AC/Heater Should I try the relay? - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2015, 13:41 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
jonnyh89's Avatar
 
Car: FK2 Type R GT
Join Date: 4th March 2013
Location: Ballymena, Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 79
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyh89
Should I try the relay?

Usual story with the AC not working at all. I haven't got a clue how to tell if the compressor is running or not.

When I turn the AC on I can hear another fan and engine note changes slightly is this the compressor starting and my relay is fine?

If you look straight down from the alternator is that something to do with the AC, the pulley is spinning with the belt but the shaft isn't.

I tried to remove the relay but it wouldn't budge. Is there something to removing these or just grab and pull?
jonnyh89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2015, 14:28
Supporter
 
jamz05's Avatar
 
Car: 59 1.8 FK2 NHB
Join Date: 24th December 2013
Location: London ENGLAND
Posts: 388
Thanks: 173
Thanked 67 Times in 66 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyh89 View Post
Usual story with the AC not working at all. I haven't got a clue how to tell if the compressor is running or not.

When I turn the AC on I can hear another fan and engine note changes slightly is this the compressor starting and my relay is fine?

If you look straight down from the alternator is that something to do with the AC, the pulley is spinning with the belt but the shaft isn't.

I tried to remove the relay but it wouldn't budge. Is there something to removing these or just grab and pull?
Pair of pliers and pull on the relay. That's what I did with mine

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/bugs-fa...t-failure.html
jamz05 is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2015, 19:52 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
jonnyh89's Avatar
 
Car: FK2 Type R GT
Join Date: 4th March 2013
Location: Ballymena, Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 79
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyh89
Thanks, does it sound like its worth buying a relay to try myself or is it likely something else and need to leave in to garage?
jonnyh89 is offline  
 
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2015, 22:41
Supporter
 
chrisbrit81's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 SE, Silver
Join Date: 6th May 2011
Location: London GB
Posts: 548
Thanks: 19
Thanked 34 Times in 32 Posts
iTrader: (3)
when I first bought my car, the AC wasn't working. took it back and they re-gassed it, still not working. so they then changed the relay and hey presto... nice cold air.

that was years ago, but last week same thing happened. after a few months not using the AC, I flipped it on and I was just getting air the same temp as outside.

I thought, hmmm perhaps getting a new relay again would be a cheap fix instead of taking it to a garage... so I bought the new Mitsuba one.... but that didn't fix it either.

needed to get a garage to look at it in the end, they re-gassed it and charged me for the pleasure... so now I have 2 x relays here, both working fine lol
chrisbrit81 is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2015, 22:45 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
jonnyh89's Avatar
 
Car: FK2 Type R GT
Join Date: 4th March 2013
Location: Ballymena, Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 79
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyh89
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbrit81 View Post
when I first bought my car, the AC wasn't working. took it back and they re-gassed it, still not working. so they then changed the relay and hey presto... nice cold air.

that was years ago, but last week same thing happened. after a few months not using the AC, I flipped it on and I was just getting air the same temp as outside.

I thought, hmmm perhaps getting a new relay again would be a cheap fix instead of taking it to a garage... so I bought the new Mitsuba one.... but that didn't fix it either.

needed to get a garage to look at it in the end, they re-gassed it and charged me for the pleasure... so now I have 2 x relays here, both working fine lol
Im not that bothered about it tbh, it worked well last year when I was setting to low. Since then it's been left around 20 auto but getting a few days now where it would be nice to have again.

Don't suppose you want to sell a mitsuba one cheap?
jonnyh89 is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2015, 22:53
Supporter
 
jamz05's Avatar
 
Car: 59 1.8 FK2 NHB
Join Date: 24th December 2013
Location: London ENGLAND
Posts: 388
Thanks: 173
Thanked 67 Times in 66 Posts
iTrader: (2)
A relay brand new will cost around 20ish quid. Worth a punt IMO, if you can get one on the cheap then go for it. You don't need a garage to change a relay lol.
jamz05 is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2015, 23:07
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,845
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,155 Times in 3,851 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamz05 View Post
A relay brand new will cost around 20ish quid. Worth a punt IMO, if you can get one on the cheap then go for it. You don't need a garage to change a relay lol.
Farqui is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2015, 23:14 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
jonnyh89's Avatar
 
Car: FK2 Type R GT
Join Date: 4th March 2013
Location: Ballymena, Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 79
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyh89
Yea not expensive but I'd still rather not buy one if I don't need to. Wouldn't leave in to garage to change a relay, I'm slightly more competent than that lol. Just wanted to make sure there were no clips or anything holding it in before I try and yank it out.

Ordered a set of mats at the dealer earlier, so when I pick them up I'll ask if they have any I can try.
jonnyh89 is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 25th May 2015, 05:17
Supporter
 
balleballe's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 5 door, NHB
Join Date: 19th February 2015
Location: Gateshead GB
Posts: 628
Thanks: 50
Thanked 95 Times in 85 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You can pick up a Denso one on eBay for £17. Toyota/Lexus use a fair bit of Denso so much be a quality brand
balleballe is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 25th May 2015, 22:30
Supporter
 
chrisbrit81's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 SE, Silver
Join Date: 6th May 2011
Location: London GB
Posts: 548
Thanks: 19
Thanked 34 Times in 32 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyh89 View Post
Im not that bothered about it tbh, it worked well last year when I was setting to low. Since then it's been left around 20 auto but getting a few days now where it would be nice to have again.

Don't suppose you want to sell a mitsuba one cheap?
you can have my Denso one for £10

not sure if we're allowed to "trade" on a non classified's thread... but by all means PM me

Correct, if we see PM trading then a period ban will be set.
chrisbrit81 is offline  
post #11 of 30 (permalink) Old 25th May 2015, 22:32 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
jonnyh89's Avatar
 
Car: FK2 Type R GT
Join Date: 4th March 2013
Location: Ballymena, Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 79
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyh89
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbrit81 View Post
you can have my Denso one for £10

not sure if we're allowed to "trade" on a non classified's thread... but by all means PM me
Thanks but I'm gonna wait and see if the dealer can let me try one, if it works i'll probably just buy it from them.
jonnyh89 is offline  
post #12 of 30 (permalink) Old 26th May 2015, 22:50
Supporter
 
chrisbrit81's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 SE, Silver
Join Date: 6th May 2011
Location: London GB
Posts: 548
Thanks: 19
Thanked 34 Times in 32 Posts
iTrader: (3)
no probs mate.
chrisbrit81 is offline  
post #13 of 30 (permalink) Old 27th May 2015, 05:14
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
No trading via PM until the deal is struck in a thread in For Sale and wanted
Kremmen is offline  
post #14 of 30 (permalink) Old 30th June 2015, 15:55 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
jonnyh89's Avatar
 
Car: FK2 Type R GT
Join Date: 4th March 2013
Location: Ballymena, Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 79
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyh89
Should I try the relay?

Got a relay from Honda and an independent place tried to gas it but compressor still not kicking.

The independent place want the car on Monday to look at it better but I'm not sure I trust them to do much more. They seem a bit rough, just let the gas out of low side and then tried filling it. I thought they should have been checking pressures and stuff on both side before doing anything.

Is there anything I can try looking at myself or should I just go to Honda?
jonnyh89 is offline  
post #15 of 30 (permalink) Old 30th June 2015, 16:35
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,845
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,155 Times in 3,851 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyh89 View Post
Got a relay from Honda and an independent place tried to gas it but compressor still not kicking.

The independent place want the car on Monday to look at it better but I'm not sure I trust them to do much more. They seem a bit rough, just let the gas out of low side and then tried filling it. I thought they should have been checking pressures and stuff on both side before doing anything.

Is there anything I can try looking at myself or should I just go to Honda?
Was the indi a general garage with an A/C recommendation or A/C specialist?

Did they allocate you a slot to investigate or just take a quick look and ask you back for a further look-see?

Yes their kit should have first performed a low pressure EVAC test to check for leaks. Then pressurize the system, without doing this either the low or high pressure switches might not allow the compressor to kick-in.

If relay didn't help then someone needs to check if the compressor is kicking in, can you hear the relay click when the A/C is set on?

There's a few 'How To's floating around on what can be checked and options you have.

Good luck getting it sorted.
Farqui is offline  
post #16 of 30 (permalink) Old 30th June 2015, 16:56 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
jonnyh89's Avatar
 
Car: FK2 Type R GT
Join Date: 4th March 2013
Location: Ballymena, Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 79
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyh89
They are radiator and air con guys not general mechanic. They asked me to come in at 3 today where he released the gas straight away and then tried to top it before I went and got a relay.

Never mentioned any pressure switches just said they would need to check where and what was getting power. Said to leave it in on Monday morning.

Spoke to dealer and they wanted 75 for an hours diagnostic but their mechanic said the other guys were pretty clued up on the air con stuff so I'll just let them look at it.

I'm not even that bothered about AC but don't like thinking that something's broke on the car.

Will they need to take much off the car to look at it? I'm worried they'll scrape the bumper or something if it has to come off.
jonnyh89 is offline  
post #17 of 30 (permalink) Old 30th June 2015, 17:03
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,845
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,155 Times in 3,851 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Without a FMIC up front they should be able to check the condensor/drier by only removing the slam panel and possibly the under tray.

The front bumper should be able to stay put. However if they need to swap out the condensor/drier then the bumper may have to come out if they struggle with the lower hose fixing.

Now you have a relay, have you tried it?
Farqui is offline  
post #18 of 30 (permalink) Old 30th June 2015, 17:05 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
jonnyh89's Avatar
 
Car: FK2 Type R GT
Join Date: 4th March 2013
Location: Ballymena, Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 79
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyh89
Yep I went back down to them and he connected up the gas and put the relay in but no joy.

Read on one of the threads about disconnecting battery so trying that now.
jonnyh89 is offline  
post #19 of 30 (permalink) Old 6th July 2015, 16:40 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
jonnyh89's Avatar
 
Car: FK2 Type R GT
Join Date: 4th March 2013
Location: Ballymena, Northern Ireland NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 79
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyh89
Been told the clutch is seized in the pump, take it he talking about the compressor?

Anyone any ideas where to go from here? I'd like it fixed but not wanting to spend £100's for A/C

Last edited by jonnyh89; 6th July 2015 at 16:44.
jonnyh89 is offline  
post #20 of 30 (permalink) Old 6th July 2015, 16:44
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,845
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,155 Times in 3,851 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Farqui is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC/Heater Where are these relay's then? yinmeout Electronics (8G) 2 18th November 2017 19:45
AC/Heater Which relay? Greensprout Electronics (8G) 5 29th May 2012 18:28

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome