Satnav Sat nav voice - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 25th April 2015, 22:08 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Carlos-1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th December 2014
Location: West bromwich ENGLAND
Posts: 323
Thanks: 22
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Sat nav voice

Can anybody tell me which speakers are used for the navigation voive and the siri style information voice?
Carlos-1975 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th April 2015, 07:49
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Built in Alpine
New Honda Connect


???
Kremmen is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th April 2015, 08:09 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Carlos-1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th December 2014
Location: West bromwich ENGLAND
Posts: 323
Thanks: 22
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (3)
The built in honda unit is it alpine?
Thus is the screen i have image.jpg
Carlos-1975 is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th April 2015, 09:24
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'm sure my 8G was the same as my 9G which has a setting to select left, right or both front speakers.
Kremmen is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th April 2015, 11:04
Supporter
 
djewson's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 i-Dtec Sport
Join Date: 28th March 2015
Location: west yorkshire GB
Posts: 52
Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yep can confirm you can choose
Left right or both on my 8g
djewson is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 26th April 2015, 11:33 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Carlos-1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th December 2014
Location: West bromwich ENGLAND
Posts: 323
Thanks: 22
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (3)
So that explains it i have no voice after replacing all my speakers with an amped system loc connected to the rears how have people made this work please ?
Carlos-1975 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 1st May 2015, 08:04 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Carlos-1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th December 2014
Location: West bromwich ENGLAND
Posts: 323
Thanks: 22
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (3)
So please help i am trying to figure out how best to resolve this
My loc is wired to my rear speakers and have a 5 channel amp so replacing all front and rear speakers through the amp so loosing any voice commands etc as no front speakers connected directly to the h/u.
If i connect the original front speaker cables to the new speakers i will not get the mute facility or will i?
Should i just wire in some decent small speakers to give me the voice commands hft etc but then when i turn the volume down i will not get the amped system quiet enough to listen or will i? Any help appreciated
Carlos-1975 is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 1st May 2015, 08:08
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The stock SatNav voice only works through the front speakers so if you've removed them from the loop ....
Kremmen is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 1st May 2015, 08:13 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Carlos-1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th December 2014
Location: West bromwich ENGLAND
Posts: 323
Thanks: 22
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (3)
So whats the best approach to reconnect them ?? Just add the cables into my crossovers for my new fronts of swap the loc to my front speakers surely somebody has done this ?....
Carlos-1975 is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 1st May 2015, 09:58
qc2
Supporter
 
qc2's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Civic Ctdi EX
Join Date: 6th December 2011
Location: london GB
Posts: 46
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Does your amp have separate inputs for front and rear? I'd tap into the front feeds, ideally for just the front (so you won't have the voice through all speakers) but if you have no option of front and rear inputs then replace your existing loc to the front.

Another option would be to fit a single monitor speaker to the front outputs from the HU with a switch that you can flick on/off depending on when you're using the nav
qc2 is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 1st May 2015, 11:12 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Carlos-1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th December 2014
Location: West bromwich ENGLAND
Posts: 323
Thanks: 22
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Yes the amp has outputs for front and rear i am thinking the monitor speaker is maybe the best approach aswell
Carlos-1975 is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 1st May 2015, 14:20 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Carlos-1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th December 2014
Location: West bromwich ENGLAND
Posts: 323
Thanks: 22
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Hhhhhhmmmmm can I say under no circumstances should you bridge the original speakers into the amped speakers as there is a loud pop and then silence from everything so as you guessed it I now have no sound from anything amp still working as it is showing power I am now worried what have I broken here's me hoping it is some kind of thermal cutout any ideas?
It looks like a monitor speaker is the only option
Carlos-1975 is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 1st May 2015, 14:53
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Probably too late now, but why dont you just run your amp from the HU front outputs?

Then HFT mute, sat nav voice etc will all work as it should (muting or fading the output). Just fade everything to the front using the HU settings.
Bog is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 1st May 2015, 14:57 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Carlos-1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th December 2014
Location: West bromwich ENGLAND
Posts: 323
Thanks: 22
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Yeah looks like its to late but thats what i am going to do when i have fixed the ic inside the h/u that controls the internal headunit amplifier
Carlos-1975 is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 3rd May 2015, 19:19 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Carlos-1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th December 2014
Location: West bromwich ENGLAND
Posts: 323
Thanks: 22
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (3)
New head unit in and loc wired through front channel and i have all my voices back in my head and my hft in german but managed to change that back phew
Carlos-1975 is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 7th May 2015, 11:30
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos-1975 View Post
New head unit in and loc wired through front channel and i have all my voices back in my head and my hft in german but managed to change that back phew
Good news... Shame it cost you a new HU
Bog is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 7th May 2015, 12:24 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Carlos-1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th December 2014
Location: West bromwich ENGLAND
Posts: 323
Thanks: 22
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Yeah defo hoping i can get the ic replaced in the damaged unit and sell but need to see how much it will cost lol
Carlos-1975 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satnav Sat Nav Voice query unclefester25 Electronics (8G) 17 19th May 2017 14:07
Other ** Sat Nav voice- please help** Aaroncivic Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 8th January 2015 17:14
Sat nav voice pekwah1 Honda Accord 1 11th July 2009 20:59
Satnav sat nav voice red baron Electronics (8G) 2 15th February 2008 00:31
Satnav Voice of the Sat Nav crazyjammer Electronics (8G) 13 29th September 2007 21:47

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome