Safety Cameras Talex GPS Speed Camera Detector - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 51 (permalink) Old 25th August 2008, 16:59 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Talex GPS Speed Camera Detector

Anyone got one of these ?...... *BRAND NEW* Talex

Feedback most welcome please
Rich 11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 51 (permalink) Old 25th August 2008, 19:20
Veedub
 
Nitehawk's Avatar
 
Car: 2065 White Orchid SR
Join Date: 2nd March 2007
Location: East Anglia WALES
Posts: 465
Thanks: 318
Thanked 52 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Garage
Isn't that the same guy that our Unknown Soldier showed another advert on recently. The video and claims made about Stealthy SPECS and the BTST Locator.

This has to be an interesting topic if anyone has anything to offer here
Nitehawk is offline  
post #3 of 51 (permalink) Old 25th August 2008, 20:09
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
This new Talex is just a reincarnation of the original Talex in a fancy suit (IMO).

My TalexLite works well and I've never any real problems.

They have been a bit slow in the past to update new cameras. 3 new ones I know of having taken 3-4 weeks to be incorporated into their database.

If you can get one at a good price then they are fine.
Kremmen is offline  
 
post #4 of 51 (permalink) Old 26th August 2008, 18:08 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Bought one finally.............
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG00013.jpg (52.8 KB, 343 views)
Rich 11 is offline  
post #5 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 07:48
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've fitted mine so I just have a short bit of lead showing :

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...te-fitted.html
Kremmen is offline  
post #6 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 07:52 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Cheers Kremen............I will have to get around to sorting the wiring out. Its an awsome bit of kit. I had problems downloading the updates on the office PC rang them in the afternoon , they could not give me a deffinative answer and rang me back at 8.30pm with a solution !!! now thats serice !!
Rich 11 is offline  
post #7 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 07:57
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've noticed that the new one has the power lead on the left, not helpful to our RHD cars and concealed wiring.

Can you do me a huge favour ?

I have read on another forum a user who reckons that these units work perfectly OK in the cubby hole just above the gearstick (with the flap).

Because my wiring is now semi built-in I don't want to remove it only to find it doesn't work.

If you could do a test whilst you still have the wiring free. If it does work then I could leave the unit in-situ and just close the flap when I park and the wiring would be completely concealed.
Kremmen is offline  
post #8 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 08:04 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ok..............can only try it ? I thought it needs to be in sight of the sky though ?
I'm in the CTR today so I will try it at some point

Last edited by Rich 11; 27th August 2008 at 08:15.
Rich 11 is offline  
post #9 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 09:47
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I thought that as well, but this other post said it's working OK in there !

I'm dubious but I didn't want to rip out my carefully routed wire to check.

I have noticed that even going down an overhanging tree lined road the speed readout can freeze until it sees the sky again.
Kremmen is offline  
post #10 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 10:05 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The mans right !!! It works fine, I attached a couple of photos.....
Been through a couple of Speed Cameras in town, clock updates , it shows current speed and its tucked away !!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG00014.jpg (87.7 KB, 271 views)
File Type: jpg IMG00015.jpg (69.0 KB, 266 views)

Last edited by Rich 11; 27th August 2008 at 10:08.
Rich 11 is offline  
Thanks to Rich 11 from:
post #11 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 12:15
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Excellent stuff - thanks

Now to find the time to rework the wiring.

My cable already runs from the front ciggy lighter base, suitably in-line fused, along the bottom side of the console, and routed up to where the unit is.

Job is to re-route out of the back of the cubby hole and through the center console and re-connect = no visible wires at all.

Proper Job !

Last edited by Kremmen; 27th August 2008 at 12:20.
Kremmen is offline  
Thanks to Kremmen from:
post #12 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 12:27 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi Krem...............just been out again and it works fine. Once you have found a means of re routing could you let me know ***. It really handy being able to flip the cover over when you leave the car. I never really used that compartment and now its found its rightfull use lol
Rich 11 is offline  
post #13 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 12:44
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'm already familiar with that area and it's going to be fiddly.

That cubby hole, top back, already has a gap that will take the wire. What I intend to do is to use some long(ish) thin flexible plastic and try and poke a route from the gap to somewhere behind the console that I can reach.

From there it's a simple matter of running along the bottom edge of the console (where your left knee sits) and up into the area under the ciggy lighter.

What you will need to do though, is, like me, cut the existing Talex wire and fuse it accordingly.

Inside the black outer casing of the existing Talex wire is 2 thin wires black & red that need connecting the correct way.

What I've already done is to cut the wire going to the ciggy lighter and rejoined it using those chocolate block style connectors with screws to trap the wires. From that is my Talex wires held firmly in place as a spur connection.

I did try soldering to the ciggy lighter but it just wouldn't stick properly.

I may consider, whilst I'm in there fitting an in-line switch. When I turn on the ignition, the Talex does it's bootup. Then when you press the start button it kills the power temporarily and the Talex then does a second bootup when the power is restored. Not sure if this is doing the unit any good or not.
Kremmen is offline  
post #14 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 12:56 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Jeez Krem....want to fit mine ? lol
Rich 11 is offline  
post #15 of 51 (permalink) Old 27th August 2008, 13:15
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You will need to remove the centre console, but that's very easy.

Just 4 side bolts to remove first, then lift up, front first by the bottom sides, which pull out slightly to help. There are 3 connectors that mean you need to apply a little force but not too much.

Just dont lift it too much at the front until you have unplugged the ciggy lighter wire.

It may be possible to route the wire straight down and forward past the gearstick. I'll have a look when I've got the grey/silver gearstick surround off again as well, makes viewing that area a bit easier.
Kremmen is offline  
post #16 of 51 (permalink) Old 30th August 2008, 17:19 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
One slight drawback........................her voice sounds bit muffled in there
Rich 11 is offline  
post #17 of 51 (permalink) Old 31st August 2008, 07:39
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ta for the info, not had chance to move mine.

Still working OK though?

I think a muffled voice may be acceptable if I can just close the flap to hide it.
Kremmen is offline  
post #18 of 51 (permalink) Old 31st August 2008, 22:43 Thread Starter
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
** Thread starter **
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The flap closes and all is still well
Rich 11 is offline  
post #19 of 51 (permalink) Old 1st September 2008, 06:56
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
That is definately on the Krem radar when I get the time.

If I can do it in reverse and 'engineer' a hole large enough to slot the connector through from the back then I wont need to take out the centre console.
Kremmen is offline  
post #20 of 51 (permalink) Old 1st September 2008, 07:00
Supporter
 
Car: Mazda MX-5 (lightly modded)
Join Date: 1st July 2007
Location: GB GB
Posts: 15,644
Thanks: 1,166
Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,415 Posts
iTrader: (8)
I prefer mine in 'line of sight' as its a much more accurate speedo than the car's
robbo51 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



  LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://www.civinfo.com/forum/electronics-8g/17311-talex-gps-speed-camera-detector.html
Posted By For Type Date
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras This thread Refback 28th January 2009 11:56
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras Forums-viewtopic-GPS Chipsets This thread Refback 28th October 2008 22:14

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety Cameras Snooper Sapphire Camera Detector Rich 11 Electronics (8G) 20 7th August 2008 10:43
How to install an Origin B2 speed camera detector Swindon Japster This is How To ... (Guides Only) (8G) 25 13th March 2008 19:42
Safety Cameras Camera Detector - what is best raineeslover Electronics (8G) 19 23rd January 2007 16:53
Speed camera detector and civic windscreen? eyewatcher General Discussion (8G) 3 25th June 2006 15:30

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome