Satnav Recommended aftermarket Sat-Nav? - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 13:05 Thread Starter
2.2 CDTi ES
 
Ben_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd July 2008
Location: Billingshurst ENGLAND
Posts: 84
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Skype™ to Ben_K
Recommended aftermarket Sat-Nav?

Hello all,
For my new car, I'd like to pick up a GPS unit to minimise the chances of my girlfriend getting lost somewhere. Im looking at the 100 or below price range and would like a good quality unit rather than just the cheapest. I'm thinking that a TomTom One unit might be the best option (At around 90-100) but wanted to know if anyone here has any recommendations
Ben_K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 13:08
Supporter
 
Smarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th February 2008
Location: Worcester, UK GB
Posts: 368
Thanks: 26
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Everyone I've spoken torates TomTom highly. I got a OneXL, the one with the slightly larger screen, a while ago and its great. Screen is nice and clear, maps are pretty accurate.
No doubt some of the other brands are decent enough and possibly cheaper, but I'd say TomTom all the way.
Smarty is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 13:16
pjr
Supporter
 
pjr's Avatar
 
Car: Mk VII Golf GTI
Join Date: 24th March 2007
Location: Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 738
Thanks: 24
Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Eco display
I would recommend a TomTom as well - I've got a G0510 - Bought it about the same time as the car, and it's been perfect.

My sister-in-law, recently bought a TomTom One, and whilst it doesn't have all the functionality (hands-free calling etc) that the Go's have, it works just as well as a navigation aid.

There's a few threads here on aftermarket nav systems:-

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...commend+satnav

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...commend+satnav

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...commend+satnav
pjr is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 13:17
Administrator
 
HappyMan's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Ford Kuga Titanium
Join Date: 16th August 2007
Location: Wrocław, Poland PL
Posts: 19,165
Thanks: 713
Thanked 1,059 Times in 761 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have a tomtom 730 and I think it's really good however that's a little bit more expensive than 100.

The tomtom one sounds like a good option

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/any-non...-sat-navs.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...t-sat-nav.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...t-sat-nav.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...ternative.html

Hope they help a little
HappyMan is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 13:22
Civic gone, not forgotten
 
alanwalne's Avatar
 
Car: Pug 4007, 308CC, Clio dci
Join Date: 11th June 2007
Location: Kent ENGLAND
Posts: 2,092
Thanks: 25
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (2)
At that price, I would recommend a TomTom One.

If you can get a V3 cheaply rather than the new V4, then that would be an idea as you still get latest maps guarantee meaning if you connect it to your computer within one month of first using it, it will download the latest maps from TomTom's website.
alanwalne is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 13:49 Thread Starter
2.2 CDTi ES
** Thread starter **
 
Ben_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd July 2008
Location: Billingshurst ENGLAND
Posts: 84
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Skype™ to Ben_K
Cheers Gents! I'll have a look through those links now.

At the moment I'm looking at a TomTom One V3 for 90. Seems like a good deal, I think.
Ben_K is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 14:01 Thread Starter
2.2 CDTi ES
** Thread starter **
 
Ben_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd July 2008
Location: Billingshurst ENGLAND
Posts: 84
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Skype™ to Ben_K
In fact, one element that I will need to expandability for new maps. I will travel a lot in Eastern Europe (Poland, Croatia etc.) and will want to expand the maps for that. I've noticed the TT1 has just 512Mb built in. Is that enough to get all of Europes maps, or should be looking for something with a bigger storgae capacity/expandable memory?
Ben_K is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 14:06
Civic gone, not forgotten
 
alanwalne's Avatar
 
Car: Pug 4007, 308CC, Clio dci
Join Date: 11th June 2007
Location: Kent ENGLAND
Posts: 2,092
Thanks: 25
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben_K View Post
In fact, one element that I will need to expandability for new maps. I will travel a lot in Eastern Europe (Poland, Croatia etc.) and will want to expand the maps for that. I've noticed the TT1 has just 512Mb built in. Is that enough to get all of Europes maps, or should be looking for something with a bigger storgae capacity/expandable memory?
Check before you buy, but the earlier (v2) TT 1 had a card slot, I know the TT1 v4 does not have a card slot, I am not sure about the v3.

Two weeks ago I picked up a TT 520 T (with the TMC traffic aerial) from Halfords for 180 and that has onboard memory, but also comes with a SD slot for extra maps.
alanwalne is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 14:10
pjr
Supporter
 
pjr's Avatar
 
Car: Mk VII Golf GTI
Join Date: 24th March 2007
Location: Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 738
Thanks: 24
Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Eco display
I think the one by sister-in-law bought was a TT1 V3 - it doesn't have a card slot.
pjr is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 14:13 Thread Starter
2.2 CDTi ES
** Thread starter **
 
Ben_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd July 2008
Location: Billingshurst ENGLAND
Posts: 84
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Skype™ to Ben_K
Yeah, I don't think the V3 has a slot. In which case, what are the rough sizes of maps. I know they will vary on the country, but as a rough ballpark, what sizes are they? i.e. Is Germany 20Mb?! (I have absolutely no idea) It may be that the 512Mb internal is sufficient. If a country is 100Mb, then it is a different issue!

Edit: Is the secondhand market any good for Sat Navs, or is it best to avoid them (Unless from a known user, such as on here etc.)?

Last edited by Ben_K; 25th July 2008 at 14:15. Reason: Added a bit...
Ben_K is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 14:15
Supporter
 
Car: Mazda MX-5 (lightly modded)
Join Date: 1st July 2007
Location: GB GB
Posts: 15,644
Thanks: 1,166
Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,415 Posts
iTrader: (8)
I have a Garmin 250 which has all the European maps included
robbo51 is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 14:43 Thread Starter
2.2 CDTi ES
** Thread starter **
 
Ben_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd July 2008
Location: Billingshurst ENGLAND
Posts: 84
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Skype™ to Ben_K
Hmmm... the Nuvi 250 looks like a good deal. About 100 but does come with full European maps and expandable memory. How do they fair compared to a TT1? Does anyone have experience of both?
Ben_K is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 14:52
Foglight Covers FORSALE
 
gray52's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd November 2006
Location: East Anglia EUROPEANUNION
Posts: 3,170
Thanks: 67
Thanked 130 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader: (60)
i will be sell a tomtom 520 & 720, both with 2gb cards and maps for u.k, ireland, western europe, usa/canada, austrlia and new zealand. will both have the latest spoken speed camera updates as well. will be ready forsale in the next few days.
gray52 is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 16:08
Supporter
 
Smarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th February 2008
Location: Worcester, UK GB
Posts: 368
Thanks: 26
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I think you can go on the tomtom website and download a map. I had a look a while ago for a western europe map and I'm sure it was less than 100 MB. Don't know how much memory is used up with all the stuff that's on it from the start. Also, I'm sure the OneXL I have has a slot for an SD card. I bought it about 6 months ago for around 130, or it might have been 120...
Smarty is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 20:02
4th Honda
 
longitude's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE + Nav Auto
Join Date: 29th August 2007
Location: St Albans ENGLAND
Posts: 64
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Tom Tom gets my vote. I've various models over the years and rate them highly. Take a look at Pocket GPS World where you will get some impartial advice and info on their free safety camera database which is more up to date than Tom Toms! I would also recommend a Brodit airvent mount which looks better than using the windscreen suction mount and is less of a giveaway to would be thieves!
longitude is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 20:19
You're or your..........
 
NEEMSTAR's Avatar
 
Car: 630i
Join Date: 7th October 2007
Location: :noitacoL ENGLAND
Posts: 2,782
Thanks: 76
Thanked 119 Times in 117 Posts
iTrader: (1)
my tom tom died on me yesterday mid route and wont come back on now

but i will still buy another one
NEEMSTAR is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 25th July 2008, 22:26
Supporter
 
Glepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th April 2008
Location: Lincoln, England ENGLAND
Posts: 435
Thanks: 30
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (2)
I have the Tom Tom One XL Europe V3 and it does indeed have an SD card slot
Glepor is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 20th August 2008, 14:27
Supporter
 
Bacchus's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Golf GTi Performance
Join Date: 18th July 2007
Location: Worthing GB
Posts: 147
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garmin if you use a Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben_K View Post
Hello all,
For my new car, I'd like to pick up a GPS unit to minimise the chances of my girlfriend getting lost somewhere. Im looking at the 100 or below price range and would like a good quality unit rather than just the cheapest. I'm thinking that a TomTom One unit might be the best option (At around 90-100) but wanted to know if anyone here has any recommendations
TomToms are not Mac compatible and nor is their website. You keep running into messages "This is not implemented on the Apple Macintosh software and is shown for demonstration only".

Garmin are fully committed to the Mac and have some very good software as a free download.
Bacchus is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 20th August 2008, 18:28
Supporter
 
Cush's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 CW CTR
Join Date: 11th August 2008
Location: Leeds,UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,050
Thanks: 121
Thanked 81 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Send a message via MSN to Cush
Ive had a Garmin Quest and now a Tom Tom 520. The TomTom wins hands down and is even better now you have the mapshare functionality. Plus I like all the different voices you can have for it... John Cleese is currently my fav
Cush is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 20th August 2008, 18:39
Administrator
 
Dimplyred's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th August 2007
Location: Staffordshire, Cheshire & Shropshire ENGLAND
Posts: 24,216
Thanks: 229
Thanked 1,835 Times in 1,604 Posts
iTrader: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cush View Post
Ive had a Garmin Quest and now a Tom Tom 520. The TomTom wins hands down and is even better now you have the mapshare functionality. Plus I like all the different voices you can have for it... John Cleese is currently my fav
I can't really comment on others, as this is my first sat nav, but I have the Tom Tom 520 too, and I am very impressed.
Dimplyred is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NHB - DIY Colour Coding - NOT recommended TTDegs General Discussion (8G) 41 24th October 2011 15:19
Tyre Pressure Recommended Tyre Pump mattj222 Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 4 20th June 2008 20:16
Remap recommended remap company stevemiller Engines and Transmission (8G) 9 14th December 2007 16:56
Oil Recommended Oil for I-VTEC annd I-CDTI Charley Farley Engines and Transmission (8G) 88 7th September 2007 13:57
Winter 17" Winter tyres not recommended pikkumies Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 18 17th October 2006 12:19

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome