Other Programmable flip key - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th September 2008, 14:45 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
gm1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th February 2008
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus CY
Posts: 325
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Programmable flip key

Anyone consider buying this flip key?

HONDA CIVIC TYPE R TYPE S CHROME FLIP KEY REMOTE +PROG on eBay, also, Honda, Car Parts, Cars, Parts Vehicles (end time 10-Sep-08 00:45:21 BST)

I checked the compatibility with the numbers specified on our key and they are exactly the same. Im thinking to give it a try since i don't want to destroy my existing key. BTW I have already purchased a flip key case but im afraid of dismantling the transporter. The only problem I can see with this one is the fading of the chrome buttons.
gm1980 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th September 2008, 14:52
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Posts: 10,247
Thanks: 77
Thanked 412 Times in 391 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Its quite an expensive key!
Wheelchair is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th September 2008, 14:59 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
gm1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th February 2008
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus CY
Posts: 325
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Maybe yes. But consider damaging your key. This will cost any cheaper than order another key from honda. I wrote to him and negotiating the price since is great opportunity for him to sell here.
gm1980 is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th September 2008, 15:00
TYPE R GT (R-15016)
 
Rich 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th May 2008
Location: Kingston upon Hull (Red & White side), East GB
Posts: 2,224
Thanks: 17
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I saw this and thought it was exspensive
Rich 11 is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th September 2008, 15:24
 
Join Date: 14th April 2007
Location: South Manchester/North Cheshire GB
Posts: 712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It wouldn't be too bad if the postage wasn't so bloody expensive, £12 to post a key????
cylon2007 is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th September 2008, 15:29 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
gm1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th February 2008
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus CY
Posts: 325
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I thing he is earning money over the postage. Considering that is an envelope he can't ask for 12 pounds.
gm1980 is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th September 2008, 15:49
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2008
Location: Craiova, Romania RO
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Yahoo to Seth81
I already got that and also made the conversion yesterday.
It's pretty nice and by no means as expensive as ordering a key from the dealer.
It cost me about 20GBP in total, I made the switch myself (not recommended).
Seth81 is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th September 2008, 16:08 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
gm1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th February 2008
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus CY
Posts: 325
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
From where did you got it? The guy offered me 35 GBP including postage.
gm1980 is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th September 2008, 16:15
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2008
Location: Craiova, Romania RO
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Yahoo to Seth81
I got the non-programmable one and it was about 16GBP including shipping.
The programmable one is useless to me since my dealer can't program it.
I removed the transponder from the original key and moved it into the new one.
THIS IS the one I have.

Last edited by Seth81; 4th September 2008 at 16:19.
Seth81 is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th September 2008, 16:27 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
gm1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th February 2008
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus CY
Posts: 325
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I thoought of the possibility that my dealer can also ne be able to programm it thats why I have to give him a call before purchasing it.
gm1980 is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 5th September 2008, 13:25
 
contapapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th June 2008
Location: Wavre BE
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth81 View Post
I got the non-programmable one and it was about 16GBP including shipping.
The programmable one is useless to me since my dealer can't program it.
I removed the transponder from the original key and moved it into the new one.
THIS IS the one I have.
Hi, want to buy one like this, but to fit mine in it do I have to do any soldering? or just have to open my keys and place the remote on it? Thanks
contapapo is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 5th September 2008, 14:23
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2008
Location: Craiova, Romania RO
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Yahoo to Seth81
Yes, in my case soldering was required because the transponder is located on the PCB of the key and it has to be moved closer to the new key blade (there is a special slot for it) and also 2 wires have to be soldered to power it.
Seth81 is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 5th September 2008, 16:22
 
contapapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th June 2008
Location: Wavre BE
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth81 View Post
Yes, in my case soldering was required because the transponder is located on the PCB of the key and it has to be moved closer to the new key blade (there is a special slot for it) and also 2 wires have to be soldered to power it.
The same as the old one
contapapo is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th October 2008, 20:06
 
Join Date: 27th September 2008
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth81 View Post
I got the non-programmable one and it was about 16GBP including shipping.
The programmable one is useless to me since my dealer can't program it.
I removed the transponder from the original key and moved it into the new one.
THIS IS the one I have.
Why do you have 3 buttons on it? What's the third button for?
crableg is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 4th October 2008, 23:54
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2008
Location: Craiova, Romania RO
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Yahoo to Seth81
I believe it's for trunk/boot release in case the vehicle has this feature.
In my case at least it doesn't, I had to install it separately and open it using the car alarm remote.
Seth81 is offline  
post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 5th October 2008, 19:12
 
Join Date: 27th September 2008
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth81 View Post
I believe it's for trunk/boot release in case the vehicle has this feature.
In my case at least it doesn't, I had to install it separately and open it using the car alarm remote.
I see, but is there civic with that feature installed from the factory?
crableg is offline  
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 5th October 2008, 19:14
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Posts: 10,247
Thanks: 77
Thanked 412 Times in 391 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Maybe the US models I think.
Wheelchair is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 8th October 2008, 21:13
Supporter
 
Join Date: 15th July 2007
Location: Essex
Posts: 317
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Do Honda cut keys as part of their service department? Failing that can anyone recommend a reliable laser-cutting place in Birmingham?
Naresh is offline  
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 8th October 2008, 23:37
Captain Slog
 
LoonyJohn's Avatar
 
Car: 07 2.2 NHB sunroof & camera
Join Date: 18th February 2007
Location: NE Derbyshire ENGLAND
Posts: 162
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Anyone Know about this flip key?

I sent a question "is this compatible with the euro civic" but the reply was the automatic "please consult the compatibility list"...

eBay Motors: 06 07 08 2006 2007 2008 HONDA CIVIC LX FLIP KEY REMOTE (item 250303701876 end time Oct-06-08 11:46:20 PDT)


LJ
LoonyJohn is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 8th October 2008, 23:45
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Posts: 10,247
Thanks: 77
Thanked 412 Times in 391 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'm sure I've seen that key here somewhere......

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/general...-flip-key.html

Plenty to look through, happy hunting!
Wheelchair is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who wants a flip key? XCGuard General Discussion (8G) 1290 19th February 2015 12:12
Flip key J luijmen Wiki Article Discussion 5 22nd May 2010 15:36
Where Buy a Flip Key??? spinaxyz General Discussion (8G) 2 28th March 2008 06:56
Alarm Flip Keys pekwah1 Electronics (8G) 19 15th July 2007 23:53

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome