Safety Cameras Snooper Sapphire Camera Detector - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 13:25 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Snooper Sapphire Camera Detector

As most of you who know me may have gathered I like my gadgets !! I am hhinking of buying Snooper Sapphire Camera Detector , has anyone got one and are they any good ??


Rich 11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 14:20
 
Join Date: 2nd December 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
do yourself a favor and get a tom tom sat nav camera detector is exellent and you can update then whenever you like
butchtrucker is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 14:22
 
3rd Honda's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th July 2006
Location: Tewkesbury GB
Posts: 450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have one.

Its OK but;

Good points;
  • Excellent clear display
  • Easy controls
  • Laptop software works easily and quickly for updates (Windows XP)
  • Neat and well made
  • Additional cables and brackets easily available
Bad points;
  • Slow to acquire GPS (several minutes)
  • Not always up to date on motorway restrictions
  • Doesn't warn on well known (locally) areas for mobile detector vans
  • Easy to forget to turn off - so flattening its internal battery
  • In some areas - warns on pretty much every motorway bridge - which may be right, but is very annoying!
Would I buy again - probably not, but not so much due to a problem with the unit as I just find it too tedious to keep taking the unit out whenever the car is parked - and to leave it in place is an invitation to a thief.
therefore it doesn't get used much on local journeys (where I know where the 'risk areas' are) and its all too easy to forget it when going further afield.

If I didn't frequently move it between 2 cars and could permanently install it out of site with a remote antenna - then the answer would be different, but it all gets a bit hard to do that - and to buy two sets of hardware gets expensive with remote antennas etc. (Pretty sure there's a remote antenna kit)
3rd Honda is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 14:38 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Great well thanks . I do have a Tom Tom with speed cameras but dont use it unless going far a field. All I want is something to remind me when travelling with a passenger as you tend not to have 100% concentration.
Thanks again..........................still making my mind up
Rich 11 is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 14:55
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
I recently bought a Novus Alpha - and it really is very good.

Good Points:
  • Small.
  • Excellent clear display, with speeds clearly shown.
  • Very clear and smooth voice.
  • Bad bend alert.
  • 20 seconds to acquire.
  • USB updating (no silly serial ports).

Bad points:
  • 2 modes only - one mode doesn't continue to warn you if you're too fast, the other mode beeps every hour.
  • Silver strips can catch the sun and reflect in your windscreen (see photo).
  • No auto-brightness, you have to use the remote control. Idiots.
20080806_1655.jpg

20080806_1657.jpg
Pottsy is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 15:04
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Or you could go TalexLite/Novus Delta that have free lifetime updates (same unit, different name, both accept the free Novus updates).

I have the Lite and it does take some time for them to update the database. In my experience some new cameras can take 3 or 4 weeks to appear.

Nowhere near as accurate as the PGPSW database but it is directional which is a plus.

I looked at the Sapphire but the subs put me off.
Kremmen is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 15:12 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Cheers Pottsy...............that looks quite a nifty bit of kit , can you recharge from the mains ? Also thanks Kremmen
Rich 11 is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 15:16
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
I wonder how the Novus Alpha subscription will work. The update process is just the same as the others - download a file (no logging in, no registration, nothing) and zap it in locally with the uploader software.

Since they don't know I have bought the unit, it will be hard to try and start charging in 12 months.
Pottsy is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 15:17
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich 11 View Post
Cheers Pottsy...............that looks quite a nifty bit of kit , can you recharge from the mains ? Also thanks Kremmen
There's no battery - you either use the fag lighter lead, or hard wire it like I did (5 minute job using the fuse box trick).
Pottsy is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 15:18 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It has to be plugged in the Pottsy ? I was after something that would not rely on plugging as as i am getting overloaded with gadget cig plugs lol
Rich 11 is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 15:19 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The fuse box trick ??.............Wiki I suppose ?
Rich 11 is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 15:21
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Pottsy is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 15:25 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thank you Maestro !!
Rich 11 is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 16:03
BJJ IS NOT JUST FOR XMAS
 
illegalhunter's Avatar
 
Car: DS3
Join Date: 10th May 2007
Location: On the mat choking people SCOTLAND
Posts: 4,720
Thanks: 9
Thanked 137 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Get a radar defussor no more worries
illegalhunter is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 21:21
Foglight Covers FORSALE
 
gray52's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd November 2006
Location: East Anglia EUROPEANUNION
Posts: 3,170
Thanks: 67
Thanked 130 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader: (60)
i have the sapphire and i like it. it does take a while to get started but once its going it is good. i went for it mainly because of the built in battery and its small size, and you can change the screen colours as well. updates are very easy and simple, and i got the lifetime sub for £99. i swaped a road angel for it which was ugly on the dash, this is alot better, and they are now down to £99. you can have a red display so would look good in yours.
gray52 is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 6th August 2008, 21:32
Naughty but nice
 
angie4m's Avatar
 
Car: Z4 sDrive35is
Join Date: 28th September 2007
Location: Edinburgh SCOTLAND
Posts: 4,134
Thanks: 49
Thanked 103 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by illegalhunter View Post
Get a radar defussor no more worries
I have a Snooper S5-R which is for camera vans and radar/lasers and the fixed cameras. I think if your going to be done its more likely by the vans on the M6 for me. That way I don't have to have Beep Beep when there is nothing there (because its a hot spot for the traps to be set up).

As for the Radar defussor, some guy in Walse was prosecuted for using one of these devices, some are already illegal and if your caught with one working then you get slapped with peverting the course of justice I believe!
angie4m is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th August 2008, 06:23
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pottsy View Post
I wonder how the Novus Alpha subscription will work. The update process is just the same as the others - download a file (no logging in, no registration, nothing) and zap it in locally with the uploader software.

Since they don't know I have bought the unit, it will be hard to try and start charging in 12 months.
My TalexLite updater has a unit serial and a subs serial that have to be entered on first download. From then on it remembers the details and performs the download after checking the numbers.

I bought my Lite in April 2007 and subsequently the one years subscription kit in May 2007.
I am still downloading my updates from Talex every weekend so I have not yet had to resort to the free Novus equivalent - yet!

Hopefully Novus are just as vigilant

Last edited by Kremmen; 7th August 2008 at 06:25.
Kremmen is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th August 2008, 08:17
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
The Novus updater does none of that. You just tell it where the local file you downloaded is and it loads it in.

Now it may be doing some stuff in the background - I shall try downloading the file, unplugging from the network, and then uploading to the Alpha.
Pottsy is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th August 2008, 08:34
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sounds different then - that's how the Novus Delta updater works. Download the file and run it as an exe.

The Talex updater fires off from a shortcut, identifies which COM port it's attached to, checks the credentials, if OK it then downloads the file and updates the Lite behind the scenes, you get no opportunity to save/examine the file.
Kremmen is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th August 2008, 09:26
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
The Alpha needs no internet connection, and passes no serial numbers back and forth (just tested!).

You get the database file manually from here:
NovusGPS

And the the uploader does it's bit without an internet connection:

novusalpha.gif
Pottsy is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install an Origin B2 speed camera detector Swindon Japster This is How To ... (Guides Only) (8G) 25 13th March 2008 19:42
Safety Cameras Camera Detector - what is best raineeslover Electronics (8G) 19 23rd January 2007 16:53
Speed camera detector and civic windscreen? eyewatcher General Discussion (8G) 3 25th June 2006 15:30

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome