Cruise Cruise control not working on my Fn2 - Civinfo
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 3rd May 2016, 18:53 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Cruise control not working on my Fn2

Hi there, my cruise control does not work...

It worked 6 month ago when I put it in the garage over the winter, when I took the car out last month for the first drive, the cruise did not work anymore...

Help ?
goppe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 3rd May 2016, 19:22
250bhp.... finally :)
 
musegroove's Avatar
 
Car: 08 CTR, Milano Red
Join Date: 2nd September 2014
Location: manchester GB
Posts: 4,275
Thanks: 137
Thanked 431 Times in 411 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by goppe View Post
Hi there, my cruise control does not work...

It worked 6 month ago when I put it in the garage over the winter, when I took the car out last month for the first drive, the cruise did not work anymore...

Help ?
Might be the cruise control switch. It activates when the clutch pedal is at the top of it's travel by pushing a plunger.

The switch can be seen on this thread.
http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/996...point-fn2.html

17mm to remove and swap and very cheap from a scrap yard.
musegroove is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 3rd May 2016, 20:50 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Okay not the brake switch ?
goppe is offline  
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 3rd May 2016, 23:33
250bhp.... finally :)
 
musegroove's Avatar
 
Car: 08 CTR, Milano Red
Join Date: 2nd September 2014
Location: manchester GB
Posts: 4,275
Thanks: 137
Thanked 431 Times in 411 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Could be also, I only suggest as my CC switch seized so wouldn't turn off if when the clutch was pressed.
musegroove is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 4th May 2016, 18:26 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
More common that the clutch switch break than the brake switch?
goppe is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 4th May 2016, 23:25
 
Car: 2009 2.2 Type S FIREBLADE
Join Date: 23rd October 2014
Location: Amsterdam, NL EUROPEANUNION
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Do you have a 2.2 diesel?
in the diesel version the cruise control uses the DPF to keep the speed constant.
it happened to me that after a long stop of 2 months in garage the DPF got filled with soot as soon as i started the engine and the cruise control wasn't working anymore
enemesi is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 5th May 2016, 11:42 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
I have a type R
goppe is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 8th May 2016, 02:14
 
Car: 2008 CTR, Milano Red.
Join Date: 10th January 2015
Location: Norway NO
Posts: 302
Thanks: 67
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I also lost my cruise control on my type r. I'm wondering if the is a way to bypass the switches to find the culpit? If i understand it correctly. When the putton on either switch is pressed, the circuit is closed, and it allows the cruise control to work. Would it not be possible to to short the circuit with a paperclip to test either switches to find the one that is flawed?

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
kevven is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 16th May 2016, 18:58 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Anyone have any tips what to look for ?
goppe is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 16th May 2016, 23:22 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
It worked in oct-nov, then winter came. I took the car out in April, now the cruise wont "kick" in, I have cruise main light but when I press "SET" nothing happens...

In winter I installed a 2- din stereo with Connects2 steering wheel adapter wiring, have someone have issues that the cruise wont work when you change stereo ?
goppe is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 01:30
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
I would assume the clutch pedal position switch might be defective.
You will need a multimeter to test it and the test is quite simple.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg clutch.jpg (78.3 KB, 172 views)
Farqui likes this.
Grayfox is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 05:43 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Okay thank you! I will check the switch today
goppe is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 17:58 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
The switch is not broken , I checked all the fuses under the dashboard and all was okay.
goppe is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 18:23
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
What year is your R?

As I can see all troubleshoot point conectiong to HDS to check for any errors. Or you can see errors yourself.

http://www.civinfo.com/wiki/index.ph...ICU_diagnostic
http://www.civinfo.com/wiki/index.ph...ges_diagnostic

Last edited by ante00; 17th May 2016 at 18:42.
ante00 is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 18:43 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
2010 cw , I can se DTC through my flashpro ? Is that what you mean with that test you linked me ?

Last edited by goppe; 17th May 2016 at 19:12.
goppe is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 19:07
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
Dtc should write errors on tacho. There should be some error if cruise not working. (Something like B1155...)
Also gauge diagnostic will write some error if peoblem with tacho.

Tacho in civic is also standalone some kind of ecu.
ante00 is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 19:12 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
I have Flashpro for my FN2 so I can see DTC through it.
goppe is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 19:17
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
Are there any and also try on fusebox (micu) to see dtc? Did cruise stop when flashpro was installed? Just thought
ante00 is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 19:21 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
goppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2016
Location: Malmö SE
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
The cruise worked before winter (november), when I took out the car in April it didn't work anymore...

I have installed a 2-din stereo in the winter but that adapter should not be a problem for the cruise, a friend of mine has the same adapter and it works on his car. Connects2 Ltd
goppe is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 19:24
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
I have also connects2 adapter. Looking at diagram switches set/cancel are wired to tacho. So there must be problem or relay which should be under dash near fog relay ( I think)
ante00 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cruise control fn2 amandavasey_2009 General Discussion (8G) 7 23rd June 2017 18:34
Faults cruise control not working dweezle Engines and Transmission (8G) 25 3rd May 2013 22:04
Cruise control stopped working Smiffee General Discussion (8G) 2 12th January 2013 11:53
Cruise Cruise Control does not seem to be working spako Electronics (8G) 29 31st October 2012 15:26
Performance Hm! My cruise control has stopped working? dunnichen Engines and Transmission (8G) 7 25th September 2011 21:58

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome