Other Flashing rear brake lights - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 9th May 2015, 16:25 Thread Starter
GT3
Supporter
 
GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th November 2014
Location: Crewe ENGLAND
Posts: 38
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Flashing rear brake lights

Was going to put this in the lights section, but figure it must relate to the ECU or some other control unit to make it work.

I'm just wondering, does the FN2 Type R have the flashing brake light feature when under hard braking? I've only seen in on recent cars to be honest. See it on track all the time, mainly stuff like BMWs and VAG cars.


If not, would it be possible to implement this feature? Such have the brake lights flash when ABS kicks in?
GT3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 9th May 2015, 16:48
Supporter
 
thegeekster's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 Civic 1.8 ES Meh Blue
Join Date: 22nd April 2015
Location: Dorset, UK GB
Posts: 412
Thanks: 55
Thanked 70 Times in 63 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
With the right wiring I can't see why not. I'd question if insurers would like you messing with the brake light system though. If it fails your in zee poopenz.
thegeekster is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 9th May 2015, 18:24
Supporter
 
Paulus_25's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20th March 2013
Location: Essex, uk ENGLAND
Posts: 304
Thanks: 17
Thanked 29 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Its a newish feature that has replaced the old system of hazards flashing under heavy braking i believe
Paulus_25 is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 9th May 2015, 18:30
No Smoke no poke
 
wardy2602's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Polished metal Type-S
Join Date: 29th November 2009
Location: stoke-on-trent, uk ENGLAND
Posts: 3,589
Thanks: 699
Thanked 870 Times in 733 Posts
iTrader: (46)
You can buy flashing modules to fit inline off the likes of fleabay.

Wardy
wardy2602 is offline  
Thanks to wardy2602 from:
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 9th May 2015, 20:09
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,853
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,156 Times in 3,852 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by wardy2602 View Post
You can buy flashing modules to fit inline off the likes of fleabay.

Wardy
Can you? How do I miss all this good tech

Last edited by Farqui; 9th May 2015 at 20:11.
Farqui is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 9th May 2015, 20:17
Civinfo's Bulb Supplier
 
Mr JP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd February 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 13,427
Thanks: 553
Thanked 1,431 Times in 1,328 Posts
iTrader: (217)
Many of the VAG cars have the feature
Possible within the software but usually it's set default to off for the UK market, when you activate it within the coding it usually refers to it being for the USA market, not sure why though, I think it's a useful safety feature.
Mr JP is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 10th May 2015, 14:22
Supporter
 
Join Date: 8th March 2012
Location: Idle GB
Posts: 57
Thanks: 10
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've seen it fitted on a Vectra, 3 series and even a GTR in and around Bradford. Flashes 3 to 5 times then stays on every time the brakes are used. Could understand it for when you really slam on, but it looks ridiculous and gets annoying in traffic if it happens all the time.
AndyE is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 10th May 2015, 14:59
Supporter
 
atom3624's Avatar
 
Car: 10G Civic Prestige
Join Date: 18th December 2014
Location: Back to Cold, Wet and Windy Blighty!! GB
Posts: 1,845
Thanks: 320
Thanked 288 Times in 247 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Should be active only above a certain g-force.
Agreed, if it's every time, it'd be a real PItB!!

Al.
atom3624 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 11th May 2015, 19:43 Thread Starter
GT3
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
GT3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th November 2014
Location: Crewe ENGLAND
Posts: 38
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyE View Post
Could understand it for when you really slam on, but it looks ridiculous and gets annoying in traffic if it happens all the time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by atom3624 View Post
Should be active only above a certain g-force.
Agreed, if it's every time, it'd be a real PItB!!
Yep, hence only activating if ABS is triggered.

Problem with only activating at a certain g-force is that in very slippery conditions, you could be slowing down as quickly as the road surface will allow, but the lights may still not flash, as you're only registering a small portion of the g-force achievable in dry conditions.

I don't know how it works on the latest cars, but that's my take on it.
GT3 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 11th May 2015, 20:01
Supporter
 
atom3624's Avatar
 
Car: 10G Civic Prestige
Join Date: 18th December 2014
Location: Back to Cold, Wet and Windy Blighty!! GB
Posts: 1,845
Thanks: 320
Thanked 288 Times in 247 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Agreed - ABS actuated sounds a good compromise.

Al.
atom3624 is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 11th May 2015, 20:55
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT3 View Post
Yep, hence only activating if ABS is triggered.

Problem with only activating at a certain g-force is that in very slippery conditions, you could be slowing down as quickly as the road surface will allow, but the lights may still not flash, as you're only registering a small portion of the g-force achievable in dry conditions.

I don't know how it works on the latest cars, but that's my take on it.
This is how it works on 9G Civic's (The feature was introduced for 2014 MY)... Hazard lights though..
Bog is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 11th May 2015, 21:45
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The reason they don't use the brake lights is a law that says the brake light must burn solid.

It is known that a flashing light gets attention, but why make something that flashes as a normal operation the warning?
Grayfox is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 11th May 2015, 23:37
Type EX,A guy called Mark
 
markvirgo's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Peugeot 208 GTI, 208BHP
Join Date: 22nd June 2007
Location: Northamptonshire ENGLAND
Posts: 3,435
Thanks: 201
Thanked 651 Times in 555 Posts
iTrader: (12)
I have the flashing module on my Civic 3rd brake light, Passed many MOT's with no issues at all.
markvirgo is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rear brake lights paul1 Honda CR-V 5 6th December 2012 20:27
Flashing Brake Lights Charles_Harding General Discussion (8G) 17 4th August 2012 16:50
Other Rear brake lights earth mat8290 Lights (8G) 6 3rd August 2012 00:30

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome