Phone Parrot HFT and mute - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th January 2007, 10:17 Thread Starter
 
KE_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th September 2006
Location: Denmark DK
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Parrot HFT and mute

Hi guys.

I am currently in the process of installing the Parrot HFT kit in my civic. I use the ISO2CAR cable, but I cant seem to get the mute working. My car is a Sport, which means that I do not have the SAT NAV solution.

Everything else works, it just doesn't display MUTE or anything else on the screen.

How have you mounted the mute function (in the kit there are more than one possibility) ?

***** in advance.
KE_DK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th January 2007, 11:08
 
Join Date: 14th December 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi!

Right now, I'm removing the dash, but I'm also looking for this information. I need to know what is the color of the mute cable on the original connector on the radio. I'm installing a Nokia CK-W7 kit. According to my information the mute cable should have a yellow color.
As soon as I get there, I'll check it, and let you know. (It'll be in an hour I think...)

Brucez
brucez is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th January 2007, 11:26 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
KE_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th September 2006
Location: Denmark DK
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucez View Post
Hi!

Right now, I'm removing the dash, but I'm also looking for this information.

It's funny to know that somebody else is doing the exact same thing as one self at the same time

The ISO2CAR cable has a loose pink wire, which I think is the mute wire. I have connected it to the Mute 1 (and 2 and 3) wires from the Parrot cable, but it does not work..
KE_DK is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th January 2007, 11:29
 
Join Date: 16th August 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
There is no mute display at screen.I have installed the parrot kit but could not remember the mute cable.Now it works perfect.At installation we have tried all the possibilities.
jackal73 is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th January 2007, 11:47
 
Join Date: 14th December 2006
Posts: 27
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
mute

Well, I've just managed to test it, and yes, the yellow wire is the mute. When mute is on, the yellow wire is grounded. And Jackal73 is right, there is no mute or similar message on the display.
So, try to connect your parrot to the ISO2CAR connector that the parrot's mute cable should be connected to the yellow wire in the grey connector. If you'd like to, I can take a photo.

Good luck!
And it's realy funny that we're doing the same process in the same time!



Brucez
brucez is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th January 2007, 11:51
 
gsyme's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.6 I-Dect Milano Red
Join Date: 9th December 2006
Location: Ireland IE
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Me Too

Funnily enough I am about to install a Parrot kit into my car this morning. I also have the iso2car wiring but it is described on the package as a mute adaptor. Will follow your post with interest!
gsyme is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th January 2007, 14:59 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
KE_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th September 2006
Location: Denmark DK
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I didn't succeed in getting the mute part working. But its a small problem that I can easily live with.

Otherwise I'm quite glad for my installation.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HFT.jpg (66.0 KB, 259 views)
KE_DK is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th January 2007, 16:43
 
gsyme's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.6 I-Dect Milano Red
Join Date: 9th December 2006
Location: Ireland IE
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I finished putting in the ISO2CAR adaptor, it did exactly what it said on the tin! Just slotted together and everything worked including the mute.
gsyme is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th January 2007, 17:46
 
gsyme's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.6 I-Dect Milano Red
Join Date: 9th December 2006
Location: Ireland IE
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Tips for dismantling the dash

Two hints for when you are removing the dash
When prising off the end of the dash use a nylon spatula (wife has not yet noticed that it is missing) and work from the top where the dash is soft and will not mark.
When prising the top off the dash again use the nylon spatula and work from the soft part of the dash, this will avoid making any marks on the hard plastic.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Side-Dash-web.jpg (27.6 KB, 210 views)
File Type: jpg Dash-top-web.jpg (18.2 KB, 207 views)
gsyme is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 14th January 2007, 15:41
Supporter
 
generationgav's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th May 2006
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 833
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to generationgav
I have the official non-ex bluetooth kit and I still don't get a message on the display.
generationgav is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 15th January 2007, 11:43
Supporter
 
Meino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th October 2006
Location: Netherlands NL
Posts: 474
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Connecting the parrot kit using the ISO2Car cable is just a mather of connecting the connectors to each other, forgot all about the loose mute cables, you don't need them (indeed it is a mute adaptor).
'Mute' is also not displayed in my display, but the mute function works very well.
Meino is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 15th January 2007, 13:34 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
KE_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th September 2006
Location: Denmark DK
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
OK; Yes then the mute function also works for me. What I meant (and expected) was that the CD playing is put on pause when the phone is on. This is what I meant when I say mute function - as the sound itself of course is already muted

Confused - I am ..
KE_DK is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 15th January 2007, 13:50
Supporter
 
Meino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th October 2006
Location: Netherlands NL
Posts: 474
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KE_DK View Post
OK; Yes then the mute function also works for me. What I meant (and expected) was that the CD playing is put on pause when the phone is on. This is what I meant when I say mute function - as the sound itself of course is already muted

Confused - I am ..
Ok..
But as far as I know, a mute function only turns off the volume... Never heard of a mute function which pauses the CD playing... But that doesn't mean that it doesn't excist... Only the parrot doesn't....
Meino is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 15th January 2007, 13:59 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
KE_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th September 2006
Location: Denmark DK
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
To be a bit more precise: When the "mute" input on a car radio is "grounded" the radio mutes its sound and pauses all possible playback. This is normal procedure on most car stereos.
I am not talking about the Parrot. The Parrot system also mutes the sound, but it does it in another way - it just cuts off the speaker signal going from the stereo to the speakers, and inserts its own signal.
KE_DK is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 15th January 2007, 14:01
Supporter
 
Meino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th October 2006
Location: Netherlands NL
Posts: 474
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KE_DK View Post
To be a bit more precise: When the "mute" input on a car radio is "grounded" the radio mutes its sound and pauses all possible playback. This is normal procedure on most car stereos.
I am not talking about the Parrot. The Parrot system also mutes the sound, but it does it in another way - it just cuts off the speaker signal going from the stereo to the speakers, and inserts its own signal.
That's all true, but didn't know about pausing all posible playback... Never looked into that.... Probably a nice feature for the parrot then...
Meino is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 15th January 2007, 14:52
 
Join Date: 16th August 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KE_DK View Post
I didn't succeed in getting the mute part working. But its a small problem that I can easily live with.

Otherwise I'm quite glad for my installation.
Good place to hide the screen
jackal73 is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 15th January 2007, 17:56
 
Join Date: 15th January 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Red face Steroe removal

Hi all, i am watching this tread with interest, as i am trying to do the same thing, has anybody had trouble removing the stereo, as i seem to be stuck with a clip that i can't see. photos would help if anybody has any
Thanks
mjgrey is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 16th January 2007, 08:30
Supporter
 
Meino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th October 2006
Location: Netherlands NL
Posts: 474
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjgrey View Post
Hi all, i am watching this tread with interest, as i am trying to do the same thing, has anybody had trouble removing the stereo, as i seem to be stuck with a clip that i can't see. photos would help if anybody has any
Thanks
You have to remove the dash like pottsy described in this thread:
http://www.civinfo.com/forum/showthread.php?t=277

After that read this thread for removing the radio:

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/showthread.php?t=301

The radio is attached with three screws on the top side (the screwes are hided by the plate on the dash) and two screwes at the bottom side.

Hope this will help.
Meino is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 16th January 2007, 11:27
 
Join Date: 15th January 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Meino Thank for the info it worked a treat,
Now for another question, is the ISO2car adapter part of the parrot package or do i have to purchases it, and will the cabling that is with the parrot box work in th civic?
Thanks
mjgrey is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 16th January 2007, 12:01
Supporter
 
Meino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th October 2006
Location: Netherlands NL
Posts: 474
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjgrey View Post
Meino Thank for the info it worked a treat,
Now for another question, is the ISO2car adapter part of the parrot package or do i have to purchases it, and will the cabling that is with the parrot box work in th civic?
Thanks
The ISO2Car adapter is not part of the parrot package, you have to purchase it. The part number is 86131, which is for our Civics and does not only work with the civic and the parrot, it is even required to make the parrot work Or you have to buy a SOT cable (which is the same as the ISO2CAR cable), which some people used here.
Meino is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phone Parrot and Connects2 basegreen Electronics (8G) 4 6th October 2007 17:53
Electrics Navigation mute box MrHornet Electronics (8G) 5 7th July 2007 11:11
Satnav Sat Nav Mute when on phone candle Electronics (8G) 4 23rd March 2007 11:31
Parrot bluetooth in EX davemac General Discussion (8G) 13 6th March 2007 22:35
Phone Parrot MK6000 Meino Electronics (8G) 0 7th December 2006 15:14

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome