Electrics Car gone loopy - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 30th March 2016, 22:02 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 21st January 2016
Location: U.K. ENGLAND
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Car gone loopy

Hi guys really need to helpful advice here, I was fitting LEDs for footwell's near end of install you remove light in glove box (pops off easily) then you need to get final wire back up and thro the hole, straight forward enough at the moment. I gently pushed a piece of wire thro the hole so I could retrieve it in the footwell, this is the moment that my car decided to go spazzy......
System check came on with airbag symbol, lights went pretty crazy, clock reset, just ent into meltdown. Obviously the engine start was never going to happen and if depressed all lights go out and you can just hear beginning of motor trying to turn...
I am feeling pretty devastated now as I have no idea why this has happened. I never got to wire anything neither were any contacts on show in respect of light popped out. I really need some help with this guys as big problem for me now and my family
Paulbroughton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 30th March 2016, 22:13
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,907
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,165 Times in 3,861 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
So you left the battery connected when fiddling with the wiring?

Did you have the radio on too? If so, plenty of folks have flattened a battery this way.

Fuses, check all the fuses.

You might be lucky and find a few ignition cycles clears the error(s).
Farqui is online now  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 30th March 2016, 22:26 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 21st January 2016
Location: U.K. ENGLAND
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I will check fuses tomorrow in the light, obviously a critical error leaving battery connected, but the thing is I did not wire a thing, nothing stripped at all. The wire I fed thro (as a feed to connect the actual wire) is where this problem started, so in that respect as there are a fair few protected looms up there, having the battery still connected could have allowed this fed wire to touch another that is in the looms.
Getting on to the battery, can this be flattened failing that killed in these situations. And would the car be throwing up multiple errors and lights flickering in general when it comes to a Flat battery. Thx for your quick response.
Paulbroughton is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 31st March 2016, 00:58
Civinfo's Bulb Supplier
 
Mr JP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd February 2007
Location: Kent, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 13,427
Thanks: 553
Thanked 1,431 Times in 1,328 Posts
iTrader: (217)
My bet - flat battery
Mr JP is offline  
Thanks to Mr JP from:
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 31st March 2016, 09:20 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 21st January 2016
Location: U.K. ENGLAND
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
All fuses are fine have attempted jump start and nothing.
Prob not getting good connection to positive to be honest.
Just an answer to one more question, if battery flat, do electronics in car go fairly random, as electronically it seems possessed. Lol
I can only pray that battery is the only problem here, just seems really weird the way car is acting, if anyone else has had flat batt problem then I am sure they could confirm that " yes car goes a bit loopy and random system check faults may appear"
Or no sounds like your car is in a really bad way and your gonna pay a fortune.
Paulbroughton is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 31st March 2016, 09:41
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,907
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,165 Times in 3,861 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
As JP said, the battery is the likely culprit. Try charging it or if it's been on there several years then simply replace it.

Be careful jump starting your car, connecting or disconnecting the battery. If you leave the keys in the ignition then chances are you'll be left with a big bill.
Farqui is online now  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 31st March 2016, 10:12
 
Join Date: 4th August 2014
Location: Bracknell GB
Posts: 82
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Could be a fuse. I popped one for no apparent reason when installing an amplifier.

What errors are popping up on the dash?
bluepurple is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 31st March 2016, 14:13 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 21st January 2016
Location: U.K. ENGLAND
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
All sorted, battery was no good, pulled under 12v when I checked it. So 58 later all better, at least now i know what to look out for
Paulbroughton is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 31st March 2016, 14:20
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,907
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,165 Times in 3,861 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Farqui is online now  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parking Parking sensors going loopy untouchable90 Electronics (8G) 4 13th April 2012 14:15
My install Just went a kinds of space saving loopy Gel Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 2nd September 2010 09:54

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome