Speedo Digital speedometer refresh rate - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 20th March 2015, 20:39 Thread Starter
GT3
Supporter
 
GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th November 2014
Location: Crewe ENGLAND
Posts: 38
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Digital speedometer refresh rate

Is there a way to make the digital speedo update the speed shown more quickly on the FN2? As an example, watch how quickly the digital speedo on this GT-R updates (appears to be every 0.1 secs or so).


Now, watch the FN2 speedo. It only updates every 0.5 secs or so.

GT3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 21st March 2015, 10:05
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Honestly? I almost cannot read the CT-R speedo, I prefer the FN2 speedo.
As for your question, sorry, I don't think, it is possible to speed up the refresh rate.
Centauri39 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 21st March 2015, 10:11
Supporter
 
Join Date: 9th December 2013
Location: Melton Mowbray GB
Posts: 913
Thanks: 10
Thanked 86 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Its probably controlled by the CPU cycle speed the computer is using.... I doubt it can be changed without making your own component
cavalrystu is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 21st March 2015, 10:29
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavalrystu View Post
Its probably controlled by the CPU cycle speed the computer is using.... I doubt it can be changed without making your own component
I doubt it is the CPU clock speed.
Since the GT-R is a supercar, its speedo speed updates much faster and you also have an analog speedo as well.

With our civics they are eco cars and a hot hatch.

Best way to tell is to see if there is a delay in the data being sent from the ECU to the speedo display or the display is delaying the refresh, if it is the display delaying the refresh that might be fixable but you will need the wiring diagram for it to know what controls the update cycle for the screen and if it is a simple thing like a resistor.
Honda is not going to provide anyone with the wiring diagram for the speedo cluster.
Grayfox is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 21st March 2015, 22:27
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Btw., referring to the GT-R, what's the point in having both an analog and a digital speedo at the same time?
Centauri39 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 22nd March 2015, 01:23
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Centauri39 View Post
Btw., referring to the GT-R, what's the point in having both an analog and a digital speedo at the same time?
Because racecar
Grayfox is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 23rd March 2015, 21:47
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ok, it's a racecar, but I still don't get it, why two speedos?
Centauri39 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 23rd March 2015, 23:14
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Centauri39 View Post
Ok, it's a racecar, but I still don't get it, why two speedos?
Because racecar.

BECAUSE RACE CAR | Know Your Meme
Grayfox is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 24th March 2015, 10:48
 
Join Date: 9th August 2009
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 197
Thanks: 2
Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
In what way is this supposed to be a reply?
Please,... come on... I want a proper reply for a proper question.
Centauri39 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 24th March 2015, 11:08
Supporter
 
FireBIade's Avatar
 
Car: M200, er.....CW
Join Date: 5th November 2010
Location: Bournemouth, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,101
Thanks: 19
Thanked 152 Times in 141 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Flashpro reads speed but I don't know how fast it refreshes. I suspect it's near the limit of the ECU though.
FireBIade is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 24th March 2015, 12:46
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
When I connect my OBD-II reader the ECU gives me updates as soon as they happen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Centauri39 View Post
In what way is this supposed to be a reply?
Please,... come on... I want a proper reply for a proper question.
Ask nissan why it has 3 speedometers to display speed.
I dont know why.
Grayfox is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics How to remove digital speedometer? CivicES_Dave Electronics (8G) 9 25th September 2019 15:20
Suspension Suspension refresh Frank Dux Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 3 11th November 2014 09:24
Suspension Suspension refresh - what do I want? rodenal Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 11 13th December 2012 17:22
Electrics Digital Speedometer Failure Grayfox Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 0 9th February 2012 15:30
Refresh the paint eddgreen Styling (8G) 13 7th May 2011 22:21

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome