely not a question of either command used or pronunciation.
the only option I can see is a software related issue, the question is now whether a dealer could do anything, and if its a fault on just my car
parsnip is offline  
post #12 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 21:30
 
3rd Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th July 2006
Location: Tewkesbury GB
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by parsnip View Post

the car responded 'Star zero, say call or dial....'
If I remember right - that was one of mines favourite phrases too!
3rd Honda is offline  
post #13 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 21:48
Jayne here too!!
 
xYKMFx chris's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Type R GT
Join Date: 29th June 2008
Location: newcastle under lyme ENGLAND
Posts: 676
Thanks: 57
Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (0)
well mine changes itself to a foreign language - lol!!!

...... no seriously it does!!!!
xYKMFx chris is offline  
post #14 of 37 (permalink) Old 18th July 2008, 22:02
 
mihael's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th June 2006
Posts: 107
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
hands free

hi parsnip just read your report i have an ex and the phone and other voice commands are most of the time wrong the first time they are used after starting the car but after getting it wrong that very first time mine gets it right the majority of times therafter and yes i did have the honda mod done on the mic
mihael is offline  
post #15 of 37 (permalink) Old 19th July 2008, 16:19 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
parsnip's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2008
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 92
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihael View Post
hi parsnip just read your report i have an ex and the phone and other voice commands are most of the time wrong the first time they are used after starting the car but after getting it wrong that very first time mine gets it right the majority of times therafter and yes i did have the honda mod done on the mic

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rd honda
If I remember right - that was one of mines favourite phrases too!
seems its not just me then! sounds exactly the same problem.
wrong first time, fine every other
parsnip is offline  
post #16 of 37 (permalink) Old 19th July 2008, 20:36
R - 11859
 
ctrdaveg's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 Type R-GT Silver
Join Date: 11th February 2008
Location: Nantwich, Cheshire ENGLAND
Posts: 625
Thanks: 53
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by parsnip View Post
I'm having the problem with the EX hands free where everytime if you say something like 'Dial <name>' then the first time the car is on it will reply with something like '2 5 7' and get it comletely wrong...

I thought i remembered seeing someone mention it here before but i can't find it.
Does anyone else have these problems? and is there a solution?
Yes mines the same. I press the call button then the back-up button first, then on the 2nd attempt it works fine all the time.
ctrdaveg is offline  
post #17 of 37 (permalink) Old 20th July 2008, 05:01
Gadgeteer
 
sonicsteve's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CR-Z GT, White
Join Date: 27th April 2006
Location: Banbury ENGLAND
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Mine is exactly the same, first time it doesn't work second time it does.
sonicsteve is offline  
post #18 of 37 (permalink) Old 20th July 2008, 07:32
Supporter
 
Car: Mazda MX-5 (lightly modded)
Join Date: 1st July 2007
Location: GB GB
Posts: 15,644
Thanks: 1,166
Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,415 Posts
iTrader: (8)
It appears to be a common fault....
No doubt this will be sorted in the forthcoming facelift...
Dont hold your breath
robbo51 is offline  
post #19 of 37 (permalink) Old 20th July 2008, 08:04
Supporter
 
apemonkeyman's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 5 door, Lumpy Black
Join Date: 2nd February 2007
Location: Upleadon, Gloucestershire ENGLAND
Posts: 699
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to apemonkeyman Send a message via Yahoo to apemonkeyman Send a message via Skype™ to apemonkeyman
Mine almost always reads back mysterious numbers instead of taking my 1st command properly. A couple of days ago, for some unknown reason, it actually got it right 1st time... then went back to being crap next time around. I have had the microphone mod done by Honda...
apemonkeyman is offline  
post #20 of 37 (permalink) Old 20th July 2008, 11:08
 
Pesky36's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE Plus
Join Date: 18th July 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
If you get someone to kick you in the nads then it works.

I have the same problem. But I did notice if you turn the volume up more it seems to like that. Did you have a look over your manuel for tips?

Last edited by Pesky36; 20th July 2008 at 11:12.
Pesky36 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phone Hands-Free won't let go... apemonkeyman Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 13 11th September 2008 08:06
Phone Hands free query peacock Electronics (8G) 6 15th August 2007 20:11
Phone aftermarket hands free kit Rob ES Electronics (8G) 3 13th August 2007 22:46
Phone Lcd hands free car kit rogie Electronics (8G) 0 18th April 2007 20:23
Options Hands free smb09_1999 Buying, Dealers and Servicing 4 26th February 2007 13:11

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome