Battery Battery Drain Problems - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 13th April 2015, 17:30 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Dubbz's Avatar
 
Car: 57 Bronze FN2 GT
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Warrington ENGLAND
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Battery Drain Problems

Hello all,

After some help or suggestions please

I'm on my 3rd battery in about 6 weeks. The first two were Bosch S4 021 45Ah 330CCA ones. The latest one is a Yuasa HSB053 48Ah 430CCA.

The problem is that they keep going flat. My car wouldn't start this morning after leaving from Friday afternoon. It started fine Friday afternoon coming home from work whereas with the Bosch ones it would slowly begin to labour when starting.

I've had the alternator checked on the first Bosch battery I had and I saw it charging at 14v when the mechanic showed me. I'm really at a loss with what to do and can't keep having this unreliability with my car

The only thing I've done to my car, I guess, was change the Sat Nav CD to another one. Is it possible that the Sat Nav screen is turning off but is continuing to drain the battery?

Thanks for any help
Dubbz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 13th April 2015, 18:04
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,853
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,156 Times in 3,852 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Farqui is offline  
Thanks to Farqui from:
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 13th April 2015, 21:35 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dubbz's Avatar
 
Car: 57 Bronze FN2 GT
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Warrington ENGLAND
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Thanks very much Farqui, I'm just charging the battery in my house at the moment. In the morning, I'll reinstall the battery and try to disconnect that HFT unit just in case. It sounds as though that's likely to be the problem. Will it disable my Satnav? I've never even used the hands free in my car since I bought it nearly 2 years ago hah.

Once I can go buy a multimeter to test for power draw, I'll then reconnect and try diagnose the issue for good. Really can't afford to pay Honda ludicrous amounts to faff about my car for hours, got a baby due in a couple weeks!
Dubbz is offline  
Thanks to Dubbz from:
 
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 13th April 2015, 22:23
Supporter
 
paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th January 2015
Location: Gloucester GB
Posts: 179
Thanks: 4
Thanked 44 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Dubbz the sat nav will still work. Only the phone and any voice commands you may or may not use will stop. Had exactly the same on mine, HFT now disconnected.
paul_s is offline  
Thank You to paul_s from 2 Users:
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 13th April 2015, 22:36
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,853
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,156 Times in 3,852 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubbz View Post
Thanks very much Farqui, I'm just charging the battery in my house at the moment. In the morning, I'll reinstall the battery and try to disconnect that HFT unit just in case. It sounds as though that's likely to be the problem. Will it disable my Satnav? I've never even used the hands free in my car since I bought it nearly 2 years ago hah.

Once I can go buy a multimeter to test for power draw, I'll then reconnect and try diagnose the issue for good. Really can't afford to pay Honda ludicrous amounts to faff about my car for hours, got a baby due in a couple weeks!
If you don't use HFT then unplugging it is a great option. Actually, even if you do use HFT then disconnecting it is still a good option to test if it is the cause of your battery drain.

As has already been mentioned - disconnecting HFT will not disable your satnav.

Let us know how you get on.
Farqui is offline  
Thanks to Farqui from:
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 13th April 2015, 22:45 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dubbz's Avatar
 
Car: 57 Bronze FN2 GT
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Warrington ENGLAND
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Just been out with torch and disconnected the HFT unit. Will report back tomorrow, hopefully after testing with a multimeter.

Thanks for help both
Dubbz is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 13th April 2015, 22:47
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,853
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,156 Times in 3,852 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
You're welcome, well done. Fingers crossed...
Farqui is offline  
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 13th April 2015, 23:24
Type EX,A guy called Mark
 
markvirgo's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Peugeot 208 GTI, 208BHP
Join Date: 22nd June 2007
Location: Northamptonshire ENGLAND
Posts: 3,435
Thanks: 201
Thanked 651 Times in 555 Posts
iTrader: (12)
Check to see if you have the Omron aircon relay as it also causes a drain
markvirgo is offline  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 15th April 2015, 23:06 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dubbz's Avatar
 
Car: 57 Bronze FN2 GT
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Warrington ENGLAND
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Will do markvirgo, thanks. Where abouts would I locate this though?

Batteries not flat yet anyway. I've had a multi-meter on it tonight but it was dark. It was reading between 2.5 and 3.0amps with the car locked. I then removed each fuse one at a time and it didn't drop but I didn't clamp the door switch down.

However, despite that, my wifes dad thought he may have not set the thing properly so we went out again and it was around 0.2amps with the car locked. I do believe this is still excessive though, at least based on YouTube videos I've seen.

I'm going to hang in till weekend and then test is all again in the light. Unless anyone has any further thoughts? Thanks.
Dubbz is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 15th April 2015, 23:14
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,853
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,156 Times in 3,852 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The aircon relay is in the engine bay fuse box.

I hope you got the multimeter scale wrong, your 2nd set of results look better. After ignition off the battery drain will be quite high for a while (15 sec's? I can't recall exactly atm) then it should drop right down. You also need to fool the car into thinking all doors/bonnet are closed to properly test for a drain.

Last edited by Farqui; 15th April 2015 at 23:37.
Farqui is offline  
post #11 of 26 (permalink) Old 17th April 2015, 11:21 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dubbz's Avatar
 
Car: 57 Bronze FN2 GT
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Warrington ENGLAND
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Thanks Farqui. How do you trick the car into thinking the bonnet is shut I can't see any obvious switches like in the door surround?

Checked again last night. Read 0.068 on the reader. I'm not good at electrics, is 50 milliamps 0.050? A YouTube video I saw said anything above that is excessive.
Dubbz is offline  
post #12 of 26 (permalink) Old 17th April 2015, 11:22 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dubbz's Avatar
 
Car: 57 Bronze FN2 GT
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Warrington ENGLAND
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Going to plug in the hft module at weekend and test again. See if it changes anything in terms of amp drain.
Dubbz is offline  
post #13 of 26 (permalink) Old 17th April 2015, 11:25
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,853
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,156 Times in 3,852 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubbz View Post
Thanks Farqui. How do you trick the car into thinking the bonnet is shut I can't see any obvious switches like in the door surround?

Checked again last night. Read 0.068 on the reader. I'm not good at electrics, is 50 milliamps 0.050? A YouTube video I saw said anything above that is excessive.
See Handy Tip at the bottom of Flat battery - Civinfo Wiki

The scale of the mutli-meter will determine what output you are seeing.

Does the drain vary or drop after a few minutes of locking?
Farqui is offline  
post #14 of 26 (permalink) Old 19th April 2015, 15:48 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dubbz's Avatar
 
Car: 57 Bronze FN2 GT
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Warrington ENGLAND
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (3)
It drops after locking the car. I'm not sure whether the meter is accurate though as it reads like 0.01/2 when not even attached to anything. It keeps going up and down. However, it does change when I open/lock the car and the wing mirrors open/fold automatically.

I've pulled out the aircon relay (OMRON) and it rattles inside. Going to get it swapped to another one.
Dubbz is offline  
post #15 of 26 (permalink) Old 21st April 2015, 13:37
Supporter
 
law000's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 EX NHB
Join Date: 5th September 2013
Location: Crawley ENGLAND
Posts: 825
Thanks: 123
Thanked 179 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Sorry I'm late to the party.
When I check my drain I start in the 20amp range (old multi meter doesn't auto range).
When my HFT is plugged in I was getting 0.500A (half an amp). this is excessive.
When HFT removed, after the interior lights go off the drain goes down to 0.002 (to small for the range really)
That is the sort of figure you should be seeing when set to 20A range on your multi meter.

If it is the HFT causing drain then I have a simple fix using a relay.
law000 is offline  
post #16 of 26 (permalink) Old 22nd April 2015, 15:27 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dubbz's Avatar
 
Car: 57 Bronze FN2 GT
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Warrington ENGLAND
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Thanks for the help. I'm not sure if one of my multi meters is working okay. No matter what it won't show anything I've even tested on a working battery. I did try check the volts the other day and thought I'd set it correctly but it got really hot so I took it off. Maybe blew a fuse?

I've got a separate multi meter that doesn't have cables just prongs and that's the one that shows 0.02/1 but can't figure out how to get the reading any smaller. The options don't go down from like 200 to 20 to 2 for example. Her dad just set it on 400? But the only other option on direct amps was 600? I'm a noon probably end up doing more damage if I start changing stuff
Dubbz is offline  
post #17 of 26 (permalink) Old 11th June 2015, 20:57 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dubbz's Avatar
 
Car: 57 Bronze FN2 GT
Join Date: 28th March 2011
Location: Warrington ENGLAND
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Forgot to add to this post but better late than never as may help someone else in the future diagnosing a problem like this.

It was in fact the Aircon Relay (OMRON). I replaced this with a better version Honda now supply and the issue has not returned, car's been running fine ever since

Thanks for help all, was much appreciated.
Dubbz is offline  
Thanks to Dubbz from:
post #18 of 26 (permalink) Old 28th June 2015, 11:15
 
Join Date: 26th June 2012
Location: sheffield ENGLAND
Posts: 103
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Have had an issue with mine on a few occasions battery totally flat,it's been into Honda who can't find anything wrong at all.
Went out to it just this week and nothing,charged battery and started it up left running for 20 minutes,next day nothing again.
Still have Honda warranty with AA assist call them out,tests battery has 5 volts,boost starts car and within 20 mins his readout shows good battery does all tests for parasitic drain,shutdown amps etc all show normal levels.
This is the fourth time they have been out started and tested it all showing normal levels when locked,never leave lights or wipers in auto mode and nothing is plugged into lighter port.
One of the AA guys said he had one and it was caused by water entering around the wiper arm ports and causing a short.Anyone else had this ?.
donetello is offline  
post #19 of 26 (permalink) Old 29th June 2015, 19:21
Supporter
 
law000's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 EX NHB
Join Date: 5th September 2013
Location: Crawley ENGLAND
Posts: 825
Thanks: 123
Thanked 179 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Never heard that, but one this to note is a discharged battery nearly never returns to full working capacity.
5v from a 12v battery is deeply discharged so consider changing the battery.
law000 is offline  
post #20 of 26 (permalink) Old 29th June 2015, 19:30
 
Join Date: 26th June 2012
Location: sheffield ENGLAND
Posts: 103
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by law000 View Post
Never heard that, but one this to note is a discharged battery nearly never returns to full working capacity.
5v from a 12v battery is deeply discharged so consider changing the battery.
The AA guy run the test on it after running the car for 20 mins,and said battery was perfect and did not require changing.
He also run the test with all lights,wipers,radio,air con etc running and it held up fine.
It's strange it seems to happen every few months and will then be fine for ages,started fine today and also fine after being stood for two days whilst I was away.
A mystery fault.
donetello is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
battery drain over night creambun2006 General Discussion (8G) 6 16th May 2014 10:23
Battery Battery drain? stefhuk Electronics (8G) 11 15th July 2013 22:36
battery drain andrew Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 0 26th June 2013 15:05
Battery Battery drain mickstery Electronics (8G) 8 21st November 2012 23:50
AUX in Does xcarlink drain battery? adzyp Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 3 10th June 2012 16:10

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome