VSA VSA Fault. - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Grayfox
  • 1 Post By MrLongbeard
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 17th September 2016, 18:16 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 14th December 2013
Location: Nottingham GB
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
VSA Fault.

So I brought another civic recently with some known faults which I'm working through.

However the VSA check light is on. No other lights and get code 25-1 for yaw rate sensor. Now the chap I got it off said he already changed it but still on. So guessing he's lied and not changed it or just had a bad part?

So what do we think change sensor and check connections to be sure or should I be looking else where also ?
supa-nova is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 21st September 2016, 15:00
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Try clearing the codes, as it might need a reset, but if the sensor was replaced the VSA light should go away straight away or after a few trips.

VSA needs ABS, Wheel Speed Sensors, Yaw sensors, throttle position, steering angle sensors and a few other things. to work correctly
Grayfox is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 21st September 2016, 15:22
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
Could be bad one of ABS sensors. Mate had same error few days ago
ante00 is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 21st September 2016, 22:34
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
If it were a bad ABS sensor ABS would not work which would show ABS light as well.
Grayfox is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 21st September 2016, 22:44
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayfox View Post
If it were a bad ABS sensor ABS would not work which would show ABS light as well.
Maybe. On 8g civic ABS and VSA systems are closely related. On redesign tmps uses both off them for tire pressure. I know on mates car rear ABS sensor was problem and after change VSA light was off.
Easiest to change is yaw rate sensor which is in car near handbrake. VSA modulator is in engine bay
ante00 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 22nd September 2016, 01:13
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ante00 View Post
Maybe. On 8g civic ABS and VSA systems are closely related. On redesign tmps uses both off them for tire pressure. I know on mates car rear ABS sensor was problem and after change VSA light was off.
Easiest to change is yaw rate sensor which is in car near handbrake. VSA modulator is in engine bay
ABS sensor is used as VSA uses the brakes to control the vehicle and it can no do this if the ABS is not functioning.

The civic does not have TMPS, but has DWS.
Which uses wheel speed sensors to detect if a tire has gone flat.

TPMS uses sensors attached to the valve stem to give tire pressure readings(psi, kpa)

Many high end german cars have this function.

TPMS and DWS are similar but do two different things
Grayfox is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 22nd September 2016, 08:59
Supporter
 
ante00's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 Sport MT (Vivid)
Join Date: 18th April 2007
Location: Zagreb, Croatia HR
Posts: 1,467
Thanks: 76
Thanked 140 Times in 137 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Eco display
Send a message via MSN to ante00
Well Honda and most car manufacturers call it TPMS

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
ante00 is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 23rd September 2016, 04:58
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ante00 View Post
Well Honda and most car manufacturers call it TPMS

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Was called DWS in my manual.

They call it TPMS as it is easier to understand for customers.




True TPMS shows tire pressures on the onboard computer.
Farqui likes this.
Grayfox is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 23rd September 2016, 09:32
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,784
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,266 Times in 1,043 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I think the yaw rate sensor is faulty. Maybe the new one was a cheap aftermarket one that doesn't work properly? Assuming that is was actually changed...
Jon_G is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 23rd September 2016, 09:38
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
You can tell if it has been changed or not.
A new one will be cleaner than the surrounding area.
Grayfox is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 23rd September 2016, 09:42
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,906
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,163 Times in 3,859 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
@supa-nova , I may have a spare yaw sensor in my parts bin. I'll have a dig around and let you know.
Farqui is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 23rd September 2016, 09:49
Supporter
 
Car: 2012 2.2 I-Dtec
Join Date: 15th June 2015
Location: Worcestershire ENGLAND
Posts: 273
Thanks: 19
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by supa-nova View Post
So I brought another civic recently with some known faults which I'm working through.

However the VSA check light is on. No other lights and get code 25-1 for yaw rate sensor. Now the chap I got it off said he already changed it but still on. So guessing he's lied and not changed it or just had a bad part?

So what do we think change sensor and check connections to be sure or should I be looking else where also ?
First rule of fault finding;
Never trust the person who fixed a fault before you, even if it was you that fixed it.
Jon_G likes this.
MrLongbeard is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 28th September 2016, 19:25
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,906
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,163 Times in 3,859 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farqui View Post
@supa-nova , I may have a spare yaw sensor in my parts bin. I'll have a dig around and let you know.
Yes, I have a spare here.

Let me know if you still need one.
Farqui is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 24th January 2019, 17:48
Supporter
 
EddieMunster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th January 2019
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_G View Post
I think the yaw rate sensor is faulty. Maybe the new one was a cheap aftermarket one that doesn't work properly? Assuming that is was actually changed...
Hi

Where is the Yaw sensor located?

Regards
EddieMunster is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 24th January 2019, 18:14
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,906
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,163 Times in 3,859 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Under the center console
Farqui is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 24th January 2019, 19:58
Supporter
 
EddieMunster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th January 2019
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farqui View Post
Under the center console
I can't add pictures yet, but my reader reports that both longitudinal acceleration and Yaw rate aren't zero when stationary; there's a tolerance I would imagine, indeed my TT reports movement even when at a standstill, but I wonder if this is the cause of my VSA/ABS warning light?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Honda Civic Fault.jpg (31.2 KB, 13 views)
EddieMunster is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 24th January 2019, 21:37
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,784
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,266 Times in 1,043 Posts
iTrader: (1)
On the Accord there is a built-in neutralisation procedure that can be run to set a zero reading. I imagine this Civic would have similar?

Certainly this problem would register an error code (84-1 on the Accord) and bring on the warning light.
Jon_G is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 24th January 2019, 21:41
Supporter
 
EddieMunster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th January 2019
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
There's no error code produced, that's the issue; all of the modules report back without issue, and none have faults, so I've had to go to live data to see what the ECU is reporting. My TT has a similar system, a small error of movement is acceptable on the long/lat sensors but I'm not sure if that's the case with the Civic; I don't think so, so I'm going to have to replace the Yaw sensor as a starter for 10.
EddieMunster is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABS/VSA fault? Tricky-Ricky General Discussion (8G) 21 21st March 2014 09:27
Brakes VSA and ABS fault? zobo1982 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 5 14th August 2012 08:34
Brakes VSA and ABS fault wilber Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 3 18th October 2010 20:33
Electrics ABS and VSA.... fault??? gja_gun Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 0 21st September 2010 01:47
Transmission VSA/ABS Fault blackie944 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 17 14th January 2008 18:04

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome