AC/Heater Air Con on Type R or not - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 28th July 2008, 23:51 Thread Starter
 
ashkeenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 960
Thanks: 109
Thanked 184 Times in 161 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Air Con on Type R or not

Quick question, does the type R have air con, as the type r gt has dual air con however i was reading through the wiki and it was saying that all cars bar the stripped out version has air con is this right,

My car doesnt have an a/c button on it. Just seems to be a fan which blows out warm air. I find it a bit strange any other owners of the standard type r have an a/c button or is it just a fan, what buttons do you have???

I noticed that the standard Type S has an a/c button, and would of thought the standard Type R would have had a/c.

My car is going in again this comming monday to get the alarm fixed so will bring it up as it just seems to be hot air comming out all the time.

Thanks
ashkeenon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 05:54
BJJ IS NOT JUST FOR XMAS
 
illegalhunter's Avatar
 
Car: DS3
Join Date: 10th May 2007
Location: On the mat choking people SCOTLAND
Posts: 4,720
Thanks: 9
Thanked 137 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Aircon is only standard on the GT
illegalhunter is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 08:21
Naughty but nice
 
angie4m's Avatar
 
Car: Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: 28th September 2007
Location: Edinburgh SCOTLAND
Posts: 4,134
Thanks: 49
Thanked 103 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It seems that some have and some do not have it. It can actually be requested at the time of order it would seem. Even some of the guys from Swindon have commented on how some of the non gt's have it and some don't.
angie4m is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 09:31
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Bizarre, is it possibly something to do with leasing or date of manufacture, i.e. the first 1000 had the extra aircon??? Or vice versa???

Tom
Unknownsoldier is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 09:32
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Perhaps interior photo's or a poll may be the answer?

Tom
Unknownsoldier is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 10:00
Naughty but nice
 
angie4m's Avatar
 
Car: Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: 28th September 2007
Location: Edinburgh SCOTLAND
Posts: 4,134
Thanks: 49
Thanked 103 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknownsoldier View Post
Bizarre, is it possibly something to do with leasing or date of manufacture, i.e. the first 1000 had the extra aircon??? Or vice versa???

Tom
Funny you should say that, the other non GT I know of that has the air con is number 241 and is a lease car as its a company car, so maybe your onto something there
angie4m is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 11:01
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Maybe lease ones arn't the R but the S spec???? That comes without aircon??? Perhaps dealers in their haste to flog them failed to notice/comprehed the difference in model. As my Car the S, cames as S(tandard) S(port) & S-GT, the first one comes with virtually nothing, including no aircon. I believe the came similar - R(ace)/R(Standard), R (normal), R-GT.

Tom

Last edited by Unknownsoldier; 29th July 2008 at 14:17.
Unknownsoldier is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 11:09
 
Koos Holswilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd December 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Here in the Netherlands there are 2 type's of Type R, the "Type R"and the 'Type R Race".
They are very much alike but there are some options that the race version doesn't have such as a/c.
It is also a lot cheaper +/- 32000 Euro v.s 35000 Euro.
Gr. Koos.
Koos Holswilder is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 12:24
Naughty but nice
 
angie4m's Avatar
 
Car: Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: 28th September 2007
Location: Edinburgh SCOTLAND
Posts: 4,134
Thanks: 49
Thanked 103 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknownsoldier View Post
Maybe lease ones arn't the R but the S spec???? That comes without aircon??? Perhaps dealers in their haste to flog them failed to notice/comprehed the difference in model. As my Car the S, cames as S(tandard) S(port) & S-GT, the first one comes with virtually nothing, including no aircon. I believe the came similar - R(ace), R(Standard), R (normal), R-GT.

Tom
The S spec type R doesn't even have a radio Tom.

There are three types of R:

Type R S Spec - no air con, radio etc and cost 16,627 (July 2007) and this is the version you should buy for racing as it basically stripped out. This is the one that guy on here who has the champ white race one bought.

Type R - comes without the cooled glovebox, autolights, wipers, mirrors etc cost 17,627 (July 2007)

Type R GT - with all the extra's mentioned above that the R didn't have cost 18,627 (July 2007)

The dealers cannot sell you a S Spec without you specifiying this. Most dealers don't actually know what the S Spec is as its listed in very small print at the bottom of the brochure and advises that you contact your dealer for details lol!!
angie4m is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 14:17
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Perhaps a c*ck up at the factory then, this is a most odd thing.......

Tom
Unknownsoldier is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 14:38 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
ashkeenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 960
Thanks: 109
Thanked 184 Times in 161 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have spoken to honda customer care and they verified that it should have an air con button as it comes standard across the S & R range apart from the stipped out version. I wonder if i have been given the wrong model or theres been a c**k up somewhere.

I will do some further investigation, and will bring this up on monday when it goes in for the alarm fault for the second time as they thought it was working when i left it the first time, dohhh!!!
ashkeenon is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 29th July 2008, 14:42
Lord of JAE.....
 
Unknownsoldier's Avatar
 
Car: 58' NHB Type R-GT
Join Date: 22nd September 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,395
Thanks: 397
Thanked 177 Times in 158 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sounds like grounds to reject the car.....

Tom
Unknownsoldier is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome