Satnav satnav - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 11th June 2006, 21:32 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
DUNCAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th June 2006
Location: tameside ENGLAND
Posts: 1,177
Thanks: 31
Thanked 61 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to DUNCAN
satnav

I cant see my satnav on a sunny day. is this a fult by honda???
DUNCAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 11th June 2006, 21:38
 
Join Date: 3rd May 2006
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Turn the brightness up............
WonkySights is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 11th June 2006, 23:41
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
I DEFINITELY THINK ITS THE SUNS FULT.
basegreen is offline  
 
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 12th June 2006, 12:01
Explosive Mind Unleashed
 
Kpow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th May 2006
Location: London
Posts: 549
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Kpow99
DEF THE SUNS FAULT.......Try turning your car the other way
Kpow99 is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 12th June 2006, 12:35
Supporter
 
Hartside's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th May 2006
Location: Northumberland SCOTLAND
Posts: 645
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Or only drive it on cloudy days
Hartside is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 12th June 2006, 19:36 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
DUNCAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th June 2006
Location: tameside ENGLAND
Posts: 1,177
Thanks: 31
Thanked 61 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to DUNCAN
sat nav

could try fitting sun glassers to the satnav .are honda to give a free per with every lx .hope no one whants the time on a sunny day.
DUNCAN is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 15th June 2006, 21:07
 
Join Date: 9th June 2006
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have to say that after having a heavy week (1100 miles) ploughing up and down the nations motorways, the built in gps in certainly the best I've used, especially the TMC
steveking1000 is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 18th June 2006, 22:16 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
DUNCAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th June 2006
Location: tameside ENGLAND
Posts: 1,177
Thanks: 31
Thanked 61 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to DUNCAN
how up to date is the satnav
DUNCAN is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 18th June 2006, 23:29
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Navteq data is pretty good - IMO better than teleatlas. But it did today try and take me down a bridleway...
Pottsy is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 19th June 2006, 01:09
Supporter
 
Fedorov's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 Diesel, Sporty Blue
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Coming back from the North Yorkshire Moors lastnight one of the *many* roundabouts I expected to be told to go straight on for the A174, it told me to take a right (3rd exit) and it then took me on a weird route to get back to the A66 to get me home!

What baffled me was that on the way there it kept me on the A174 main road so I was VERY surprised when I reached this same roundabout expecting to be doing the EXACT reverse of my journey that it took me on a weird detour... didn't actually take any longer to get home mind you!
Fedorov is offline  
post #11 of 35 (permalink) Old 19th June 2006, 10:13
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
I nearly always use the "get 5 routes" method and flick through them until the coloured line looks like the right route. I do like to ignore the satnav when poss - I try to keep it as a guide, or assistant, rather than being a slave to it. Still reckon it's very good though, certainly better than the good old tomtom.
Pottsy is offline  
post #12 of 35 (permalink) Old 19th June 2006, 13:13
 
Join Date: 5th June 2006
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I agree with your comment that Teleatlas isn't too good on data. I've got that in my phone at the moment, till my EX arrives. It's supposed to be UK & Ireland, but we went to Ireland a week ago, and it was fine around Dublin, but from about 20 miles south of the city, it only knew about the N(ational) roads, so all it displayed was a screenful of green if you took a scenic route. Not impressed!
smiffy is offline  
post #13 of 35 (permalink) Old 19th June 2006, 14:02
 
elfa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th May 2006
Location: Cheshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Is it possible to switch the sat-nav off, while driving ?.
elfa7 is offline  
post #14 of 35 (permalink) Old 19th June 2006, 14:22
您看了
 
CivPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st May 2006
Location: Surrey/Hants ENGLAND
Posts: 456
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elfa7
Is it possible to switch the sat-nav off, while driving ?.
Of course.

Either don't bother setting a destination, set the screen to display audio/climate, or hit the small "moon" button twice? (or 3 times?) to turn the screen off completely.
CivPilot is offline  
post #15 of 35 (permalink) Old 19th June 2006, 14:26
 
elfa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th May 2006
Location: Cheshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for that.
elfa7 is offline  
post #16 of 35 (permalink) Old 19th June 2006, 15:30
您看了
 
CivPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st May 2006
Location: Surrey/Hants ENGLAND
Posts: 456
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
No worries

of course, if you've set a route and wish to stop guidance you can either do this by voice command or by pressing the "back" button (lower left next to the multifunction wheel in the dash center)
CivPilot is offline  
post #17 of 35 (permalink) Old 21st June 2006, 21:41 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
DUNCAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th June 2006
Location: tameside ENGLAND
Posts: 1,177
Thanks: 31
Thanked 61 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to DUNCAN
roads in manchester been there 2years ..not on sat nav,
DUNCAN is offline  
post #18 of 35 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2006, 12:23
 
Join Date: 9th June 2006
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Has anyone played around with the satnav DVD yet? I burned a backup with Nero, no problems, but I couldn't help noticing that there's loads of bmp files that are just begging to be changed? Has anyone tried running a modified DVD?
steveking1000 is offline  
post #19 of 35 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2006, 12:45
Supporter
 
generationgav's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th May 2006
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 833
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to generationgav
Quote:
Originally Posted by DUNCAN
roads in manchester been there 2years ..not on sat nav,
Which roads?

I don't have the Civ Satnav, but it'll be interesting to see if my TomTom has them
generationgav is offline  
post #20 of 35 (permalink) Old 22nd June 2006, 21:10
 
Join Date: 5th June 2006
Posts: 975
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
has anyone seen the new roadangel navigator 6000

249.99 pounds sat nav, speed camera alerts and mp3 player.

seems amazing value.

opinions?
sco77harris is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satnav SatNav Manual PDF? matg Electronics (8G) 22 13th March 2014 14:29
Satnav Another Bug with SatNav waran Electronics (8G) 23 20th August 2007 16:21
Add-on nav Not another satnav question TimV-W Electronics (8G) 16 15th June 2007 20:03
Satnav SatNav scale Kremmen Electronics (8G) 5 12th April 2007 22:39
Satnav satnav DUNCAN Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 2 2nd July 2006 23:23

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome