Safety Cameras fitting TALEX system to my new civi - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 28th July 2008, 22:47 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
upopup's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th July 2008
Location: Lincoln ENGLAND
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
fitting TALEX system to my new civi

Hi Guys, Took delivery of my new civi on sat (1.8 EX leather and glass in galaxy grey) now stated the 'learning curve'.
Had a Talex spead camera detection system on my old car (signum with colour nav etc) and found it to be a godsend over the last 2 years, Must have saved me hundreds of pounds.
It connects to the cig socket, works from GPS, is updated on the internet and sits on a magnitic mount, in the signum it was fitted descreatly on the dash with the cable hidden. (just for cosmetic reasons as it is legal)
However, didnt want to stick the mag mount to my lovely new dash so tried the unit in the storage compartment just in front of the gear stick and to my amazement it works well from there, connects to sats and is easy to loose cable to. So thats were the mag mount has been stuck, NOT SPOILING MY DASH (sorry , I mean OUR dash - wife listening)
upopup is offline  
Thanks to upopup from:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 28th July 2008, 22:51
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Sounds good, do you have a couple of pictures?



FWH is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 28th July 2008, 22:55 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
upopup's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th July 2008
Location: Lincoln ENGLAND
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Will take some and put on here soon
upopup is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 06:25
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Hi Guys, Took delivery of my new civi on sat (1.8 EX leather and glass in galaxy grey) now stated the 'learning curve'.
Had a Talex spead camera detection system on my old car (signum with colour nav etc) and found it to be a godsend over the last 2 years, Must have saved me hundreds of pounds.
It connects to the cig socket, works from GPS, is updated on the internet and sits on a magnitic mount, in the signum it was fitted descreatly on the dash with the cable hidden. (just for cosmetic reasons as it is legal)
However, didnt want to stick the mag mount to my lovely new dash so tried the unit in the storage compartment just in front of the gear stick and to my amazement it works well from there, connects to sats and is easy to loose cable to. So thats were the mag mount has been stuck, NOT SPOILING MY DASH (sorry , I mean OUR dash - wife listening)
If you reckon it works in the dash storage then that would also suit me better.

This is my current solution:

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...te-fitted.html

The thing I find strange though is that even with my Talex fitted in full view of the sky, when I pass under a long line of trees for example the speed readout can be inaccurate as it appears to freeze until it gets a view of the sky again. Do you get the correct speed being displayed even when accelerating?

Last edited by Kremmen; 29th July 2008 at 07:02.
Kremmen is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 07:33 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
upopup's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th July 2008
Location: Lincoln ENGLAND
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
There always seems to be a 'lag' in the speed readout and it shows about 3 mph less than the main speedo but I have not taken any notice of the effect of trees etc, Need to test it further as being in the storage compartment must effect its operation.
Will report after a few days, Audio sounds good though.
upopup is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 15:17
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
My Talex fires into life even when I'm parked in the garage with all the doors shut (garage doors not Civic doors!) so it must have a fairly sensitive chipset.

The trees I go under is almost like a tunnel as they overhang almost completely.
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LOC Fitting a LOC leeroy1986 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 5 1st August 2008 12:50
LOC Fitting a LOC leeroy1986 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 24th June 2008 11:51
Safety Cameras Talex Kremmen Electronics (8G) 16 22nd March 2008 05:29
Speakers Is Warranty Invalidated by fitting aftermarket Sound System in a new Civic? psykik Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 2 5th October 2007 16:35

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome