Electrics Main relay location - Civinfo

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 9th February 2015, 22:04 Thread Starter

Main relay location

hi, this is my first time posting, be gentle.

my car wont restart after being driven for a short while unless its allowed to cool down for about 10-15 minutes, longer if its hotter. i've looked online and everything points to the main relay and can be fixed with a little bit of soldering or just a new part. problem is i cant locate the sodding thing.
does anyone know where it is and if so can they please show me.
ive googled my socks and all ive come up with is under the dash on the drivers side. taken the covers off but cant see it anywhere.
can someone please help, thanks for your time
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th February 2015, 17:29
Supporter

Car: 2006 1.8 EX
You'll need to give more information before anyone is even able to attempt to help you.

Petrol or Diesel?
Age of car?
What exactly is happening when it doesn't start. i.e. doe's the starter motor sound OK.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th February 2015, 18:34 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **

It's a 2008 desiel cdti. I'm pretty sure I know what the problem is but I can't locate it in the car.
If I drive a short distance and turn he engine off the car will start ok but fails to start after a longer journey when it's hotter.
When I turn the ignition on the check engine light, vsa warning light and airbag warning light all come on. The electric stays off for a second or two and then comes back.
I have googled the problem a lot and many people have had the same thing happen and it's the main relay. It over heats and the solder cracks over time and each time the car gets hot the connection becomes poor and the car won't start because the fuel pump is not engaging. It can be repaired with a little bit of soldering but I can't find the main relay.