Satnav Sat Nav - roundabout direction - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th November 2006, 19:50 Thread Starter
 
Sconeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sat Nav - roundabout direction

Ok , just a quick question. Just had my Civic delivered today, my TT is gone and I have to say I don't miss it. This Civic is an amazing car , I am just playing with the electronics and the only strange thing I have noticed is that as I approached a roundabout by my house on the detailed screen pop up the direction of the the roundabout seemed suggest i should drive anti clockwise. Now I know I am in Jersey and therefore quite close to France but does this mean the disc is inaccurate or the setup is in some Franglais mode?

Last edited by Sconeboy; 16th November 2006 at 21:04.
Sconeboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th November 2006, 21:33
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,815
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
Possibly just an error, must class jersey as part of france unfortunataly. You're not the first to find quirks with the NAV!
czechplastik is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th November 2006, 13:38
 
Join Date: 28th September 2006
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi , glad you love your car. Take pleasure in knowing you are nearer to McDonalds than I am !!!! My satnav tells me the nearest one is in Calais.
elbe35 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th November 2006, 14:04
pcr
 
pcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th September 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 1,461
Thanks: 0
Thanked 51 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Considering the cost of the sat nav, that sounds like a pretty major bug to me. Maybe best to get the dealer to report the problem upwards, or go direct to the sat nav manufacturer. I'm sure the programmer could fix it in five minutes.
By the way, when turning right at roundabout, does it say "take first exit", or words to that effect.
pcr is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th November 2006, 16:28
Supporter
 
Type S Bournemouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd October 2006
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 1,040
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Type S Bournemouth Send a message via MSN to Type S Bournemouth
its not just the honda sat nav that has errors like this. I have a Pioneer Avic X1 which cost almost 2000 when first came out and this has plenty of errors. Still doesnt know some rds which are maybe 10 years or older, misses some old roundabouts etc.

I just think Sat nav isnt totally perfect whatever product you buy. At the end of the day its the mapping that is behind. I think we will have to wait a few years yet before they can maybe get it totally right if thats even possible.

But sat nav is still very good even with the errors
Type S Bournemouth is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th November 2006, 18:47
pcr
 
pcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th September 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 1,461
Thanks: 0
Thanked 51 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (0)
TSB,
Yes, I agree that there will always be errors in the database, but this fault sounds like just a wrong parameter for Jersey, like which side of the road to drive on.
pcr is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th November 2006, 18:50
Supporter
 
Type S Bournemouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd October 2006
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 1,040
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Type S Bournemouth Send a message via MSN to Type S Bournemouth
i had it the other day on my pioneer going upto a roundabout near me in bournemouth. It said to go round the roundabout the wrong way. Was the first time ive had this fault in the uk though.
Type S Bournemouth is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th November 2006, 19:06
pcr
 
pcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th September 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 1,461
Thanks: 0
Thanked 51 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Oh, maybe I'm wrong then, and it is a database problem.
pcr is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th November 2006, 19:25
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,815
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
I think its pretty impossible to have a 100% accurate NAV system, just look at the rate houses are being built. I do however think Honda should not be charging the earth for newer discs.
czechplastik is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th November 2006, 05:40
Supporter
 
IWANTACIVIC's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.6 civic tourer sr
Join Date: 16th September 2006
Location: LINCS UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,615
Thanks: 37
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via AIM to IWANTACIVIC Send a message via MSN to IWANTACIVIC Send a message via Yahoo to IWANTACIVIC Send a message via Skype™ to IWANTACIVIC
i like when you go stright on at a 4 cross roads or the same but you have to give way it dont say at the cross roads carry stight ahead or something it say nothing so if i was in strange place you got to be careful you dont got flying over crossings etc , yer ive had 3 other nav system all had errors but thankfull all other were quick download to up date maps fee of couse 20-50 a year but didnt someone say 200 for honda dvd ???
IWANTACIVIC is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 22nd November 2006, 11:48 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Sconeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Further info, I am sure somewhere I must be set to LHD. When the detailed sat nav screen does pop up (when I have inputed a destination and am following the instructions) the voice command is accurate ie "take second exit" but the arrow is clearly going anti-clockwise. I do remember when I tested the demo car from the dealer this was not the case. Waiting for dealer to call me back now !
Sconeboy is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a66 preston roundabout vtec-hungry Was it you? 0 23rd October 2007 22:37
A43 Motorway direction grenoble/Lyon l-noel Was it you? 6 12th April 2007 17:38
spine road by moor farm roundabout Andrea Was it you? 0 20th October 2006 16:51

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome