Automation Instrument backlighting - autodimming wish - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 23rd January 2007, 13:59 Thread Starter
 
NickG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th January 2007
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Instrument backlighting - autodimming wish

Does anyone else find that they're permanently tweaking the brightness of the instrument panel in order to be able to see it clearly? The problem is, it dims with headlights, but the amount of dimming required varies enormously with ambient light. I have a black Civic so I tend to put my lovely HID lights on most of the time if it's slightly dark to increase the visibility of the car - but this means I need the panel lighting quite high to easily read the speedo. When it's totally dark, I like the lighting quite low to get rid of the irritating reflection on the windscreen (and they're pretty blinding on full brightness anyway). It seems they didn't make the cowl over the rev counter big enough and the rev counter projects itself on to the top of the windscreen at night.

In normal cars with needles - you don't need ANY lighting to read them in daylight, so this problem doesn't occur. But in the Civic, I find myself altering the panel brightness really often and I wish they'd put a sensor in the panel which would permit the autodimming of the panel depending on ambient light rather than simply whether the headlights are on or off.

Anyone else agree?

Nick...
NickG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 23rd January 2007, 15:03
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
Never felt the need to change them. I have it on full brightness no lights, and one off the full brightness with lights on.

Worst situation is daytime rain, where i'd have position lights.
basegreen is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 23rd January 2007, 19:30
King of the rodeo
 
czechplastik's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th October 2006
Location: Belfast IE
Posts: 4,824
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to czechplastik
I leave them full on day and night, don't find the reflection distracting.
czechplastik is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 23rd January 2007, 20:41
 
Join Date: 11th January 2007
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by basegreen View Post
Never felt the need to change them. I have it on full brightness no lights, and one off the full brightness with lights on.

Worst situation is daytime rain, where i'd have position lights.
yeh me to lol its not really a bother in all honesty sometimes i forget to pout them back to brightest in the day, prob cos its so overcast atm. its obviously the price we pay for the funkiest dash on the planet lol
MrEd is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 23rd January 2007, 21:47
 
BrianAlbertsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th November 2006
Location: Denmark DK
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickG View Post
. I have a black Civic so I tend to put my lovely HID lights on most of the time if it's slightly dark to increase the visibility of the car - but this means I need the panel lighting quite high to easily read the speedo. When it's totally dark, I like the lighting quite low to get rid of the irritating reflection on the windscreen
No problem here.
But I have a Scandinavian model with daytime running lights.
Even with Auto lights we have dipped beam on all the the time and when is dark enough and the light sensor "turns on the lights", the numberplate lights and the panel lighting dims
BrianAlbertsen is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 24th January 2007, 08:13
Galaxy class starship
 
Copycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th May 2006
Location: Vantaa, Finland FI
Posts: 1,053
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Copycat
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianAlbertsen View Post
No problem here.
But I have a Scandinavian model with daytime running lights.
Even with Auto lights we have dipped beam on all the the time and when is dark enough and the light sensor "turns on the lights", the numberplate lights and the panel lighting dims

I've tried using AUTO, and it doesn't seem to dim my dash lights even when it's dark outside. Maybe I should try it again when there's no light at all coming from anywhere.

Not a problem. I'm used to operating them manually.
Copycat is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 5th February 2007, 10:37
 
Join Date: 29th January 2007
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You should be able to alter the brightness of the dash with the little control on the left hand side of the rev counter???

What you do is this (reads handbook):

1) NO LIGHTS ON - Twiddle the knob till you get what you want....

The car "remembers" that setting

2) LIGHTS ON - Do the same thing... Will remember that setting too...

I tried this on my car, there is a difference now when I turn on my lights at night, everything dims to where I set it (for daytime use, I didn't really drop the level too much)

Maybe LHD cars are a bit different, I don't know???
Dr Dark is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Electronics (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer No auto brightness adjustment for instrument panel Pottsy Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 11 9th June 2007 18:42
Other my instrument panel looks like this! normal or not???? nstergi Electronics (8G) 9 6th August 2006 10:09

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome