TMC TMC not working? (Finland) - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 31st July 2008, 07:32 Thread Starter
 
Skaven252's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2006
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 251
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Question TMC not working? (Finland)

During the last few months I've come to notice that the TMC (Traffic Message Channel) no longer works in my satnav, as in, there are no warnings about road works, accidents or traffic jams in the map, nor anything mentioned in the Info/Events list. The "TMC" icon is always red (seeking signal) but never green (receiving).

I'm not exactly sure when this happened, but I think it happened during the last service. I looked through the manual and the menus but couldn't find any help there. Does anyone know how to fix this? Or is the TMC service no longer available in Finland, or has its frequency(?) changed or something? (what is it called in Finnish anyway?)

Thanks.

Found the Finnish instance responsible for the TMC:
http://www.destia.fi/tmc/english/locationtable.asp
http://www.destia.fi/tmc/english/consumers.asp

(... however, these didn't quite yet explain why my TMC stopped working.)

Last edited by Skaven252; 31st July 2008 at 07:37. Reason: Added links
Skaven252 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 31st July 2008, 14:54
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Is the TMC indicator going from pink to blue?

Have you had a look in the diagnostic menu?
Pottsy is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 31st July 2008, 18:12 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Skaven252's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2006
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 251
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for the tip! Just went and did. The Unit Check / TMC Status displayed the following values:

Frequency: 103.7 (this kept changing)
Field Strength: 7 .. 10
Error Rate Correction: 1
Uncorrected Blocks / min: 5
TMC Group Counter = 0 .. 5
Provider Count = 0

Unlike in the picture of the thread you pointed me to, there is no "message counter" row at all.

Hmm. Provider count = 0.. does this mean they've stopped, like, providing?
Skaven252 is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 31st July 2008, 18:21
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Have a look at this:

www.tiehallinto.fi

Suggests the service was stopped a while ago...?..

Maybe you can contact the providers and ask?

http://www.destia.fi/tmc/english/


Looks like it is encrypted now and only some equipment can use it.


Traffic Message Channel - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia



FWH is offline  
Thanks to FWH from:
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 31st July 2008, 18:30 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Skaven252's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2006
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 251
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks!

I see... looks like there's nothing I can do at the moment, then. The commercial service is only available for some devices (if any right now), and the free of charge table has to be downloaded, then somehow uploaded into the car - something I wouldn't feel like doing every day.

From the decision letter:
Quote:
Finnra has decided that the publicly funded and provided pilot service will end during 2006. This decision conforms to Finnra´s traffic management policy and facilitates the development of commercial services in Finland.
Okay, so the commercial services are now 'facilitated', but it remains to be seen how reliable or reasonably priced they will be.

A quote from the FAQ:
Quote:
Q: Why my navigator doesn't receive TMC messages anymore?
A: Destia has turned encryption on in April 2007


Q: Why isn't it possible to keep public messages on until my device's manufacturer implements encryption keys to the device?
A: It is not technically possible to send both public and encrypted messages at the same time. It takes different amount of time for manufacturers to do the necessary changes into their devices. First contracts with navigation device manufacturers are well on their way.


Q: Why TMC service is no longer publicly funded?
A: Finnish Road Administration decided to end their public service because of the high fixed costs. That is why the service is continued as a commercial service.


Q: Which devices supports Destia's encrypted service?
A: When supported devices come to market, it will be informed in these pages.


Q: What kind of information is broadcasted?
A: Please check "Broadcasted information" page.


Q: Where can I buy encryption key?
A: At the moment it is not possible to buy encryption key. The delivery of the encryption key varies from manufacturer to manufacturer. We will inform more about this when contracts with the manufacturers are made.

Last edited by Skaven252; 31st July 2008 at 18:33.
Skaven252 is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 31st July 2008, 18:32
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I doubt you could upload to the Civic.



FWH is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st August 2008, 06:07 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Skaven252's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2006
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 251
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So, I wonder, what were the "too high fixed costs" they mentioned as the reason as to why the service was stopped? The data table is still available for free. Is broadcasting a national radio signal expensive?
Skaven252 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 2nd August 2008, 11:58
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skaven252 View Post
So, I wonder, what were the "too high fixed costs" they mentioned as the reason as to why the service was stopped? The data table is still available for free. Is broadcasting a national radio signal expensive?
Probably the 5000 civil servants needed to administrate it.



FWH is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 3rd August 2008, 20:06 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Skaven252's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2006
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 251
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
^ To broadcast an already freely available data table over radio? The table itself is already maintained by 5000 civil servants. Who's paying for their work then?
Skaven252 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 3rd August 2008, 20:18
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skaven252 View Post
^ To broadcast an already freely available data table over radio? The table itself is already maintained by 5000 civil servants. Who's paying for their work then?
You.



FWH is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 4th August 2008, 08:38 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Skaven252's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2006
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 251
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
But it doesn't make sense. So the state still pays for most of the expenses (running the civil servants), but broadcasting the signal was privatized so the profit will go to the private sector?
Skaven252 is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 4th August 2008, 22:32
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skaven252 View Post
But it doesn't make sense.
No, but that is government for you...



FWH is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 12th August 2008, 09:31
 
Jani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th October 2006
Location: Finland FI
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
** EDIT Post in Finnish deleted - please post only in English in accordance with the Forum Rules, thank you. / FWH **

What's the status of this thing in Finland, is it true that tmc really doesn't work? It would be weird, because TMC in Tomtom works just okay.

Last edited by FWH; 12th August 2008 at 09:43. Reason: non english post
Jani is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 12th August 2008, 09:38 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Skaven252's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st June 2006
Location: Espoo, Finland
Posts: 251
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
^ Does it work out of the box, or did you need to buy a special TMC receiver for it?
Skaven252 is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 12th August 2008, 13:22
 
Jani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th October 2006
Location: Finland FI
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Yes, of course you need to have a tmc receiver, so that you can receive tmc transmissions. Tmc receiver comes in same package with certain Tomtoms.
But yes, tmc works in Finland.. there's propably something in your satnav..
Jani is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Tags
tmc , traffic message channel

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello from Finland civsport18 Introduce yourself 6 5th January 2008 10:48
Hi from Finland Andy12 Introduce yourself 5 12th September 2007 07:35
Finland repales Wiki Article Discussion 0 1st July 2007 16:37
AC/Heater air con not working middypusss Electronics (8G) 3 28th June 2007 09:54
Greetings from Finland Skaven252 Introduce yourself 11 2nd June 2006 05:29

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome