AC/Heater Does anyone know what this button does? - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 19:33 Thread Starter
 
arosindale's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th October 2014
Location: Plymouth ENGLAND
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Does anyone know what this button does?

Hi,

As the title suggests, can anyone explain what the "auto" button actually does?


Also can anyone advise why my AC always comes on by default no matter what mode it I select (windscreen demist / feet vents / face vents etc) - I actually have to press the AC switch to the off position (indicated by my smaller dash icon) for any given mode.... very annoying!

Last edited by arosindale; 5th May 2015 at 19:41.
arosindale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 19:42
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,845
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,155 Times in 3,851 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Farqui is offline  
Thanks to Farqui from:
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 19:47
Supporter
 
Car: 2008 EX Galaxy Grey
Join Date: 22nd December 2014
Location: surrey ENGLAND
Posts: 137
Thanks: 22
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
As far as I understand it will maintain the temperature in the cabin that is set using the aircon and normal car heater. The fan will come on and off at different speeds to maintain the temperature. The user manual recommends leaving it on auto.
I'm sure someone with better knowledge will give a better explanation.
baldbiker is offline  
 
post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 19:57
Banned
 
Aqib's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd November 2011
Location: Glasgow, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 7,705
Thanks: 296
Thanked 1,378 Times in 1,315 Posts
iTrader: (26)
It enables the ejector seat
Aqib is offline  
Thanks to Aqib from:
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 20:00
Supporter
 
FireBIade's Avatar
 
Car: M200, er.....CW
Join Date: 5th November 2010
Location: Bournemouth, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,101
Thanks: 19
Thanked 152 Times in 141 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It puts the fans, vents, temperature and air conditioner onto auto mode. The system assumes most people will want the aircon on.
FireBIade is offline  
post #6 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 20:05
Stage 3 Hybrid
 
messiahontrial's Avatar
 
Car: 56 Alabaster FN3
Join Date: 27th August 2012
Location: Ayr ENGLAND
Posts: 6,223
Thanks: 3,270
Thanked 2,328 Times in 1,784 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by arosindale View Post
Hi,

As the title suggests, can anyone explain what the "auto" button actually does?

It ejects the passenger seat, 007 styley !
messiahontrial is offline  
post #7 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 20:09
Ex-Pat Geordie!
 
nturnb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic S Navi I-dtec
Join Date: 17th November 2013
Location: Irvine, Ayrshire GB
Posts: 2,190
Thanks: 119
Thanked 223 Times in 204 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Mine is permanently set at 21c..... Keeps you warm on a cold morning and cools you down on a hot day..... It's good to have your Air Con going on a regular basis, saves the seals drying out and the gas evaporating...

It also brings out the smart arse brigade when you ask dumbass questions about it before you read the owners hand book
nturnb is offline  
post #8 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 20:16
Supporter
 
Car: 2008 EX Galaxy Grey
Join Date: 22nd December 2014
Location: surrey ENGLAND
Posts: 137
Thanks: 22
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by nturnb View Post
Mine is permanently set at 21c..... Keeps you warm on a cold morning and cools you down on a hot day..... It's good to have your Air Con going on a regular basis, saves the seals drying out and the gas evaporating...

It also brings out the smart arse brigade when you ask dumbass questions about it before you read the owners hand book
Been called alot of things in my life but smart arse isn't one of them
baldbiker is offline  
post #9 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 20:19
Ex-Pat Geordie!
 
nturnb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic S Navi I-dtec
Join Date: 17th November 2013
Location: Irvine, Ayrshire GB
Posts: 2,190
Thanks: 119
Thanked 223 Times in 204 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by baldbiker View Post
Been called alot of things in my life but smart arse isn't one of them
Lol, I've been called many, many things worse than that
nturnb is offline  
post #10 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 20:22 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
arosindale's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th October 2014
Location: Plymouth ENGLAND
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ok, cool.

So i press the auto button and no ejector seat

However it does put the fans on FULL blast (and the fan speed bar graph is not present on the dash display either)

The fans stay on full blast... any suggestions why?
arosindale is offline  
post #11 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 20:49
Supporter
 
Car: 2008 EX Galaxy Grey
Join Date: 22nd December 2014
Location: surrey ENGLAND
Posts: 137
Thanks: 22
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by arosindale View Post
ok, cool.

So i press the auto button and no ejector seat

However it does put the fans on FULL blast (and the fan speed bar graph is not present on the dash display either)

The fans stay on full blast... any suggestions why?
Once the preset temperature is reached then they should go off and come back on to maintain the temperature.
baldbiker is offline  
post #12 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 21:22 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
arosindale's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th October 2014
Location: Plymouth ENGLAND
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thats what I though it should do.

Check this video out...

when I press auto and cycle the temps, lowest value is 15 then as turn the temp knob up its not lateral...
so start 15, 16, 17, LO, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29.

Listen for the fans as they change in speed...

Is this video normal behaviour?
arosindale is offline  
post #13 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 21:43
Supporter
 
egraphistudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th August 2008
Location: Planet Earth. ENGLAND
Posts: 944
Thanks: 41
Thanked 88 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (5)
maybe its the connection cable from heating controls/display to your upgraded stereo?
egraphistudios is offline  
post #14 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 22:05 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
arosindale's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th October 2014
Location: Plymouth ENGLAND
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Good point, however I was sure to buy the correct interface cable, granted this still may be an issue as these aftermarket connects2 cables are not an exact science.

Just reinforce my suspicions that this behaviour is not right, as mentioned in my first post, everytime i select "auto" it just ramps up the fans to full continually...

Tonight after my first post, I decided to find out whats going on by following the guide on diagnosis test here: Climate Control - Civinfo Wiki

After completing the diagnosis tests I noticed that not all temperatures are shown as made out in the step by step guide
"On the A/C - Radio display you'll see the sensor number and the value for that sensor. To advance to the next sensor just press the mirror/rear window defogger button.
1st sensor: Cabin temperature C
2nd sensor: Exterior temperature C
3rd sensor: Solar radiation sensor value (Dark=00, Flashlight=04, Cloudy=10, Sunny=65)
4th sensor: Temperature of the air exiting the air conditioning evaporator C
5th sensor: Drivers air mix opening (low value indicates cooler air distribution, higher value indicates warmer air distribution) % open
6th sensor: Passenger air mix opening (low value indicates cooler air distribution, higher value indicates warmer air distribution) % open
7th sensor: Mode positioning % open
8th sensor: recirc flap % open.
9th sensor: vent output air temperature C"


I only get one or two temperatures...

Additionally the auto button no longer just pumps out air at full blast but of that in the video....


Can anyone tell me if their AUTO button acts the same as mine in the video??
arosindale is offline  
post #15 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 22:08
Supporter
 
egraphistudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th August 2008
Location: Planet Earth. ENGLAND
Posts: 944
Thanks: 41
Thanked 88 Times in 81 Posts
iTrader: (5)
did the issue happen after changing head units? or just recently?

My auto is different to yours.

LO,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,25,26,27,28,29,HI

Fan speed increase gradually when choosing auto and also the temp inside the car and the required temp you want.

Last edited by egraphistudios; 5th May 2015 at 22:11.
egraphistudios is offline  
Thanks to egraphistudios from:
post #16 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 22:24
Supporter
 
Car: 2008 EX Galaxy Grey
Join Date: 22nd December 2014
Location: surrey ENGLAND
Posts: 137
Thanks: 22
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Mine was similar and I changed the air con relay last week because cold air was intermittent and the fan speed is better. Maybe a coincidence.
baldbiker is offline  
post #17 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 22:27
Supporter
 
Car: 2007 civic 2.2 ex
Join Date: 26th March 2015
Location: UK WALES
Posts: 76
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Off the subject. Where did you get your carbon dash surround from ? Thanks David.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
davidg0112 is offline  
post #18 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 22:30
SHOCKD
 
JackW's Avatar
 
Car: BMW 116i 2.0
Join Date: 4th November 2012
Location: Newcastle, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 4,351
Thanks: 208
Thanked 669 Times in 632 Posts
iTrader: (11)
I would highly recommend leaving it on around 20-24 AUTO
JackW is offline  
post #19 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 22:32 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
arosindale's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th October 2014
Location: Plymouth ENGLAND
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by egraphistudios View Post
did the issue happen after changing head units? or just recently?

My auto is different to yours.

LO,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,25,26,27,28,29,HI

Fan speed increase gradually when choosing auto and also the temp inside the car and the required temp you want.
Before and after I changed the head unit the auto button would pump air at max, however temps were in sequence.. Only tonight did I try the diagnostic test and now the auto button fans seems to ramp up and down but the temps are no longer in sequence..

I have ordered a relay for the compressor just in case thats causing an issue as I still have the old Omron installed (however it looks in good condition, but its only £16 so decided to buy the corrected relay)
arosindale is offline  
post #20 of 29 (permalink) Old 5th May 2015, 22:33 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
arosindale's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th October 2014
Location: Plymouth ENGLAND
Posts: 46
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackW View Post
I would highly recommend leaving it on around 20-24 AUTO
I'll leave it on auto now it doesnt just blast air in my face... I just can't understand why the temps are out of sequence???
arosindale is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Other What's this button for? TheLegMan Electronics (8G) 6 3rd August 2014 14:09
Like button? Wee-nemo Site suggestions, feedback and rules 83 8th September 2013 14:46
Well done button Josh1987 Any non Civic chat here please! 11 10th November 2009 11:47

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome