Battery Flat battery...... - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 10:14 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 28th September 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Flat battery......

Has anyone yet had a flat battery in there diesel civ.....?I had it jump started but the auto window winders fail to work, only in manual mode, plus since the jump start the passenger side window wont wind down when opperated from the drivers side, but ok from the pass side. Any info that may be of help would be appreceated. The cars due for a service in about 1,200 miles, so if all else fails, the dealer can sort it. ****.

Last edited by shiftswiftly; 13th October 2006 at 14:36.
shiftswiftly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 10:49
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
Try charging the battery - the fact things are still not working properly (assume with the engine running) there's an electrical fault which poss caused battery issue?
basegreen is offline  
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 11:11
 
elfa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th May 2006
Location: Cheshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
I have'nt had any electrical probs.
elfa7 is offline  
 
post #4 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 11:27
Cad
estranged
 
Cad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th June 2006
Location: Upstairs GB
Posts: 391
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had my battery changed after 2 weeks ownership. I went to my local Honda dealer, armed with a report from the AA man who attended me, and had it replaced free of charge.
Cad is offline  
post #5 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 12:53
Supporter
 
Glass Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th June 2006
Location: London ENGLAND
Posts: 417
Thanks: 18
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (0)
there’s something in the manual too about what to do if you get flat bat as some things might not work, and I think auto windows is one of them! Can’t check though as I don’t have the manual on me

Last edited by Glass Spider; 13th October 2006 at 12:57.
Glass Spider is offline  
post #6 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 12:56
 
Join Date: 3rd May 2006
Location: Leeds
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Ive just come back from a business trip abroad and the civic had not been started for 2 full weeks. Started first time on my return and with no problems.

Have you had anything installed in the car afterwards such as stereo, alarm, ipod etc? Its a long shot but maybe something is still using the battery even after you have turned the ignition off.
civicg is offline  
post #7 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 13:13
Supporter
 
Join Date: 6th August 2006
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 2,763
Thanks: 44
Thanked 65 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by civicg View Post

Have you had anything installed in the car afterwards such as stereo, alarm, ipod etc? Its a long shot but maybe something is still using the battery even after you have turned the ignition off.
Check that the boot light is turning off when the boot lid is closed! I had a car once that wasn't and the battery went flat in no time.
allan40alt is offline  
post #8 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 14:33 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 28th September 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
well it was my own fault that the battery died really, kipped over in the car the other night, and switched everything off, for some reason i had switched on the lights in the night while sleeping...daaaahhhh. No idea why or how, but it happened, drove around for a short while after being jump started, and the batts been fine since, just the window issues, even the clock and radio still maintained the settings..???????????? so i dont know. **** all....
shiftswiftly is offline  
post #9 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 14:51
 
Charles_Harding's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th August 2006
Location: S.E. London ENGLAND
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 113
Thanked 42 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by allan40alt View Post
Check that the boot light is turning off when the boot lid is closed! I had a car once that wasn't and the battery went flat in no time.
Mine wasn't even working when it was delivered!!!

Fixed on PDI part 2!
Charles_Harding is offline  
post #10 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 14:55
 
Bassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th August 2006
Location: Lincs
Posts: 341
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
If my car is inactive for any period of time, I use a C-Tek XS 3600 to keep the battery at its peak. This can be left on all the time without any harm - it just pulses in the charge when needed.
Popular with classic car owners who lay their cars up for the winter months - they just leave it permanently connected.
Bassa is offline  
post #11 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 14:56
 
Charles_Harding's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th August 2006
Location: S.E. London ENGLAND
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 113
Thanked 42 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Just a thought!!

When the PDI is done to the car, the doors would likely to be open for a considerable time.

Then when you get the motor home for the first time, you play with the toys &, poof, flat battery.

Stopped thinking now.

Just 72 days to go, how exiting!!!

Charles_Harding is offline  
post #12 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 15:11
 
Bassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th August 2006
Location: Lincs
Posts: 341
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Picked my new car up on a Monday - it had spent the previous Fri, Sat. & Sun in their valet shop - with the tailgate not fully closed and the luggage light on.
Following a 10 mile drive home I found the battery's indicator spy hole showing white and in need of a charge. Even a 10 mile drive had not fully recharged it so it must have been very very low on collection.
Out came the C-Tek. for a couple of hours.
Bassa is offline  
post #13 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 15:35 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 28th September 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
cheers fellas.......where and how much do theses c-tec jobies cost ect, seems like something i should purchase in...JUST INCASE ....AGAIN..hahahaha
shiftswiftly is offline  
post #14 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 15:59
 
Bassa's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th August 2006
Location: Lincs
Posts: 341
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Bought mine about 2 years ago from www.hamiltonclassic.co.uk.

Ctek's website is www.ctek.com

E Bay??????????
Bassa is offline  
post #15 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 16:11 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 28th September 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
cheers bassa...i`ll have me o look...
shiftswiftly is offline  
post #16 of 38 (permalink) Old 13th October 2006, 23:48
Supporter
 
Glass Spider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th June 2006
Location: London ENGLAND
Posts: 417
Thanks: 18
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (0)
found it page 166 in the manual, if your battery is disconnected or goes dead or either of the front windows' fuses is removed. The power window system needs to be reset after reconnecting the battery or installing the fuse, mind you it does go on to say if this doesn't work take it to the dealers
Glass Spider is offline  
post #17 of 38 (permalink) Old 19th February 2007, 09:43
Supporter
 
Maldax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th June 2006
Location: Reading, Berks GB
Posts: 1,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Maldax
I came to start my car today and had a flat battery!. Funny thing is I turned Auto Lights back on on Friday and Didn't use the car over the weekend?? AA on there way
Maldax is offline  
post #18 of 38 (permalink) Old 19th February 2007, 18:41
Supporter
 
Maldax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th June 2006
Location: Reading, Berks GB
Posts: 1,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Maldax
The AA man told me that the Civic needs 12.3 Volts to start! My Battery was at 11.7 so it didn't even try to start!

Just Clicked. Somethime I think these modern cars are to clever for their own good!
Maldax is offline  
post #19 of 38 (permalink) Old 19th February 2007, 19:43
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
you should have just wired a AA in the line
TTDegs is offline  
post #20 of 38 (permalink) Old 20th February 2007, 07:13
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
12.3 volts!

Isn't that just about max then?
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://www.civinfo.com/forum/electronics-8g/1639-flat-battery.html
Posted By For Type Date
www.clubhondacivic.com - Ver Tema - Mi primer problema con el Civic... LA BATERIA!!!(o eso creo) This thread Refback 23rd July 2012 15:02

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flat battery 2.2 CDTi EX - recurring flat battery Lambo Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 482 13th October 2014 21:01
Electrics Battery: is it that bad? eighteentee Electronics (8G) 19 6th March 2008 00:36
Flat battery flat battery after hols Nedelcho Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 31 11th June 2007 18:10
Flat battery Flat Battery within 1 week of purchase BAUK Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 49 17th April 2007 21:33
Battery Battery Maintenance Charles_Harding Electronics (8G) 19 15th January 2007 10:53

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome