Other Dashcam question - Civinfo
 8Likes
  • 1 Post By Liamr685
  • 3 Post By JuniorJedi
  • 1 Post By JuniorJedi
  • 2 Post By Liamr685
  • 1 Post By Bench
  • 1 Post By clawhn
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st June 2016, 10:18 Thread Starter
I Hate tailgaters!
 
Red Dwarf's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 SR Lunar Silver
Join Date: 11th December 2011
Location: Blackpool, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,355
Thanks: 12
Thanked 105 Times in 101 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Dashcam question

Just bought Nextbase 312GW. On offer 84 at Halfords (until 5 June). Installed in car in 10 minutes. Seems OK to me on video quality but as I've never had one I've nothing to compare against. It has wifi and I've already paired with phone (iPhone 6) and downloaded a 5 minute clip (467mb).

Question is this, as I've not had it hard wired in yet. I'm using cig lighter socket. It recommends disconnecting when not in use but it is quite a job to get it out so how many of you just leave it in ?? Or do you yank it out when not in use ( no double entendres intended ) I'm worried it may cause unnecessary wear and tear to cig socket, or it falls apart.

Plus do you leave cam in place when car parked up or take it with you?


Sent whilst plotting to take over the world.
Red Dwarf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st June 2016, 10:40
 
Car: 2017 1.5T Sport Sonic Grey
Join Date: 9th August 2015
Location: Bedfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 137
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ive hardwired my Nextbase 402G into my car, so I cant remove the wiring (its all hidden behind trim anyway) but the camera itself, I take it out of my car, I see it as the same as leaving a SatNav or phone in the car, its just an opportunity for some scrote to break in a nab it to make a few . If Im not at home, I hide it away in one of the storage boxes in the car.



On a Sidenote, The Nextbase DashCam hardwire kits are really good, just a few modifications needed to get it to fit the options pins. Maplins sell the HardWire kits for 14.99, 5 cheaper than Halfords. However, if you buy a NextBase cam from Maplins, you get the hardwire kit for free...I missed out on that deal also
Red Dwarf likes this.

Last edited by Liamr685; 1st June 2016 at 10:51.
Liamr685 is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st June 2016, 11:12 Thread Starter
I Hate tailgaters!
** Thread starter **
 
Red Dwarf's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 SR Lunar Silver
Join Date: 11th December 2011
Location: Blackpool, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,355
Thanks: 12
Thanked 105 Times in 101 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liamr685 View Post
Ive hardwired my Nextbase 402G into my car, so I cant remove the wiring (its all hidden behind trim anyway) but the camera itself, I take it out of my car, I see it as the same as leaving a SatNav or phone in the car, its just an opportunity for some scrote to break in a nab it to make a few . If Im not at home, I hide it away in one of the storage boxes in the car.



On a Sidenote, The Nextbase DashCam hardwire kits are really good, just a few modifications needed to get it to fit the options pins. Maplins sell the HardWire kits for 14.99, 5 cheaper than Halfords. However, if you buy a NextBase cam from Maplins, you get the hardwire kit for free...I missed out on that deal also :
(
I take it you hardwired yourself? How difficult was it. I'm no electrician so considering paying 30 to Halfords. And what modifications where needed. I know civic has smaller fuses. Am I correct in thinking 1 connector goes into power socket in fuse box and the other goes to a earthing point.
Red Dwarf is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st June 2016, 11:16
Supporter
 
JuniorJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th March 2016
Location: West Sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
With the Nextbase hardwire kit, you literally remove a fuse, pop the piggyback connector in the kit into that now empty socket and then place the fuse you removed into the piggyback.
The nut that holds the fuse panel in place can be used as an earth point.
Red Dwarf, tibsy and tibsy like this.
JuniorJedi is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st June 2016, 11:18
Supporter
 
JuniorJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th March 2016
Location: West Sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Oh, and for the record I leave mine in the car, if you can position it correctly it's actually hard to see from outside. My neighbour has even coloured the logos in with a black marker to make it truly "stealthy".
JuniorJedi is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st June 2016, 11:59
Supporter
 
JuniorJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th March 2016
Location: West Sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 24
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JuniorJedi View Post
With the Nextbase hardwire kit, you literally remove a fuse, pop the piggyback connector in the kit into that now empty socket and then place the fuse you removed into the piggyback.
The nut that holds the fuse panel in place can be used as an earth point.
Just make sure to choose a fuse that is off when ignition is off!
Red Dwarf likes this.
JuniorJedi is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st June 2016, 13:11
 
Car: 2017 1.5T Sport Sonic Grey
Join Date: 9th August 2015
Location: Bedfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 137
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Dwarf View Post
I take it you hardwired yourself? How difficult was it. I'm no electrician so considering paying 30 to Halfords. And what modifications where needed. I know civic has smaller fuses. Am I correct in thinking 1 connector goes into power socket in fuse box and the other goes to a earthing point.
Its easy, I dont do electrics at all, its really basic stuff.

The fuses that come with the hardwire kit are too big for the civic(at east for the 9G), so you cant piggyback the fuses.

Get the hardwire kit.
Get an Options plug + pins from x5252x on here.
http://www.civinfo.com/forum/civinfo...ectors%5D.html

When it arrives, cut the bullet connector off the end of Live (red) wire, crimp on a pin that comes with the options connector (as supplied by x5252x)

Push the pin into the correct location on the blue plug. **Note this is the 9G Pinout, the 8G Pinout is different** There are 8G Pinout diagrams on here, but I dont have it readily available.


Then you will need to remove some trim, to be able to earth it, with the black wire.

(Skip to the bit where the trim removal pics are)
http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/109...g-dashcam.html


Earth it to the screw as shown in Grayfox's How To guide.


Route the cables as you wish.

Plug the blue options plug, into the options 'socket' on your fuse box.

Job done.

If you dont want to use a options plug, you can use female microspade connectors, however, i suggest using an options plug, as its a lot more sturdy.


Thats pretty much it for a nexbase, but i got all this from various other 'How Tos' on this forum. Read both guides and look at the pics in both, to get the idea. However, Grayfox's guide is a from scratch hardwire, not with a kit, like NexBase supply.

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/640...connector.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/109...g-dashcam.html
Red Dwarf and Farqui like this.

Last edited by Liamr685; 1st June 2016 at 13:16.
Liamr685 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st June 2016, 13:58
Supporter
 
Bench's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTR M200
Join Date: 2nd March 2013
Location: Hull ENGLAND
Posts: 821
Thanks: 60
Thanked 158 Times in 147 Posts
iTrader: (19)
I've hard wired my nextbase too, using the option connector

I found a little black electrical tape over the silver writing helps to disguise/camouflage it

Mine is hidden behind the rear view mirror and is a little awkward to get in and out so I leave it in situ
Red Dwarf likes this.
Bench is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 2nd June 2016, 23:56
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,890
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,162 Times in 3,858 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The optoon connector is a really neat solution.

If you leave a dashcam in your car on a hot sunny day, doesn't it risk damaging it?

I wouldn't want to be left inside when/if the sun is shining!
Farqui is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2016, 06:24
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Good point if the windscreen is in full sunlight. I remove mine if I'm leaving the car unattended for any length of time.

A bit easier since I removed the Nextbase locking tab.
Kremmen is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 3rd June 2016, 09:08
 
Car: 2017 1.5T Sport Sonic Grey
Join Date: 9th August 2015
Location: Bedfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 137
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farqui View Post
The optoon connector is a really neat solution.

If you leave a dashcam in your car on a hot sunny day, doesn't it risk damaging it?

I wouldn't want to be left inside when/if the sun is shining!
From what I can gather, if your dashcam has a battery, high temperatures for prolonged periods of time will damage it.

But if your dashcam uses a capacitor as its backup power source, theres no worry of it degrading in high temperature, or risk of it overheating.

But its better to be safe than sorry, I take mine out, or hide it in my car if im away from home.
Liamr685 is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 4th June 2016, 00:09
Supporter
 
clawhn's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 1.8 TypeS cerulean blue
Join Date: 21st October 2011
Location: blaenavon WALES
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
I wanted a dash cam that I could leave in situ so I fitted a one that uses a capacitor instead of batteries- much safer and less troublesome in the longer term. It's flat mounting plate adheres directly to the screen and the small camera slots directly to that- without the traditional bulky suction mount. It therefore discreet and looks more like an OE lane departure unit than a camera. Photo makes it look more noticeable than it really is. I chose this mounting position as the lens is just inside the wiper sweep.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20160602_204702.jpg (30.2 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg 20160602_204601.jpg (36.0 KB, 23 views)
Farqui likes this.
clawhn is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 4th June 2016, 01:24
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liamr685 View Post
But if your dashcam uses a capacitor as its backup power source, theres no worry of it degrading in high temperature, or risk of it overheating.
Capacitors have a temperature rating and can easily fail when you exceed it.
Now it wont matter in the UK since it doesn't really get that hot there.
Grayfox is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 4th June 2016, 16:43
Supporter
 
clawhn's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 1.8 TypeS cerulean blue
Join Date: 21st October 2011
Location: blaenavon WALES
Posts: 145
Thanks: 13
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayfox View Post
Capacitors have a temperature rating and can easily fail when you exceed it.
Now it wont matter in the UK since it doesn't really get that hot there.
Spot on Grayfox- even less chance of it overheating in Wales
clawhn is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 5th June 2016, 01:48
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by clawhn View Post
Spot on Grayfox- even less chance of it overheating in Wales
Unlike here.

It can get to 75C in the car in summer.

But currently we have UK weather.
Nothing but rains and floods for the past 2 days and will continue to last for the next few.
Grayfox is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[How To]Hardwiring a Dashcam Grayfox This is How To ... (Guides Only) (8G) 272 25th June 2019 23:01
Dashcam during service dotdk General Discussion (8G) 3 3rd March 2015 09:20
DASHCAM's.... cavalrystu Any non Civic chat here please! 44 20th February 2015 10:38

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome