Computer Diagnostics Menu - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 11:22 Thread Starter
Smell My Cheese!
 
richierich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2006
Location: Bicester, Oxfordshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Diagnostics Menu

Was speaking to a Honda dealer today about the on-going problems with the Hands Free Telephone, and although he has had no complaints there is a method of checking the mic level when speaking, it is in the diagnostics menu.

To enter the menu hold down the "map" , "menu" and "backup" button on the dash, after 2 or 3 seconds the diagnostics menu pops up, has all sorts of checks for the GPS, mic levels etc. too much for me to go into and try to understand, but maybe one of the more techy peeps can shed light on it.

Honda recommend that the mic level should give the green bars in the top 1/3 when talking into the microphone. I did this stationary and just a normal voice was well in to this area, tried the same thing whilst moving and the background noise is actually higher than my voice when stationary. Might explain a few things. I do not know the purpose of this check, whether it is so you can fine tune the loudness of your shouting in to the microphone when travelling at anything over 20mph.

I am waiting for the full information emailing through and will post it later, not sure if you can tune the microphone to take away the backgroiund or not.

Not sure whether this is off topic, but how many people are actually satisfied with the quality of the calls made using the HFT, want to make sure I am not accusing the system of being poor when there might be a fault, I know we have the How to change the microphone position, but who actually has issues with the mic.

Richierich
richierich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 11:53 Thread Starter
Smell My Cheese!
** Thread starter **
 
richierich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2006
Location: Bicester, Oxfordshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So how many of you who have viewed this thread have just been outside and tried this?
richierich is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 11:58
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
I'm at least 11 hours away from seeing the car again....

Can't wait!

Richierich gets gold star of the day.
Pottsy is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 12:05
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
Wonder if there's a similar mode for the non-EX HU.
basegreen is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 12:25
Supporter
 
Fedorov's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 Diesel, Sporty Blue
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Can't wait to overclock my Civic engine a bit!!!
Fedorov is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 12:39
Explosive Mind Unleashed
 
Kpow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th May 2006
Location: London
Posts: 549
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Kpow99
Well I've just woken up and still in my shorts....better get dressed......
Kpow99 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 12:59
Explosive Mind Unleashed
 
Kpow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th May 2006
Location: London
Posts: 549
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Kpow99
Wow that's great, not going to bother listing but alot of stuff on there as Potts can do a photo shoot later , TMC for example is showing that it's getting it's info from 106.2 which is HeartFM in London.

Lots and lots of wierd and wonderful things, tried the mic thing and it says "Recording" but don't know if you need to speak quietly to increse the gain or shout at it. tried the quiet approach and I'll test later when I go out.

Got the TomTom style sat position thingy too that shows positions and if they have a lock or not.

Thanks Rich
Kpow99 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 13:09
 
Join Date: 3rd May 2006
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Can we [How To] this post please........
WonkySights is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 13:56 Thread Starter
Smell My Cheese!
** Thread starter **
 
richierich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2006
Location: Bicester, Oxfordshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Can probably put a [How To] together on how to access the diagnostics menu, but don't know what most of it means.

Perhaps someone can do a [Translation]
richierich is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 14:06
 
Join Date: 3rd May 2006
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
OK, not clear, can we put this post in the [How To] forum, please post that email when you get it...........
WonkySights is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2006, 14:14 Thread Starter
Smell My Cheese!
** Thread starter **
 
richierich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2006
Location: Bicester, Oxfordshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have added an [How to] to enable you to access the menu, I can do no more on what each one does.

Hope it helps, and thats what you were after! Going to ring dealer now and get this email hurried along.

Richierich
richierich is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 29th May 2006, 19:15
Supporter
 
generationgav's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th May 2006
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 833
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to generationgav
Does anyone know how (or if) there is a diagnostics menu for a civic without the satnav?
generationgav is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 29th May 2006, 19:18
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
It's possible... but not found it yet.
basegreen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[HOW TO] Access Diagnostics Menu richierich This is How To ... (Guides Only) (8G) 22 5th November 2008 10:41
Diagnostics laurence evans Wiki Article Discussion 0 19th September 2007 14:43
Satnav diagnostic menu seejayess Wiki Article Discussion 0 27th August 2007 16:34
Computer Help! Menu Clouseau Electronics (8G) 3 22nd June 2007 18:50

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome