AC/Heater Air Conditioning not blowing cold - Condenser? - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 2nd June 2015, 21:23 Thread Starter
 
Car: 2007 Type R
Join Date: 12th March 2012
Location: Surrey GB
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Air Conditioning not blowing cold - Condenser?

Hi all,

I recently took my car for its annual service at a Honda Dealer. Whilst carrying out the service they recommended an air conditioning recharge, which I agreed to. Before this point I had never had any issues with the air conditioning in 3 years. After the service I didnít use the air conditioning for about a month, until on a hot day when I turned it on and it was now no longer blowing out cold air. I took it back to the dealer who said there was no gas in it although they couldnít see any leaks. They re-gassed it adding extra dye this time. For the next 2-3 weeks it was working fine, nice and cold. After about a month it stopped blowing out cold air again. Returning to the dealer they checked it over, saying the condenser had become porous and leaking gas. Is this the only possible reason for it not working, considering the above?

To replace the condenser I was quoted £600 fitted for a Honda one, or £450 fitted for a non-Honda one. However they said the non-Honda one may not fit, they may have to squeeze it in!! Iím quite reluctant to replace it considering I donít use it a vast amount. However I was advised to do it soon otherwise the compressor may go too. Is this a typical price to pay? Does anyone know of a cheaper option in the Hampshire/Surrey area?

Thanks for any advice
TYPR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 2nd June 2015, 21:56
 
Join Date: 26th March 2010
Location: blackburn ENGLAND
Posts: 322
Thanks: 3
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
try ac specialist
eagle123 is offline  
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 2nd June 2015, 22:10
JPP
 
Welshivic's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 EX Nighthawk Black
Join Date: 28th April 2011
Location: Newport, S.Wales WALES
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 61
Thanked 222 Times in 213 Posts
iTrader: (4)
I had a similar problem a few weeks ago, no cold air so called a mobile AC I use and he diagnosed condenser gone with no visible signs of leaks. He quoted me £280 all in but I just got him to regas the system, he also put extra dye in to see how long it lasts. Still going strong at the moment.
Welshivic is offline  
 
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 2nd June 2015, 22:51
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,848
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,155 Times in 3,851 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Odd that several of us have the issue.

Had mine regas'd a couple of months ago but the air is no longer cold. Was regas'd a year ago too so summat ain't right.

The compressor, relay and fans all work.

Regas contained a die but I can't see the air con rad behind my bloomin' FMIC. So it's a bumper off job to look for leaks
Farqui is offline  
post #5 of 31 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2015, 00:45
Supporter
 
Join Date: 12th March 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 43
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Had mine done last year after similar symptoms. After a re-gas it was cold, then it'd stop working again.
Garage said it was the pipework on the condenser had corroded and that's where the gas was escaping. Condenser replaced, it's been fine since.
seannyc3 is offline  
Thanks to seannyc3 from:
post #6 of 31 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2015, 05:46
1.4 can look awsome too
 
thomknud's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.4 sport , Milano red
Join Date: 1st October 2012
Location: Norway NO
Posts: 402
Thanks: 80
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Definitely go to a specialist, they use some more advanced technic to locate the leak than "green spots under UV light", they fill the system and use some kind of "sniffing" tool to locate the leak.

I had leak from my condenser, you could see it had taken quite some damage by stone chips, it was missing some small bits here and there, and therefore it leaked, never mind, they thought this was the problem, but it was a leak on one of the pipes on the condenser. No problem after changing for a new condenser. But had it inspected and regassed 3 times before at a local garage on a periode of 2 years with no fix in the problem, so definitely take it to a AC specialist, they found the problem in under half a hour.

I purchased a cheap aftermarked condenser on ebay for my car, it was a perfect fit, and it look and operate the same, so look for some aftermarked ones, just check the measurement is correct.

Btw
Quote:
Originally Posted by TYPR View Post
Hi all,

After the service I didn’t use the air conditioning for about a month, until on a hot day when I turned it on and it was now no longer blowing out cold air.the above?
What do you mean by you did not use it? It is never a good ide to have the AC turned off, you should always leave it on auto or on for longevity and operation.

Last edited by thomknud; 3rd June 2015 at 05:50.
thomknud is offline  
post #7 of 31 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2015, 14:50
Supporter
 
maus's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTDi SE
Join Date: 25th March 2015
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I think mine has this issue as well. I'm not that bothered seeing as it'd get maybe 7 days of use a year... but still. Anyone who's had it fixed, what did it cost? Or if just regassed and leaky, how long until needing done again?
maus is offline  
post #8 of 31 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2015, 15:41
1.4 can look awsome too
 
thomknud's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.4 sport , Milano red
Join Date: 1st October 2012
Location: Norway NO
Posts: 402
Thanks: 80
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
iTrader: (1)
OEM condenser was 410£, but I found the aftermarked one for 120£, than I paid 140 for regass (standard price in Norway ,because of the environmental unfriendly gas) and another 150 for labor, total of 410£ , this was of course in Norway, so I expect your prices to be a bit under as always... sneaky tea drinkers.

If you do not fix it you are properly begging for a AC compressor failure, could hurt you when you are going to sell the car, it would cost alot more than a condenser shift, but again guys, it takes you maybe 1 hours and 10 bucks to take it to a specialist to get the problem sorted out, than you can decide if it is worth the fixing or not.

EDIT: maus: Or if just regassed and leaky, how long until needing done again?
I had gas in the system for the summer, and in the winter i didn't even notice the gas was out again, since the car blew cold air anyway, but by the time spring was here the car blew no cold air, so I would guess everything between a couple of weeks to maybe half a year before you have to regass again if there is a leak, very unfriendly for the environment and very costly do be doing over and over.

Last edited by thomknud; 3rd June 2015 at 15:46.
thomknud is offline  
post #9 of 31 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2015, 16:27
Supporter
 
TheCorm's Avatar
 
Car: Mercedes c350e Estate
Join Date: 7th May 2013
Location: West Sussex GB
Posts: 263
Thanks: 14
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Had similar issue with our Astra.....Halfords did a service and it leaked out, when our local garage did a service they found the condenser was leaking and without a repair they had to suck all the gas back out leaving it empty, I think it was about a £500 repair.
TheCorm is offline  
post #10 of 31 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2015, 20:17
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,848
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,155 Times in 3,851 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Has anyone had their condenser repaired?

Which then begs the question, is their anyone who can pressure test and repair condensers?
Farqui is offline  
post #11 of 31 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2015, 20:22
1.4 can look awsome too
 
thomknud's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.4 sport , Milano red
Join Date: 1st October 2012
Location: Norway NO
Posts: 402
Thanks: 80
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Cant really see any good reason to repair it if you can find a cheap aftermarked one, you still have to pay for labor, recharge and maybe some parts, and in the end you sit with the same old condenser at a high? cost.
thomknud is offline  
post #12 of 31 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2015, 21:26
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,848
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,155 Times in 3,851 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Would it be a high cost? Radiators can be re-cored cheaply, so I don't see why the can't pipework be repaired.

Cheap replacements are often just that, cheap.

Though you would have to consider the overall condition of the unit to be repaired. To decide if it was worth the effort/cost.
Farqui is offline  
post #13 of 31 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2015, 22:13
1.4 can look awsome too
 
thomknud's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.4 sport , Milano red
Join Date: 1st October 2012
Location: Norway NO
Posts: 402
Thanks: 80
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Not really, many of the aftermarked ones are even made at the same fabric, and many of the modern parts like this are made to be replaced and not repaired, but first of all, go to the AC specialist? It is a small fee for a professional opinion, the "sniffer" can even detect slow microscopic leaks.

Maybe it could be repaired, but if the price was cheaper but only a little, I would definitely go for a new one either way, but that is just me, at least when we talk about such low amounts.

Last edited by thomknud; 3rd June 2015 at 22:34.
thomknud is offline  
post #14 of 31 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2015, 23:42
Supporter
 
Join Date: 27th October 2009
Location: leicester, uk GB
Posts: 762
Thanks: 6
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
iTrader: (1)
do you hear the a/c relay kick in, ? there is another thread on this forum suggesting the relay being a common fault see link below

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/bugs-fa...ailure-21.html
worth checking at £17 for relay
rborhara is offline  
Thanks to rborhara from:
post #15 of 31 (permalink) Old 4th June 2015, 07:53
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,848
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,155 Times in 3,851 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Yeah, replacing my relay was my first job when I got the car. Simples.

During a recent regas, the tests confirmed the compressor was kicking in and it got really cold. It's barely cool now, a couple of months later.

Thanks for the reminder tho.

Last edited by Farqui; 4th June 2015 at 09:44.
Farqui is offline  
post #16 of 31 (permalink) Old 4th June 2015, 09:42
1.4 can look awsome too
 
thomknud's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 1.4 sport , Milano red
Join Date: 1st October 2012
Location: Norway NO
Posts: 402
Thanks: 80
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I changed mine relay after getting my new condenser just to be safe, the old worked perfect, but it is worth the upgrade to be safe of the compressor not working itself out.
thomknud is offline  
post #17 of 31 (permalink) Old 4th June 2015, 21:28
Supporter
 
Join Date: 27th October 2009
Location: leicester, uk GB
Posts: 762
Thanks: 6
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
iTrader: (1)
changing the relay didnt work for and my ac has been topped up, so it looks like somehting else
rborhara is offline  
post #18 of 31 (permalink) Old 4th June 2015, 21:45 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2007 Type R
Join Date: 12th March 2012
Location: Surrey GB
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for your replies.

Does anyone have experience with mobile A/C specialists? Are they able to remove the front bumper, replace condenser etc. without taking it to a garage? Or is best to take it to a A/C Specialist garage?

Considering Honda has told me I need a new condenser due to a leak, can it really be the relay? Could having it regassed "incorrectly" cause a condenser to fail?

I use my A/C quite alot in the summer. However during the colder months I only switch it on once or twice a month to keep it active. I always believed it would use too much fuel!? How does the auto function work? Does it only kick in when it's needed?
TYPR is offline  
post #19 of 31 (permalink) Old 4th June 2015, 22:07
Supporter
 
Join Date: 5th February 2011
Location: Blackpool,UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,057
Thanks: 110
Thanked 189 Times in 169 Posts
iTrader: (9)
Mines just done this today how hard is it to change the relay and where can i get one from? Think i might try this first with a re gas.

Cheers
ian.ashton76 is offline  
post #20 of 31 (permalink) Old 4th June 2015, 22:35
JPP
 
Welshivic's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 EX Nighthawk Black
Join Date: 28th April 2011
Location: Newport, S.Wales WALES
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 61
Thanked 222 Times in 213 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TYPR View Post
Thanks for your replies.

Does anyone have experience with mobile A/C specialists? Are they able to remove the front bumper, replace condenser etc. without taking it to a garage? Or is best to take it to a A/C Specialist garage?

Considering Honda has told me I need a new condenser due to a leak, can it really be the relay? Could having it regassed "incorrectly" cause a condenser to fail?

I use my A/C quite alot in the summer. However during the colder months I only switch it on once or twice a month to keep it active. I always believed it would use too much fuel!? How does the auto function work? Does it only kick in when it's needed?
The mobile I use and quoted me £280 was to drop the bumper etc remove old condenser and fit new and would be done on my drive. £24 for a new relay could be worth a try mate...
I mostly have mine set to auto it kicks in when required to keep whatever temperature you have set..
Welshivic is offline  
Thanks to Welshivic from:
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Tags
air con , air con not cold testing , air conditioning , condenser

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC/Heater Air Conditioning blowing hot air when on 'Lo' setting. HappyMan Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 36 19th August 2016 10:54
AC/Heater A/C not blowing cold air Sr11 Electronics (8G) 7 29th May 2015 17:26
AC/Heater Heater blowing cold....then hot lacesoutdom Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 6 22nd October 2014 09:27
AC/Heater Air Conditioning condenser replacement marcwicks Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 1 31st July 2011 13:35
AC/Heater Air Conditioning not as cold as it should tweedie Electronics (8G) 20 17th June 2009 23:28

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome