Satnav replacing standard head unit with Sat Nav unit... - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2015, 10:57 Thread Starter
 
Car: 2008 1.4 8v milano
Join Date: 8th November 2014
Location: Coventry UK ENGLAND
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
replacing standard head unit with Sat Nav unit...

Hi all,
Im looking to get a sat nav unit upgrade from the standard head unit. Is there any complications to look out for?
As a novice, could I complete this?

Would it be easier to fit an after market double din unit instead?
Welchy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2015, 11:30
Gooner4Life
 
Deadpool's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 1.8 TYPE-S GT, CB
Join Date: 24th September 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 831
Thanks: 500
Thanked 255 Times in 207 Posts
iTrader: (4)
I'm thinking of doing the same myself and after seeing a recent facebook-civinfo post, I think I'm going to go for the Pioneer SPH-DA120.

It's the first unit to have Apple CarPlay which means I can just connect my iPhone 6 Plus and can have all the necessary functionality through the unit i.e. messages, phone, maps, music.

It's a really impressive system, have a look into it!
Deadpool is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2015, 13:06
Supporter
 
fearLess's Avatar
 
Car: FN2 Milano Mugenised
Join Date: 1st November 2011
Location: South Normanton, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,006
Thanks: 113
Thanked 134 Times in 124 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Garage
Fit a double din, I'd consider myself a novice and I took the dash apart no problem
fearLess is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2015, 19:50
Supporter
 
Car: 2009 Crystal Black CTR
Join Date: 5th June 2012
Location: Coventry ENGLAND
Posts: 163
Thanks: 13
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
iTrader: (3)
I would recommend going for the double din set up.
I fitted the impulse kit to mine and it made alot of difference.
Impulse Car Electronics – Products – Hands Free Kits


If you want to see and hear the difference your more than welcome to have a look as im in cov too.
Philk is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2015, 21:26
 
Join Date: 7th December 2014
Location: worc ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
hondabitz 82 + fat + Universal Patch Lead 4.17 +your doubel din cd/sat nav

C2 Civic Full Kit RHD
inbed79 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 24th January 2015, 21:12
Supporter
 
Navvaro's Avatar
 
Car: Audi S5
Join Date: 21st June 2011
Location: Awsworth, Nottingham, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by inbed79 View Post
hondabitz 82 + fat + Universal Patch Lead 4.17 +your doubel din cd/sat nav

C2 Civic Full Kit RHD
Just to verify... That kit, patch lead and the actual stereo is all thats needed? Or is 'fat' something i'm unaware of?

***Ignore my question about 'fat' I realise now you typo'd VAT but still wondering about my other question!

Last edited by Navvaro; 24th January 2015 at 21:13. Reason: Doh!
Navvaro is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 24th January 2015, 23:09
 
Join Date: 7th December 2014
Location: worc ENGLAND
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
[QUOTE=Navvaro;2443889]Just to verify... That kit, patch lead and the actual stereo is all thats needed? Or is 'fat' something i'm unaware of?

yes just fitted one to mine
inbed79 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 6th May 2015, 22:49
 
Join Date: 6th May 2015
Location: Huddersfield UK GB
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi guys, With theses kits, is it necessary to have the factory sat nav in order to get the controls on the steering wheel to work? Or will all be fine with the standard stereo setup?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
wisharta is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 7th May 2015, 12:30
Gooner4Life
 
Deadpool's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 1.8 TYPE-S GT, CB
Join Date: 24th September 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 831
Thanks: 500
Thanked 255 Times in 207 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisharta View Post
Hi guys, With theses kits, is it necessary to have the factory sat nav in order to get the controls on the steering wheel to work? Or will all be fine with the standard stereo setup?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Standard set-up is fine
Deadpool is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 10th May 2015, 18:23
 
Join Date: 6th May 2015
Location: Huddersfield UK GB
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Great, thanks Deadpool!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
wisharta is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit Replacing SSD Sat Nav Unit MuteJoe Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 2 19th June 2018 21:54
Satnav Sat nav head unit removal Antony70 Electronics (8G) 3 20th August 2012 13:52
Sat Nav Head Unit Only metzer Cox Motor Parts 0 8th August 2012 14:06

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome